We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowton Barns
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$119
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rowton Castle(Halfway House)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
55
27
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
27
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattending a weddinghonesty barwet roomworking farmb bstayed herenearby weddingcherry tomatoeslounge arealong barnunderfloor heatingrooms bookednearby castlea great staylocal pubshower headbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Barns.

My wife and I were visiting the area and attending the wedding of a friend at the Castle next door. It was down to him that we had the great fortune to stay here; a most comfortable and welcoming couple of days.

The breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Fantastic. Good tasting, non fatty, soft yoke fried eggs, full English breakfast. The Chef was perfect with it's delivery and the lady waiting on our table was wonderful; polite, friendly and eager to please. They have a good team and to have someone with a sense of humour and great smile first thing in the morning can only give the day a great start.

The rooms were large and comfortable and we felt excellent value for money. The honesty bar was an added extra and nice to have in this miss-trusting age but, a tea and coffee facility would be good in this area particularly for a late night coffee and brandy!

Despite the lack of a receptionist, check in was painless having made a phone call and been advised of a well rehearsed out of hours system again based on trust.

"Again, our sincere thanks to you all and we hope that sometime in the future we can stay again".

Room Tip: Be advised that there are a mixture of baths with shower attachment taps and rooms with shower wet rooms. Preference needs to be requested.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowtonBarns, Owner at Rowton Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Hello Kilomutts!

Thank you for taking the trouble to make some lovely comments about your stay at Rowton Barns. All the staff were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are glad that you enjoyed the "Honesty Bar", we feel it helps to create a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for guests. We have taken on board your comments about tea and coffee in the Long Barn and are trying this out at the moment!

We are also pleased that you found our system for out of hours check-in straightforward and simple and we hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had booked this B&B because I was attending a wedding at Rowton Catle. I had originally hoped to check in around late morning with prior confirmation with the owner. However due to the church being nearer to Brignorth than Shrewsbury area I had to delay checking in until mid afternoon. I phoned and left a message to warn them on their answerphone. However on turning up no one was at reception to book us in and despite phoning the two mobile numbers taped onto a window, after waiting half an hour and leaving numerous mesages we had to return to the wedding reception next door at Rowton Castle. On arriving back to the wedding venue I asked the lady on reception to try and contact the b&b owners about checking in. She managed to contact the owners after trying different numbers and eventually after having a fraught conversation with the owners discovered that thet had gone out for the day and there was no staff in situ to let us in! However a secret key place was divulged to us so we could open the reception door and retreive our door key - what a carry on! By now I was not very pleased as this meant we ould not enjoy the reception and couldnt drink as we had to drive back down to the B&b with our luggage as it was to far to walk with it all. Eventually after much inconvenience found the secret key when we came back later at 8 pm and found our key at reception. The owner had by now come back and helped us to our room, apologising for our inconvenience as he had just only now received our numerous voicemail messages.

The room was large and roomy but the bed was hard and pillow flat as a pancake. When we eventually walked back after the wedding party had finished we found it dificult to negotiate the road safely due to some of the lane not being lit. It is nearby to the castle but after a few drinks is a fair walk. There was no shower in the room only a hand held tap one. There was no tiling around it either so the walla got wet whe I used the shower head. However the room was clean and bright.

Breakfast was good and well cooked. On checking out I was informed that there would be no charge because of the inconvenience to us on checking in.

Overall I would recommend this B&B. It was clean and the breakfast room lovely, however it does have a strange checking in system which had not been explained to me earlier and had caused us lots of stress.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location of Rowton Barns is perfect if you are attending a wedding at the Castle, as we were. We opted for the Barns rather than other local B&B's because of this, even though it was more expensive.

Apart from being covered in cobwebs, the size of the room was OK for one night but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were virtually flat!

Another major disappointment was the fact that our room had no shower, just a bath. Apparently some of the rooms have showers and some have baths, although this was never mentioned at the time of booking. It would have been nice to have been given the option! The bath towels are also very small. The lack of toiletries was surprising too. Not even a small bar of soap in the bathroom!!

The breakfast was OK – nothing fantastic. You don’t get the option of beans or tomatoes with the full English – you just get given tomatoes. This was fine for me as I like them but not great if you don’t. The waitress however was very friendly.

All in all an OK place to stay for a wedding at Rowton Castle, but there are certainly less expensive B&B’s in the area that offer more comfortable surroundings if you don’t need to be located close to the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bambora51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here when attending a wedding at Rowton Castle.

Check in was simple, card to fill in with a quick show of the lounge area with an honesty bar.

Rooms are nothing exciting, but functional and bright. Beds are uncomfortable and the pillows dire. Would have been nice to have been able to have a cup of tea in the lounge as well as a drink.

Saying that, it was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spa_SeekerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Location here for Weddings at the Castle is spot on. I'm afraid it is overpriced and I wouldn't visit again, I'm 5"6, the single beds that are provided in twin rooms, are less than single beds! (Around 2 x 6 instead of 3 x 6) If you want to turn over, you will fall out the bed, If your tall or larger than a size 8 I wouldn't recommend the twin rooms!. It was awful, you want a good night sleep the night before a wedding, didn't happen here! Breakfast was good, and the staff we seen (1 lady!) Was polite enough. I wouldn't return unfortunately.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a double!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALB1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews