We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in the Family Room for two nights Tuesday 8th and Wednesday 9th April 2014, the people were brilliant and could not do enough for us , the breakfast was the perfect start to the day , and less than 100 meter walk to the beach what more could you ask for. If we are in that neck of the woods again we will be staying with them again , Thank you Andy and her staff.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the Family Room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, General Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! I can't tell you how much we appreciate it when guests take the time to review us, especially such a fantastic review thank you. We really hope to see you again and wish you a wonderful year ahead. Warmest regards from all at GBL (and it's a lovely sunny day so we are happy) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Gordon's Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Gordon's beach lodge for one night. Very nice room with king size bed, very clean. Excellent breakfast served in the dining room. Our room did not have a view on the ocean and the swimming pool is more like a jacuzzy. Nice to spend one or a few nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review! We really appreciate it so much as it helps us to keep our standard high and allows for potential guests to see what is on offer. It means so much to us when guests take the time and trouble to rate us on Tripadvisor. So thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon! Have a wonderful day! Kindest regards, the team at GBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed lovely weather at this small spot off the beaten track recently.

The welcome is warm, helpful and friendly. The spacious and well appointed room surround a small grassed area with small poll for a cool off. There is a pleasant bright open outlook where you can relax with a drink from the bar. The rooms have the best stocked mini bars I have ever seen. The location is nice and quiet and there are a few bars and eateries just a strole away.
The breakfast is continental or a cooked breakfast to order which was fine.

Good value for money and highly recommended to couples wanting a pleasant break.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DXBTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, General Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Good morning from all of us here at GBL :)

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay with us! It's always so lovely to open up emails like this and we really do appreciate the time and effort it takes for a review. Please do come back anytime! We will be here, mini bars stocked, anytime you need a place to stay in the western Cape :) Have a lovely week!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice place near the beach. Perfect service and very nice staff. Rooms are clean and very well equiped. We liked the breakfast. Nice bar at the pool. We really liked this place and would like to return. A perfect relaxing place from where you can visit Stellenbosch, Cape Town very easy.



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oloph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Owner at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! It really means so much to us when guests take the time and trouble to write a review. We really appreciate it! It was wonderful having you stay with us and we look forward to a visit again in the future! Warm regards from all at GBL!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I do not wish to sound bias but this is truly a delightful place to stay which continues to maintain a high standard of service, cleanliness with an extremely friendly atmosphere. I thoroughly recommend a visit and gives an ideal base for trips to the local wineries and golf courses. I have no doubt that I will return again next year.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you so much Bob, your review and kind words mean so much to us. As you know you are our very special guest, so if we know that you are happy then that is all that matters. It was only a pleasure and an honour to have you back here and really look forward to your next visit. With all our warmest regards, Andy, Louise, Wammy and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I spent one night here at this very friendly and comfortable guest house. We wished that we had stayed longer! The room was very well appointed and very comfortable. A lot of extras had been put into the room to make your stay that much more enjoyable. Louise - the owner was very friendly and helpful, made one feel part of the family. She and her staff served up an excellent breakfast in the morning, we will return!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good Morning!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We here at Gordon's Beach Lodge are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Next time definitely come for longer! We'd only be too happy to have you with us. Such a pleasure meeting you and we will see you very soon hopefully!

Best
Everyone here at GBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We did a road trip from Ballito to the West Coast and back, stopping to visit friends and family, so hadn't made any reservations anywhere. We came across GBL by default and had the time of our lives. In fact, this stay over MADE our trip! The staff are amazing, the rooms very stylishly decorated and the sundowners (love the honesty bar) and breakfasts will be remembered forever. It is ideally located with the beach across the road and within close walking distance to the restaurants, but still out of the way from the hustle and bustle. We were only supposed to stopover and ended up staying 3 nights. So awesome! We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved our room and had the option to move, but turned it down. It doesn't matter which room...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonCoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Manager at Gordon's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate the positive feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your sat with us. Look forward to having you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordon's Bay
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
88 reviews
7.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Beach Lodge

Address: 133 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordon's Beach Lodge is a family run guesthouse that has 6 en-suite rooms with either king or twin beds to your preference. We are situated in the beautiful and picturesque seaside village of Gordon's Bay, tucked into the corner of False Bay in the Helderberg area. With sea and mountain views in abundance, it is the perfect setting for your holiday in South Africa. The guesthouse is a stone throw from safe swimming beaches and stunning restaurants. Gordon's Beach Lodge is known for our friendly and personal service, and our great cocktails and breakfasts! Come spend some time here and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gordon's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon's Beach Lodge South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing