We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beach walk

Formby beach does not have any amenities as such just a car park and an ice cream van if you are... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Gords H
Great beach

There are always lots of dog walkers here its a great place to go. I see runners and casual walkers... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Flamingo14
,
Formby, United Kingdom
Read all 537 reviews
  
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
311
155
27
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
155
27
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes car park national trust red squirrels lovely sand sunny day plenty of space ice cream clean sand dog walkers nature reserve kids love long walk squirrel walk lovely walk squirrel reserve victoria road
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lots of lovely sand for children to play in and plenty of sand dunes to explore. However, as with most of this area of Formby parking can be a real problem in the summer, and the facilities down at the beach are non-existent

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Autolycus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Very surprised at the lovely wide, clean beach that awaited us after walking the national trust squirrel walk. All paths led to the sea. Very unspoiled and team of people on the beach picking up any trace of rubbish or plastic. Great beach for families and dogs.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank PamelaM176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Called in here on by chance on the way from visiting ‘another place’, OMG am so glad we did, and despite it being 100 mile away we will be going back for another visit. The beach is exceptional with fabulous dunes, dog friendly which is a bonus for us and the woodland walks are brilliant, one is marked as the red squirrel walk, and yes we were sceptical, but OMG there are loads and they are quite tame, even with the dog they cane really close, just can’t wait to go back.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank wilki2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

The best beach around, especially because of the squirrel Forrest. It’s an amazing scenery and good for both winter and summer time.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TimHensley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

The view from the beach is stunning even when the rain is cold and the wind is blowing a hoolie.
The atmosphere and area is clean and inviting to both young and old no matter what nature decides for the weather I love my walks with my husband along the dunes it's good for the lungs and great exercise.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews