We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More 'hits' than 'misses'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed 1 night on a spa break package. We had our wedding reception here in 2012 and it was great to see my request for room 129 (deluxe) kindly honoured as we had this room the night of the wedding. The spa was very soothing and the treatments were terrific (so much so I dozed off). I do however share the same view as most that the robes are in desperate need of being changed (hard & tatty). We did enjoy a light lunch in the spa bistro but did have to remind the waitress we ordered drinks, then again that we also ordered a slice or victoria sponge cake (which was awesome). After a day in the spa we finally checked in. The room, as lovely as it was, had deteriorated somewhat. For instance, the shower drain was so blocked the water flowed over the barrier to spill on the bathroom floor. Furthermore the curtains were only just hanging on and the room was without robes & slippers (although reception swiftly replenished them). Dinner was trememendous, we had 2 courses but for a small supplemet (£5) you can make it 3. Each dish was was cooked very well and presented beautifully, we could not fault it. Jess, our waitress was delightful, charming and very attentive. After a great day we retired early, the bed is huge and remarkably comfy. Breakfast the following morning was also wonderful (buffet style) with everything you could want. We both agreed we will certainly be back. Tip - if you go for a deluxe room the contents of which are all complimentary. 1 full bottle of wine, 2 miniture baileys and a small box of chocolates

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Simon G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we do value all feedback from our guests and find it invaluable when identifying areas that improvements can be made.

The robes at the spa have actually been changed today - hurray! They were due to arrive at the beginning of June however the supplier had an issue and they were delayed. Previously they were provided and laundered by an external company and we had been trying to get them changed for quite some time. I'm glad you enjoyed your bistro lunch in particular the Victoria Sponge,

I have passed on your comments to our maintenance team regarding the issues within your bedroom, they have confirmed that the curtains have been rehung and also the drain thoroughly cleaned. Also the missing robes and slippers should not have happened they feature as standard in our deluxe rooms along with the wine, chocs and miniature bailey's you mentioned. These issues should have been picked up by our housekeeping team during their checks so please accept my sincere apologies that it hadn't been.

I'm glad to hear that you both really enjoyed the food during your stay and will pass on you compliments to our kitchen brigade and Jess.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort again in future, we have some great special offers available so I hope one of those would be of interest to you.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,901)
There are newer reviews for Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stopped off here before heading off to the British open. I was impressed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The hotel was superb as we're the executive room overlooking the 18th green. We had booked our meal at 8pm on the Sunday at exactly kick off time for the World Cup final and were the only guests in the restuarant. No problem sir, would you like to be served in the bar where there is numerous wide screen tv. Fantastic food and service with a smile. We played 18 holes on the wonderful golf course in the grounds. Only negative was the greens, they were way faster than my home course and cost me a few 3 putts lol. Fantastic value for money and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room with a balcony overlooking the golf course. Lovely and sunny in the m...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alistairanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your fantastic review, the hotel is ideally located for the Open so I'm very glad we were able to make you golfing trip more enjoyable and I hope you enjoyed the competition.

Our bar staff are great and I'm please to hear they helped you dine in our 19th hole area so you could enjoy the world cup match.

Our course is a challenge=which is why we get so many guest returning again and again however yes there is a fair bit of water so many guest do tend to lose some balls.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Recently visited here for an overnight stay with a group of friends and was quite impressed with the whole package. Location was superb ! I didn't play golf but my friends assured me that this was a truly pleasant course to play on and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel room and facilities were of high standard and good quality furnishings, everything you required was there. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and again I was surprised by the standard of the food and menu choice - a delicious meal, well presented with pleasant service. Breakfast buffet was equally as good - plenty choice of hot and cold dishes. We were fortunate enough to enjoy the spell of hot sunshine so sat amongst our waddling friends, babies eagerly awaiting titbits - outside on the terrace overlooking the course - a really beautiful spot to relax and while the time away ! Snack foods served at this area were also good value for money and ample portions. A good venue for a group reunion ( namely past captains anniversary ! ) and would certainly recommend the place for whatever occasion and will return. Thank you for a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review, I’m so pleased to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable and you found our hotel so welcoming.

I have forwarded on a copy of your review to the HOD's so they can share your kind comments with their teams,

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort very soon

Kind Regards

Formby Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked a spa deal for 10 of us to celebrate my Sisters hen party.

We had an amazing day - the staff in both the Spa and Bistro were fantastic, very professional and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile offering to dress our lunch table with goodies for the bride and placing balloons.

We had a choice of treatment's and the spa staff had booked each of us in with another member of the party which worked perfectly.

Overall, a wonderful day to make a special occasion.

we would highly recommend the golf/spa resort for any stay.

Amazing value for such a special experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jane C,

Thank you for reviewing your Hen party at the Resort, I'm very glad that your party had such an enjoyable time and our staff helped to make the day memorable. I will forward on a copy of your review to them so they are aware you appreciated their efforts during your time here.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Resort again in future.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Check-in/out was easy; the room and bathroom facilities were excellent - spacious , comfortable and clean - the bath was the deepest I've ever seen . The food and service were both very good. The room was set up incorrectly for the meeting but staff acted quickly to rectify this and both the mid-morning break which consisted of scones, cream and jam or a selection of pastries and the packed lunches that were given to those who had to travel a long distance were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear KarenM,

Thank you for providing some feedback regarding your recent experience at the resort, we welcome all feedback and it's nice to hear from someone who visited the Resort for work purposes.

I'm glad you found the hotel, food and bedroom facilities to be of a high standard but I'm disappointed that the meeting rooms was set up incorrectly. We have a dedicated team on site to ensure the set up are as requested and also have weekly meetings which run thru all events so a simple error such as this should not have occurred however I'm glad our team were able to rectify quickly.

I do hope you would consider using the Resort for future events or visiting for leisure purposes in future.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our golf society (22 players) visited Formby Hall on a Sunday/Monday deal. The golf course is excellent, especially considering the traffic that plays on it. It's a real challenge, plenty of variety, fast but true greens, water, bunkers, you name it. In addition there is a nice pro shop, driving range and practice area. The hotel is top class, nice rooms, good food, great bar and patio area. Above all, for £100 including B&BEM and discount off drinks plus two rounds of golf the value for money is unbeatable. Far better than Forest of Arden and Forest Pines. It evens runs Celtic Manor very close. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fishnbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear fishnbev,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review, it is always great to hear feedback from our golf societies and what greater compliment than the 'best golf weekend of the year'.

I have forwarded on a copy of your review to the departmental managers at the Resort so they can share your fantastic comments with their teams. Our green keepers do a brilliant job ensuring the course is always at it best throughout the year.

We have some great summer offers planned and also do great incentives for large groups to come back again so I hope one of those would be of interest to you.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a very nice room with french doors overlooking the 18th green.
Staff friendly and helpful even when there was a rush on to check in.
Golf course was in lovely condition, even the bunkers of which there are many were well kept.
Dinner was good and breakfast was the usual hotel fare.
We enjoyed our stay and just may go again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course, the ground floor rooms have table & chairs outside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRManagementAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear smartgolfers,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Resort, I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would visit us again in the future. We have some great offers planned for the summer and winter months so I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,033 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
709 reviews
4.9 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
10.9 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Formby Hall Farm Southport Old Road, Formby L37 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Price Range: £92 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 200 acres of parkland, at the heart of England’s Golf Coast, Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa offers the definitive 4* golf resort, luxury spa and hotel experience. We have 7 luxury treatment rooms, including 1 triple & 2 doubles, available for massages and treatments such as wraps and facials, manicures and pedicures by Leighton Denny all carried out by our highly trained therapists. The challenging 72-par Old Course boasts an excellent pedigree and is an established venue on the European Challenge Tour, while the 9-hole par three course has been described as the best in the UK. For corporate golf days, visitor golf open days, weekend golf breaks, golf society days, or even a golf lesson at the UK’s first PGA National Residential Golf Academy, Formby Hall is the ideal place to improve your game. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, welcome to pure golf heaven. We have a choice of four purpose built air-conditioned rooms to suit any size meeting or conference. All meeting & conference rooms at Formby Hall can be tailor made to suit your exact requirements by our experienced events team. We can also offer support for any secretarial, travel or equipment services you may require.Stunning location, friendly atmosphere - Formby Hall is the ultimate party venue, whatever the occasion. With a choice of chic function suites we can accommodate virtually any size of event. The dance floor and bar provide plenty of room for guests to mingle, while those wanting a quiet moment can step out onto the balcony and enjoy the panoramic views over the golf course and parkland. But it's about much more than just the setting, it's about the service too. Our dedicated event managers will help you plan your special day down to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hall Golf Hotel Formby
Formby Hall Golf Resort And Spa
Formby Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing