We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Walk

Great place to walk the dog. Great views across the mersey. Really enjoy coming here. Very busy on... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
jdS2125DA
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely beach experience

Lots of lovely sand for children to play in and plenty of sand dunes to explore. However, as with... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Autolycus123
Read all 535 reviews
  
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
310
154
27
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
154
27
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes car park national trust red squirrels lovely sand sunny day plenty of space ice cream clean sand dog walkers long walk nature reserve kids love lovely walk squirrel reserve squirrel walk victoria road
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The view from the beach is stunning even when the rain is cold and the wind is blowing a hoolie.
The atmosphere and area is clean and inviting to both young and old no matter what nature decides for the weather I love my walks with my husband along the dunes it's good for the lungs and great exercise.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

A beautifully clean beach thanks to the Formby litter angels. You can get great views from the vantage point of a high sand dune. To northbyou can see Blackpool to the south the welsh mountains. In my opinion best times to visit early morning or dusk, don’t forget some water and appropriate clothing.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Ernster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

There is a car park next to the beach so access is easy for all. The tide was out when we went, so miles of lovely clean sand. Just a short drive down the coast was Another Place by Anthony Gormley and then we went in to the Center of Liverpool. Brilliant day out.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Holidaying in the are we visited Formby beach for the afternoon. After having a walk around the squirrel walk we went down to the beach to have a walk next to the sea.

The beach was incredibly tidy considering it was the height of the summer season and quite busy. It's great to see people visiting were taking their rubbish away with them rather than leaving it behind.

We walked a good stretch of the beach and it was very enjoyable, a place I would like to return to again someday.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank stainthorpem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Lovely unspoilt beach with views across to North Wales and the Wirral lots of different walks around the surrounding duneheath and woods ideal for families for a trip out with a picnic walk around the area each day with the dog as luck to live near by

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank mathews687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews