We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural, warm and like home”
Review of Avola Antica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avola Antica
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Avola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is agriturismo at its finest. Located 15 minutes from the town of Avola, up a winding road but marked so one not need to feel lost (or put in the longitude and latitude on you GPS and be delivered to the door!), the views are lovely. The winds blow gently at night to keep it cooler than down at the water. The chef is very talented, creating lovely local dishes each evening. We had all our 4 dinners there and did not tire of the menu that was set by the hotel. A special note for the truly warm and welcoming owner and staff. She went out of her way to provide dinners for our 9 year-old son who is a bit of a finicky eater. She didn’t hesitate to make him happy. The swimming pool is well situated, large and oh so welcoming after a day of touring. It has been mentioned, and is true, that the rooms are small. This was especially so for us with our son in a separate bed in our room. But that is not a big deal. What would have been nice is a window, in addition to the door that is half wood and half glass. This would provide a little more natural light. But this is a minor inconvenience in comparison to the overall experience. We visited Siracusa, Ortygia, Noto, and Ragusa, and the hotel was well situated for touring to each site. All in all, a truly lovely experience and I highly recommend the hotel, small rooms not withstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The venue is fantastic for relaxation. The proud owner of Avola Antica Piera is very welcoming and soon made us feel at home. Piera immediately attended to all our needs and is also child friendly. The food is delicious and the place is extremely clean. Definitely not to be missed.

Room Tip: You need to book beforehand in order to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the final week of a long Sicily trip. We had invested quite some time to find an exceptional place - and as we arrived we knew we had made the right decision. This old agricultural structure has an increible location overlooking the sea, Avola and Noto, which also provides for some fresh wind during the hot Sicilian summer. Rooms are reasonably sized and tastefully furnished and decorated.
Apart from breakfast (included in the room price), a gourmet set menu is offered every night. Thankfully, the chef de cuisine was flexible to find vegetarian options for me.
This is a small, mostly family-run place with a limited number of rooms, so service is especially personal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjf_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Avola Antica is a lovely relaxing place with a stunning location on the top of the cliffs near the Cava Grande. The panoramic view of the south east corner of Sicily is breathtaking - the views from the dining area and large pool are wonderful.

The food is great quality; the portions are huge!

Overall a lovely relaxing place - we wish we had been able to stay longer.

The only slight drawbacks of this property are:
1. the rooms are small (this didn't bother us - with such beautiful views, why would you spend too much time in the room?)
2. the staff only speak Italian - worth bearing in mind if you intend to rely on them for any advice. They won't be able to help you unless you can communicate in Italian.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ1234029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It was a further 20 minutes up hill from where our TomTom said it was - but oh so worth it. Gaetano and Piera were welcoming from the off. The views are wondrous. The gekkos sprint across the stone walls looking for breakfast. And the food is simply...amazing...and still good value. The four course evening meals are simply fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gramachree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

There is no doubt this is Paradise. The first thing we'd
recommend to visitors: do not miss eating there, the chef is a genius!
Everything was just perfect: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the
garden is beautiful and we were impressed by the panorama from the
pool.
Owing to the house situation (it stands on the top of a hill) the climate is
very pleasant even in middle of August. In the hottest sicilian
summer, it was a recreation to spend here a few days.
Not to mention that, you get these high quality services at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyewitness12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Don't look further. . One of the best agriturismo set up in Sicily for sure. . It's relaxing with stunning views all round . . The food is excellent and Piera's exceptional hospitality makes Avola Antica unique. . We will surely return for a fifth time...and soon. . See you soon. .Christine & John

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avola hotels
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Val Di Noto
3.2 mi away
La Petrara Resort
La Petrara Resort
#2 of 3 in Avola
196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Pacla
Grand Hotel Pacla
#1 of 3 in Avola
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
B&B Stella del Sud
B&B Stella del Sud
#16 of 50 in Avola
49 reviews
3.8 mi away
B&B La Terrazza sul mare
3.5 mi away
B&B U'Canzu Rooms
B&B U'Canzu Rooms
#19 of 50 in Avola
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avola Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avola Antica

Address: Contrada Avola Antica SNC, 96012 Avola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Avola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Avola
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avola Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avola Antica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing