We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Rowton Barns

Rowton Barns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halfway House
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowton Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have just spent a night at Rowton Barns B&B and found it a really great place to stay.We had quite a large party to accommodate on the night before a wedding. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation was comfortable, clean and warm.
The Barns are just that, a recently converted set of rooms on 2 floors,with a variety of bedrooms with double, twin and bunk beds.
We had a party of mixed ages and all were really complimentary about their rooms.
The breakfast was freshly cooked, and there was a good choice of fruit, cereals and fruit juices and the coffee and tea was unlimited and very good.
This B&B is really handy for visiting the Shropshire area,and is a nice mixture of old and modern features,with the added charm of being on a working farm.We were greeted by the farm Labrador when we arrived,and could see calves down the farm yard.
There is obviously a large number of residents who ,like us were going to weddings at nearby Rowton Castle. So wether you are holidaying in the area or just staying for the odd night, I would recommend this B&B to anyone,but as it is busy I would advise booking well in advance, especially at weekends.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowtonBarns, Owner at Rowton Barns, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Rowton Barns. Everyone was very pleased to read your comments especially the chef!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We had an excellent one night stay at the Barns. Easy check in, very clean and minimalistic,set up in the rooms. Every thing looked new. Confirmed a check in time so as to collect keys, huge wet room,wonderful duvet...great nights sleep!
Friendly staff, good breakfast and effortless check out.

We had hoped to be closer to the castle...maybe a short cut....but it was cold and wet so we didn't explore!

Many thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Take fruit tea if you require it and toiletries eg shower gel/ shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowtonBarns, Owner at Rowton Barns, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent overnight stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future. We are pleased to hear you thought it was great value. We have not increased our prices for approximately 3 years and try to provide good service.

We do provide a bodywash/shampoo in all bathrooms but if you prefer to bring your own please do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stopped here for the one night as we were guests at a wedding at Rowton Castle. We had been told we could only check in between 12.00 noon and 1.00 pm but this was fine and we had an effortless check in. Room was lovely, clean and well furnished. Think the owners have taken on board previous comments about the pillows as we had two lovely big pillows each (certainly not flat). The bed is hard but we still found it very comfortable. Lovely decor throughout the barns and they had a very relaxing feel about them. It was just a short walk to Rowton Castle along tarmaced roads (walk to end of the drive entrance for Rowton Barns, turn left, walk to the entrance road to the Castle (on your left) and then along the road leading to the Castle). It would be adviseable to take a torch if you are walking back late at night. The following morning we found (along with a number of other guests) that there was no hot water and it was a case of having to boil a kettle to have a quick wash. The breakfast was lovely and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Is an ideal place to stay in order to walk to and from Rowton Castle.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowtonBarns, Owner at Rowton Barns, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hello Cakesy,

Thank you very much for your feedback; you made some very useful points. We were so glad to hear about your effortless check-in experience and that you were pleased with the standard of your room. As regards to pillows, we always used to put two on the bed and two in a drawer for guests use. Following previous comments, we now put all four pillows on the bed when we make it up.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable and relaxing experience we endeavour to provide.

Our sincere apologies about the lack of hot water. We have recently spent a lot of time and money installing a biomass heating system to replace our original gas boilers. We have had a few teething problems which the engineers have been trying to solve and hopefully all is well now!

Our staff always try to be friendly and helpful and appreciate your comments. Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Barns.

My wife and I were visiting the area and attending the wedding of a friend at the Castle next door. It was down to him that we had the great fortune to stay here; a most comfortable and welcoming couple of days.

The breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Fantastic. Good tasting, non fatty, soft yoke fried eggs, full English breakfast. The Chef was perfect with it's delivery and the lady waiting on our table was wonderful; polite, friendly and eager to please. They have a good team and to have someone with a sense of humour and great smile first thing in the morning can only give the day a great start.

The rooms were large and comfortable and we felt excellent value for money. The honesty bar was an added extra and nice to have in this miss-trusting age but, a tea and coffee facility would be good in this area particularly for a late night coffee and brandy!

Despite the lack of a receptionist, check in was painless having made a phone call and been advised of a well rehearsed out of hours system again based on trust.

"Again, our sincere thanks to you all and we hope that sometime in the future we can stay again".

Room Tip: Be advised that there are a mixture of baths with shower attachment taps and rooms with shower wet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowtonBarns, Owner at Rowton Barns, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Hello Kilomutts!

Thank you for taking the trouble to make some lovely comments about your stay at Rowton Barns. All the staff were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are glad that you enjoyed the "Honesty Bar", we feel it helps to create a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for guests. We have taken on board your comments about tea and coffee in the Long Barn and are trying this out at the moment!

We are also pleased that you found our system for out of hours check-in straightforward and simple and we hope to see you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had booked this B&B because I was attending a wedding at Rowton Catle. I had originally hoped to check in around late morning with prior confirmation with the owner. However due to the church being nearer to Brignorth than Shrewsbury area I had to delay checking in until mid afternoon. I phoned and left a message to warn them on their answerphone. However on turning up no one was at reception to book us in and despite phoning the two mobile numbers taped onto a window, after waiting half an hour and leaving numerous mesages we had to return to the wedding reception next door at Rowton Castle. On arriving back to the wedding venue I asked the lady on reception to try and contact the b&b owners about checking in. She managed to contact the owners after trying different numbers and eventually after having a fraught conversation with the owners discovered that thet had gone out for the day and there was no staff in situ to let us in! However a secret key place was divulged to us so we could open the reception door and retreive our door key - what a carry on! By now I was not very pleased as this meant we ould not enjoy the reception and couldnt drink as we had to drive back down to the B&b with our luggage as it was to far to walk with it all. Eventually after much inconvenience found the secret key when we came back later at 8 pm and found our key at reception. The owner had by now come back and helped us to our room, apologising for our inconvenience as he had just only now received our numerous voicemail messages.

The room was large and roomy but the bed was hard and pillow flat as a pancake. When we eventually walked back after the wedding party had finished we found it dificult to negotiate the road safely due to some of the lane not being lit. It is nearby to the castle but after a few drinks is a fair walk. There was no shower in the room only a hand held tap one. There was no tiling around it either so the walla got wet whe I used the shower head. However the room was clean and bright.

Breakfast was good and well cooked. On checking out I was informed that there would be no charge because of the inconvenience to us on checking in.

Overall I would recommend this B&B. It was clean and the breakfast room lovely, however it does have a strange checking in system which had not been explained to me earlier and had caused us lots of stress.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location of Rowton Barns is perfect if you are attending a wedding at the Castle, as we were. We opted for the Barns rather than other local B&B's because of this, even though it was more expensive.

Apart from being covered in cobwebs, the size of the room was OK for one night but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were virtually flat!

Another major disappointment was the fact that our room had no shower, just a bath. Apparently some of the rooms have showers and some have baths, although this was never mentioned at the time of booking. It would have been nice to have been given the option! The bath towels are also very small. The lack of toiletries was surprising too. Not even a small bar of soap in the bathroom!!

The breakfast was OK – nothing fantastic. You don’t get the option of beans or tomatoes with the full English – you just get given tomatoes. This was fine for me as I like them but not great if you don’t. The waitress however was very friendly.

All in all an OK place to stay for a wedding at Rowton Castle, but there are certainly less expensive B&B’s in the area that offer more comfortable surroundings if you don’t need to be located close to the castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here when attending a wedding at Rowton Castle.

Check in was simple, card to fill in with a quick show of the lounge area with an honesty bar.

Rooms are nothing exciting, but functional and bright. Beds are uncomfortable and the pillows dire. Would have been nice to have been able to have a cup of tea in the lounge as well as a drink.

Saying that, it was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
0.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
462 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
4.3 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Rowton Barns

Property: Rowton Barns
Address: Park Farm | Rowton, Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Halfway House
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Barns bed and breakfast, is an attractive barn conversion set in the beautiful Shropshire countryside. Located 6 miles west of the historic market town of Shrewsbury, and just a 5 minute walk from the prestigious Rowton Castle Hotel. Making us the ideal place to stay, when attending a wedding or other function at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowton Barns Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing