We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands Cottage B&B

Brooklands Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Formby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklands Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Formby B&B and Inns
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a second break at Brooklands. It is the best b&b you could wish for. Shelagh is so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The facilities are spotless and breakfast is excellent. There is such great attention to detail, fresh flowers, homemade biscuits, fresh milk with tea and coffee (no long-life cartons here!),dazzling white table linen, large fluffy towels. We highly recommend Brooklands for all of the above as well as it's peaceful location. We really loved our 3 nights here! J&M x

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NORTHUMBERLAND
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Myself and two granddaughters have had a four night break at Brooklands Cottage in Bowness on Windewrmere. It is the best equipped self catering accommodation I have ever had. David the landlord was very helpful and his cottage was second to none. Everything we needed was there and more. The only thing the girls were short of was Wi Fi but that didn't spoil anything. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rthumbrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for two nights. Wonderful breakfasts. spotlessly clean. superb gardens. very comfy beds. own living room. cannot fault it. The lady owner could not do enough for you.

I would give 10/10.. fab place to stay!
Gill.Rossini.

Room Tip: lovely rooms, very clean. worth a 10 star *********** and FAB breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilrossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Shelagh makes this place. She could have a B & B on the North Pole and it would still be full throughout the year. Convenient for (all - ha ha) the things to do in Formby. Room was spotless and the breakfast just amazing. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We are somewhat disabled so to have a twin room on the ground floor was a great bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

we found Brooklands Cottage on trip advisor when looking for somewhere to stay for a 50th birthday celebration locally. we used the opportunity to catch up with other friends in the area and were able to make the original one night booking into two nights. travelling up on the Friday night was horrific but sooo worthwhile. we grabbed a quick, cheap but perfectly adequate meal at the nearby pub (The Grapes) before the kitchen closed and then collapsed back at the B+B. We had an entire floor to ourselves with a huge bathroom (with separate bath and shower) and lounge and bedroom with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home!
Breakfast was plentiful with a huge choice to choose from. It was a privilege to share Shelagh's beautiful home and she really is a hidden gem in the locality - one of the guests at the party had no idea there were any B+B's in Formby ! we will certainly keep her details as a base for the future (assuming we can still get in !).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFW5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were in Formby over the weekend for a wedding and were given Shelagh's details as possibly somewhere to stay for our two nights. Thankfully, she was able to accomodate us. Everything about it first rate. It is certainly home from home, our breakfast was superb and the garden an absolute pleasure to enjoy. We also enjoyed the lovely comfortable lounge whilst passing the time before leaving for the wedding. Shelagh is such a lovely and helpful lady. Brookland Cottage is without doubt the nicest bed and breakfast accomodation we have ever had in this country. Thank you Shelagh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Brooklands Cottage for one night. It was such a beautiful place and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were all excellent and the breakfast was the best we have ever had. We can certainly recommend it and next time we go to that area we will definitely go back to Brooklands. Many thanks for a super stay.

Room Tip: Either room is great. One is twin, one is double, both beautiful. Sorry I clicked the Fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfgirl287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
1.1 mi away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#41 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool North Hotel
5.6 mi away
Dukes Folly Hotel
Dukes Folly Hotel
#10 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Cottage B&B

Property: Brooklands Cottage B&B
Address: 41 Massams Lane, Formby L37 7BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Formby
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing