We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, great food”
Review of Avola Antica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avola Antica
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Avola
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great food”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Avola Antica is a lovely relaxing place with a stunning location on the top of the cliffs near the Cava Grande. The panoramic view of the south east corner of Sicily is breathtaking - the views from the dining area and large pool are wonderful.

The food is great quality; the portions are huge!

Overall a lovely relaxing place - we wish we had been able to stay longer.

The only slight drawbacks of this property are:
1. the rooms are small (this didn't bother us - with such beautiful views, why would you spend too much time in the room?)
2. the staff only speak Italian - worth bearing in mind if you intend to rely on them for any advice. They won't be able to help you unless you can communicate in Italian.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ1234029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
70
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It was a further 20 minutes up hill from where our TomTom said it was - but oh so worth it. Gaetano and Piera were welcoming from the off. The views are wondrous. The gekkos sprint across the stone walls looking for breakfast. And the food is simply...amazing...and still good value. The four course evening meals are simply fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramachree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

There is no doubt this is Paradise. The first thing we'd
recommend to visitors: do not miss eating there, the chef is a genius!
Everything was just perfect: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the
garden is beautiful and we were impressed by the panorama from the
pool.
Owing to the house situation (it stands on the top of a hill) the climate is
very pleasant even in middle of August. In the hottest sicilian
summer, it was a recreation to spend here a few days.
Not to mention that, you get these high quality services at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyewitnesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Don't look further. . One of the best agriturismo set up in Sicily for sure. . It's relaxing with stunning views all round . . The food is excellent and Piera's exceptional hospitality makes Avola Antica unique. . We will surely return for a fifth time...and soon. . See you soon. .Christine & John

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The drive up to this B&B is spectacular with many hair-pin bends and extremely steep - excellent guard rails all the way however, so don't be put off. The property is right on the edge of the hills overlooking Avola and the sea and is at appx 500 metres high. Stupendous views from both the hotel and the lovely pool. The rooms are very small, built round a courtyard and we wish that we could have upgraded to other rooms, but they were full at the time. Our rooms were more suited to back-packers than those with suitcases. Rocky gardens were full of different herbs as was pool area. Excellent chef provided dinner and the breakfasts were very good. We visited Avola which is a pretty town, worth the drive down and back. Also visited a gorge which was as spectacular as the Copper Canyon in Mexico. 1/2 hour walk down but 2 hour walk back so gave it a miss..
If you cannot stay here, take a trip up to the B&B and you won't regret it. No WiFi here!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not in courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Dear Piera, Santo & EVERYONE at Avola Antica,

As you all know on the 7th July 2012 we had our wedding reception at the “stupendous” Avola Antica. Words cannot fully convey how grateful we are that you agreed to have your first wedding party this year and that we were the fortunate couple!

We had visited over 20 venues in south-east Sicily but none of them were even close to what we…my fiancé, now wife, had in mind. We were heartbroken. All we wanted was a place where we could feel at home, where it would be ‘just us’, where our 100 or so guests could dine outside, where we could eat VERY well, where we could dance a little after dinner. Magari, we hoped and wished for a place that also had that certain something special, maybe a fantastic view.

And finally we found you guys. We got everything, and more!, that we were after! Including that certain something special… a view of the whole of the south-east of Sicily!!!

From one fresh day last December, when we first saw Avola Antica, until last Sunday when we had a 2-month anniversary lunch we have always felt incredibly incredibly welcome. We have eaten extremely extremely well everytime we have eaten there. And that is to say little of the actual big day itself…

It was an incredible party, so many details were looked after, the atmosphere was fantastic and the food was even more INCREDIBLE than normal. The British/Irish guests ate too much before the Primi even came and even the Italian guests were without words at the quality and presentation of each plate. And then came the cake and then came the dancing… all on top of your little mountain, just us and our friends and family, a truly magical evening.

Visiting all those dull soul-less pompous, ‘impostate’, wedding venues before Avola Antica was time well spent because it meant we found you guys, thank you once again.

It’s a rare party that truly ‘wows’ all nationalities and all ages and all the different requirements of guests, but you guys did the mission impossible.

Thank you again and Arriverdirci!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam-Silvia-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We spent 2 lovely nights in this welcoming agriturismo situated on top of a hill, surrounded by stunning views of the sea and amazing landscape. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms maybe a bit small but well kept and the pool probably the best attraction. The smells coming from the olive trees and the rosemary plants make you forget the noise and caos of the city.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beggi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avola
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Pacla
Grand Hotel Pacla
#1 of 3 in Avola
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria sul Mare
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Val Di Noto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo A' Lumia
Agriturismo A' Lumia
#10 of 61 in Noto
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Chiusa di Carlo
0.0 mi away
U'Iazzu
U'Iazzu
#25 of 46 in Avola
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avola Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avola Antica

Property: Avola Antica
Address: Contrada Avola Antica SNC, 96012 Avola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Avola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Avola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avola Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avola Antica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing