We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic day out! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Formby Beach

Formby Beach
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Formby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited Formby Beach with my family on a clear crisp Sunday morning last weekend. We took my daughter's horse. Great beach for galloping down and blowing away cobwebs! Parked at Lifeboat Road car park which is great for horse boxes. Good clean and plenty of space!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank gloria381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    107
    21
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent tidy, quiet beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Formby beach quite alot for a walk with our dog, its best to the visit the beach when the tide is in, but the beach is very very clean.

It's a great little beach in the area and a great place to go for a walk, even with a dog or the family as there is some great woods to walk back from the beach to the car park.

The beach is part of national trust so the parking can get expensive but it's free if you're a member of the trust.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAdvisor1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great day at Formby Beach and squirrel woods.
Stunning weather great sand dunes and brilliant for running wild with our springer spaniel. There is national trust car park as members it was free to park. Well worth a visit and will certainly be returning.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny day on te beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

You may have seen Formby beach on the recent Agatha Christie tv programme-where it doubled as Le Touquet.
Great to visit. 15 mile sof beatiful beach and dunes.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
772 reviews
527 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Love this beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

Long wide sandy beach with views to Blackpool and North Wales . See the old foundations of buildings exposed y the sea in places and enjoy the sandhills

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Formby Beach also viewed

 

Been to Formby Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing