We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10th year and still a joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon's Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“10th year and still a joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I do not wish to sound bias but this is truly a delightful place to stay which continues to maintain a high standard of service, cleanliness with an extremely friendly atmosphere. I thoroughly recommend a visit and gives an ideal base for trips to the local wineries and golf courses. I have no doubt that I will return again next year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you so much Bob, your review and kind words mean so much to us. As you know you are our very special guest, so if we know that you are happy then that is all that matters. It was only a pleasure and an honour to have you back here and really look forward to your next visit. With all our warmest regards, Andy, Louise, Wammy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
98
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night here at this very friendly and comfortable guest house. We wished that we had stayed longer! The room was very well appointed and very comfortable. A lot of extras had been put into the room to make your stay that much more enjoyable. Louise - the owner was very friendly and helpful, made one feel part of the family. She and her staff served up an excellent breakfast in the morning, we will return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Good Morning!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We here at Gordon's Beach Lodge are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Next time definitely come for longer! We'd only be too happy to have you with us. Such a pleasure meeting you and we will see you very soon hopefully!

Best
Everyone here at GBL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We did a road trip from Ballito to the West Coast and back, stopping to visit friends and family, so hadn't made any reservations anywhere. We came across GBL by default and had the time of our lives. In fact, this stay over MADE our trip! The staff are amazing, the rooms very stylishly decorated and the sundowners (love the honesty bar) and breakfasts will be remembered forever. It is ideally located with the beach across the road and within close walking distance to the restaurants, but still out of the way from the hustle and bustle. We were only supposed to stopover and ended up staying 3 nights. So awesome! We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved our room and had the option to move, but turned it down. It doesn't matter which room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonCoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate the positive feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your sat with us. Look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an amazing time! The food was out of this world and the rooms lovely!! The guest house has a great atmosphere!! The staff were very helpful!
We had a great time and will definately go again. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brendon & Jeann... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Brendon & Jeanne, thanks so much for the fabulous review! We really appreciate it a lot as it helps us greatly. We so enjoyed having you and your family stay here. Dylan & Olivia are fantastic, too cute! We look forward to seeing you again and hope your Dec plans work out for this coming year. Warm regards from Andy and all at GBL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

To book a place to stay on a few photos,websites always is a risk. But what a suprise!!!. The best service,people and facilities. What a great place to stay.
We enjoyed one of our best holidays ever. Close to the beach.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank prinsloomunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, General Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Prinsloo, happy 2014! May it be a wonderful year for you both and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you so very much for the great review, it really helps us a lot, and it was such a pleasure having you here. Warmest regards from Andy, Wammy & Louise :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family of 6 stayed at the family-owned GBL for 5 days in December 2013 and we all had a great time. The staff is always helpful & friendly. The best part of the stay is the breakfast, absolutely top class. The rooms kept very tidy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tlaleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Tlaleng, thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate it because it helps us a lot. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you and your wonderful family again soon! Many blessings for the Festive Season ahead. Warmest regards, Andy and all at GBL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Although we experienced the Cape of Storms and water and lightning was everywhere, the team looked very well after us. The breakfast and reception was excellent and booking out a pleasure. The ownre customer relationship is something to cherish

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordon's Bay
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Beach Lodge

Property: Gordon's Beach Lodge
Address: 133 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordon's Beach Lodge is a family run guesthouse that has 6 en-suite rooms with either king or twin beds to your preference. We are situated in the beautiful and picturesque seaside village of Gordon's Bay, tucked into the corner of False Bay in the Helderberg area. With sea and mountain views in abundance, it is the perfect setting for your holiday in South Africa. The guesthouse is a stone throw from safe swimming beaches and stunning restaurants. Gordon's Beach Lodge is known for our friendly and personal service, and our great cocktails and breakfasts! Come spend some time here and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gordon's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon's Beach Lodge South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing