We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family visit to Gordons Bay - Bill McClure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Family visit to Gordons Bay - Bill McClure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The service is very caring and friendly - all the ladies we dealt with were very
professional and helpful. The rooms were ideal and met our expectations. Breakfast was very well prepared and the selection delicious. Snow Flake - the kitten - was a delight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    81
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
136
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a lovely stay, very friendly and helpful people who is always there to assist and very organized. They really went the extra mile for us and we will definately go again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maré & Jean-pie... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely rooms, tastefully furnished with beautiful sea views. Little white kitten Snowflake was very welcoming! Delicious breakfast and excellent service although check out process was a little slow ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederkirchen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

A beautiful place with friendly people - perfect to relax (-:
It´s a very nice place to stay some days! Beautiful view, near the beach. Very quiet, 5 minutes to the Harbour.
Very friendly People - we´ll come back some day (-:
Stefan and Ben from germany

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a very relaxed stay at Manor on the bay. The staff are excellent, the rooms clean and the location good. The breakfast is simple but good quality.

While the place itself is very pleasant, there isn't much to do in the vicinity. There are a couple of quite average local restaurants within a 5 min walk but nothing else to do other than take in the view. Without a car to explore the surrounding areas (Stellenbosch isn't far) it's not ideal for more than a night or two.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Hotel is very nice, situated in a beautiful area. I enjoyed my stay there very much. The only thing was that the day after I left, one of the staff members called me to find out if I did not take te slippers that were in the room. Ironically I had my own, so I never even used theirs. I found that very insulting and I was disappointed after such a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I treated my mother, Paddy Myburgh (nee Stradling) to a 90th birthday holiday in the home she grew up in (now Manor on the Bay). She spent many hours on the veranda reminiscing about the past. She loved the comfortable beds with a sea view from her bed and it was difficult to get her out of her comfort zone. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the special treatment we received from the owners and staff and the mountain in the background. It is on the beach and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jean_myburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Property: Manor on the Bay
Address: 117 Beach Road | Western Cape, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing