We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought me back to life”
Review of Manor on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After a week-long and action-packed business trip encompassing both Johannesburg and Cape Town, I faced my final day in beautiful Cape Town in a dated city centre corporate hotel with 3000 extra people in the city for an event...I wanted to remember my first encounter with SA positively and...Manor on the Bay revitalised me - leaving me with South Africa's natural beauty as the final impression. My room was very clean and the Sea View rooms are great.

Perhaps Manor-on-the-Bay could consider providing a food hamper or general groceries...I used taxis and planes during my business trip and had no need to hire a car...I arrived at 6ish during the evening and organising meals wasn't so straight forward...a vey tiny stumbling block.

A home-away-from-home close to Cape Town

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aqua700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad the Manor served you well. Thank you for the dinner recommendation. We will consider this as I think it could add value for business delegates and late arrivals. Hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Manor on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay at Manor on the Bay was in one word: awesome! The rooms are spacious and clean, the service is excellent and the view of the Gordons Bay harbor and False Bay from the front lawn is extraordinary. If given the opportunity we will definitely visit MOTB again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review! We look forward to having you back at the Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very disappointed. The whole place is looking run down. It needs a good paint, the garden is neglected and the pool was dirty. Our room had damp on the ceiling, the lamp was broken, the showers drain was blocked and the TV didn't have the channels promised. It is over priced for what we got.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Chris
Thank you for your review. Not always easy to read the odd negative review, but appreciated never the less. We welcome constructive feedback as this keeps us on our toes and able to improve our facility. Sadly most of what you've mentioned does need attention. You did however stay the day / week that we had a lot of problems with irrigation ( garden looking lovely again - borehole water), satellite connection was faulty ( had to replace decodes) wind ( very difficult to keep the pool clean with wind every night). We have also bought pool paint and the swimming pool with get a lovely facelift as soon as we can empty it - after summer. The lamp in that room was replaced the day you checked out.
The paint contractors will be on site from this coming Monday. The wooden doors and shutters are the main priority. This old 1962 house does have a lot of charm but also needs a lot of TLC.
I really hope that we'll have the opportunity to proof to you what all the other rave reviews are about. Kindly contact me directly for your next booking. Kind Regards Hanel van Reenen ( owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked into this wonderful little hotel having had a disastrous experience at our prior booked accommodation. The staff were completely wonderful, they put us at our ease and found us a fabulous spacious and spotless room. The location of this hotel is peerless with wonderful views out over the bay from the main dining room and conservatory and many of the bedrooms.

Our trip to Gordon's Bay ended as a triumph largely thanks to the peaceful setting and demeanour of this establishment and it's kind and professional staff. The food was great and they took pains to provide us with a generous breakfast in our room when we had to make a very early start one day.
We would certainly return to The Manor On The Bay.

Room Tip: We had the family room which was very spacious and beautifully furnished with both indoor and outdoo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Mrs Freeman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at Manor on the bay. We would love to see you again!
Warm Regards
Annelie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

It's difficult for me to review this hotel, as I wasn't able to stay there. My wife and I made a booking via Booking.com, but were told on arrival that we didn't have a booking, and that they were full.

We had received confirmation of the booking, but the staff were uninterested. I appreciate that these things happen some times, but it's how you handle these situations that makes you stand out. It could have been really simple:

"We're really sorry we can't accommodate you, but please feel free to use the wifi in our lounge while you find somewhere else, and here, have a drink."

I would have gone back another time then, as looks to be a fantastic hotel in a beautiful spot.

Needless to say, we won't be trying to book again.

If you do want to stay there, I suggest you book directly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Administration is done well. Rooms are sufficiently equipped. Staff is friendly. I can reccommend the venue.
Liked the safe parking inside the premisses.
The conferencing facilities are very good and can be recommended for smaller groups. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you so much for rating us. We look forward to accommodate you at Manor on the Bay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We decided to have the Manor on the Bay as our 'home' for six weeks. when we once again travelled from Sweden to South Africa. Manor on the Bay is perfectly situated both locally (close to the beach and restaurants in Gordon's Bay) and in the Cape Town and Wine Routes areas(short drives bring you to city malls, wine estates, or Arts and Crafts marketplaces along N2 or Road 44). The friendly and welcoming atmoshere at the Manor was topped up with the professionalism of the receptionists Noleen, Annelie, and Hannlie and the friendly cleaners who always kept our spacious room in a perfect style. The stoep (veranda) for sundowners and with daily newspapers was really appreciated.
Thank you all for a lovely stay
at the Manor on the Bay.
We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalle_villanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review! We miss you 2. Really hope that we'll see you again. Room 9 will always remind us of your lovely stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof Guest House
18 On Kloof Guest House
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Address: 117 Beach Road | Western Cape, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing