We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place off the main tourist route. Only minutes from a well looked after beach, wonderful views.
Great and authentic restaurants in walking distance. Lovely hosts and great staff. Would always come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you so much for your compliments. I am especially thrilled that you enjoyed our local village, Gordon's Bay. Your description that it is 'authentic' is so valid. Especially international visitors will get a true perspective of life in South Africa - not just the tourist version of the famous spots. The atmosphere is casual and friendly with diverse options of restaurants. Bikini Beach is kept spotlessly clean. In fact I a proud of how the Cape town Council looks after our area - the services are clean and efficient - well done to them! I do so hope you can visit again and we can suggest more adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Best Place I've stayed for our honeymoon. Dont know what you missing
out on , if you havent been there.....
I want to come back soon..
The over looking of the sea was so amazing and early morning with the dolphins and a good cup of coffee on the balcony,, I can do it all over again and soo relaxing.....
Thank you 185 Beach Road Gordons Bay\
Thanks Jeanette

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrewbrentk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Wow! It is SO great when guests are so happy - especially for special occasions. I am so glad we were able to share some of the pleasures of 'Gorgeous Bay'. Come back in cosy winter - our 'secret season' when the sun shines deep into the windows and makes you SO lazy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Awesome night spent at the Beachside cottage, 185 Beach road. Very well serviced cottage, extremely neat and clean. Woke up to breath taking views and the sound of the waves hitting against the rocks.........fabulous! Had coffee on the rooftop, the view was amazing, there was no better way to start my morning. My 8 year old son was completely entertained for the duration of our stay as the cottage is fully equipped with WIFI. The couch in the living area opens up into a full double bed which could comfortably accomodate 2 kids. The staff were extremely friendly. The host herself amazed me with her warm welcome, friendly approach and willingness to do just about anything to accomodate her guests requests......outstanding customer service. Thank you Jeanette for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisha209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

When families visit and have a really good time we feel we have added a special memory to your scrapbook of holidays. May the closeness you experienced her and the fun follow you through the year. I do so hope to see you back again soon. Remember Gordon's Bay's Winter
Wonderland Festival of Lights 27 June - 20 July - Great fun for families!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Fabulous location with great views and lovely rooftop bathing deck with 2 sunbeds, + table and seating for 4. Only issue was a very squeaky main bed frame (which is being changed soon). Lovely hosts who can't do enough for their guests. Adequately furnished with Air-con in main room and shower works very well. All in all a lovely 2 week stay. No hesitation in recommending the Beachside Cottage. We live in a home with very large rooms and we were very concerned at the prospect of spending 2 weeks in 2 rooms above a garage. No need to worry, the panoramic views and patio doors on both rooms gave the whole cottage a very light and airy feel. Waking up to seals frolicking in the bay just out from the cottage was an extra treat. Hope to return one day..... soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

It really was such a pleasure to host you! When guests are so friendly and are obviously having such a good time it ads to our pleasure. We hope to see you back again .... and remember our winters are wonderfully temperate too - much warmer that Cape Town! ....And yes, there is plenty of opportunity to play golf then too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It was a very cosy place to stay at and the staff was super friendly! Very neat and clean accommodation, close to a very nice beach and to restaurants. Tallas Tavern is nearby and has the best food and service ever!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidipottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

It was so lovely to host your lovely family! We hope to see you again soon! Remember Gordon's Bay's Winter Wonderland Festival of Lights in June/July - enchanting for the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

185 beach View was a lovely end to our holiday and Jeanette our host was fantastic and nothing too much trouble. The accomodation was lovely with great views over the sea and for sunsets. Good internet connection and easy to get Round to local attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliment of wanting to stay the extra day. Hurry back to South Africa - we have many more adventures to share!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This place is at a fantastic location & serviced daily. We had a lovely stay. I think the only improvements could be decluttering the small lounge/kitchen area a little & putting aircon in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynngre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette L, Owner at 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your helpful advice: The welcome refreshments and snack presentation will be placed in a cupboard after guests' arrival and the powerful central air-conditioning will be directed into to the bedrooms too. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
1 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#12 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
18 On Kloof Guest House
18 On Kloof Guest House
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments

Address: 185 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £72 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at the edge of the sea with spectacular sea views, a few steps from Bikini Beach, central in the Cape area, we offer luxurious fully self-catering apartments or suites with kitchenettes. Breakfasts are optional ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your 185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing