We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay amazing hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Dining area
Bedroom 2. Two singles
Bedroom 2. Trundle bed
Family shower room
Family shower room
Family shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Formby, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikki C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay amazing hosts.”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

As we drove through the gates we entered an oasis. Green fields, sheep, ducks, ponies & pigs roaming free. Lesley & Pete were so warm & welcoming, the accommodation was clean & tidy, well equipped & we loved the layout. So relaxing! We travelled out & visited Liverpòol, Crosby & the local squirrel reserve at Formby beach & pinewoods.
So much to do & not enough time!
We will be back for part 2 of our adventure.
Oh & Sarah & the girls introduced us to Koda the resident Newfoundland & the rest of the K9 family, wonderful!!!
Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T
Whitton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family accommodation”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent facilities, great hosts, lovely location. Easy access to the Formby dunes and excellent beaches. Lots to do in the area with Liverpool and Southport on the doorstep. Thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahhope...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hosts, charming farm, accommodation needed an extra touch here and there.”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The hosts of Strawberry Fields were kind and helpful from the point of booking, via email, and during our stay. We had a problem with the hot water at the kitchen sink one morning and Lesley’s husband came over straight away and it was sorted within minutes, we also accidentally left one of our belongings and Lesley was happy to post it home to us-thank you!
The property is in an enchanting farm setting next door to the owners home-it was lovely for our daughter to be able to meet the ponies, sheep, pigs, chickens, ducks and play ball with the hosts dogs (her highlight of our stay!)
There was a lovely welcome pack of milk, biscuits, duck eggs, butter and bagels waiting for us which was a lovely touch. However, we did think the property was less well equipped than we’ve experienced in other properties we’ve stayed in for a similar fee-no small chopping knife, no wine glasses, no water jug for the table, no decent chopping boards and the property felt quite ‘lived in’ with left over food in the cupboard. The nooks and crannies of the rooms and under the double bed were very dusty, which again we were disappointed with for the price paid. However, we had a pleasant stay overall.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
My initial reaction upon reading this review was, ‘Have we become complacent after receiving literally hundreds of glowing reviews from other guests at this and our other cottages?’, but having re-read the negative points (and positive points) I feel they need to be addressed.

Equipment supplied - there is a chopping board, a cooking knife and 8 wineglasses (which are stemless, and thus less liable to breakage). There is no water jug, but I tell all guests that, if they feel there is something they would like, we are only next door and almost certainly have it available.
The food in the cupboards is all non-perishable (everything perishable is removed) and left by previous guests for the benefit of others. A generous touch I feel, and greatly appreciated by most.
I vacuum under all beds before every new guest arrives, so would dispute the ‘very dusty’ description.
The ‘problem with the hot water’ did not need to be sorted, since it was caused by the guest leaving a hot tap running all day, thus draining the tank which then takes a few minutes to re-heat. I didn’t mention this since I accept that mistakes are made.

I spoke with the guests on a daily basis and none of these points was raised.

I’m pleased that the guest’s daughter enjoyed her interactions with the free roaming animals, but it is essential that children have adult supervision ( as per listing, and as was explained at check-in) - and do not enjoy these interactions barefoot.

I feel the attitude of this guest can be summed up by when she left. She reversed her car from the surfaced parking area (about 15 metres), across the grass (and the septic tank covers) and up to the doors of the property. This has happened only once before, when the guest was in a wheelchair and even then they asked me if this was ok.

Since good reviews are the lifeblood of this type of venture, I would ask that prospective visitors read the reviews for Strawberry Fields ‘sister’ properties, Formby Point and Another Place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing