We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
Review of Manor on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Recommended”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Landed late at Cape Town International after some flight problems and having no prior booking. Drove straight to Gordon's bay to search for accommodation. One phone call later and we were helped at a very late hour. Stayed over just one night but everything was perfect, including friendly reception at late hour. Good service, breakfast, secure parking, views, location. Will easily be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elardus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Elardus, thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you back at the Manor soon ! Hanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    83
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
136
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our family room was very large, spacious and comfortable. It had a little kitchenette and small 2-person's dining table which made it seem like a studio flat. There is limited outdoor space for kids to play in though. Location was excellent, so close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tehzeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Tehzeen, thank you for the lovely review and feedback. It is always good to hear what our guests need to make their stay event more memorable. We look forward to welcome you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night winter getaway.
We had a friendly reception and staff was very accomodating.
Stayed in a upstairs room with a beautifull see view and the air-conditioning made us forget about the winter weather.
We loved the bath and shower, nice to have n choice and both were roomy.
Last but not least was the wonderfull breakfast, our complements to the kitchen.

Thanks for a wonderfull stay, we will be back again.

Clive & Ruby Beukes

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Clive and Ruby, thank you for the lovely review and taking the time to pots on Tripadvisor. We look forward to having you back at the Manor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently spent a night at Manor on the Bay in Gordon's Bay. It was a dark and stormy night and we were welcomed with a warm fire and the offer of a warming hot drink or Sherry. The room was very comfortable and there were lots of extra blankets and pillows if we needed them. Breakfast in the morning was very good with a large selection of fruits and cereals and a hot breakfast as well as croissants, cheeses and jams. The only thing missing was a bit of fried tomato, but other than that breakfast was really good! The hospitality of the staff was warm and friendly, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank capesplendour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the positive review. Was lovely to meet the 2 of you and thank you for making the effort to visit us. Will have the tomato ready when you're back ! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Park, Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's always great when you get more hospitality than you expect! Manor on the Bay’s room were tastefully decorated, the service cheerful & intelligent, and the breakfasts scrumptious. Hannelie thanks for going that extra mile and make us feel at home
To sit in the lounge with the fire burning in the corner was special. Sundowners overlooking Gordons Bay were fantastic and we will definitely return
we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sybrandt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review and compliment. We look forward to having you back a Manor on the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I enjoyed the service especially spacious rooms and their cleanliness. Internet was pretty fast and breakfast was super cool. Only Tv channels were limited. You can reach me at martinbusingye@yahoo.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Martin, thank you or the lovely review. We look forward to having you back at Manor - with the TV problem sorted. It has been a problem for some time now, but we're working at sorting the gremlin in the system out. It was such a pleasure to have you with us - enjoyed your positive friendly energy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice spot in Gordons Bay. Booked two See view rooms for Family with two teens, on arrival we were shown to a Single family suite which will probably be good for Parents with small kids but not suitable when traveling with older Teens. Wi Fi poor and TV poor to non functional. Room need some TLC i.e. broken toilet seat, few plugs not working, marks on the walls, kitchenette has no shelving for cutlery and crockery. Staff need training as Professionalism is falling short i.e. incorrect Name reservation and incorrect billing, even though we confirmed booking and cost up front there were bills issued way over amounts quoted which was quite embarrassing. Won't use this Facility again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lappies221266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for pointing out the areas that need attention in the family room. I can assure you that I take the feedback very seriously and have started to sort out the family rooms short comings. The TV and Wi-Fi was sorted today. I'm sorry about your room allocation and check-out ( billing) hassles. We pride ourselves in hands-on administration but clearly dropped the ball here. I'd like to offer your family 2 rooms for 1 night - complimentary, should you ever decide to visit our area again. I hope we can show you proper Manor hospitality next time and add you to our list of loyal regular visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof Guest House
18 On Kloof Guest House
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Property: Manor on the Bay
Address: 117 Beach Road | Western Cape, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing