We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding additional accommodation to Castle”
Review of Rowton Barns

Rowton Barns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halfway House
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowton Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding additional accommodation to Castle”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked additional guests into the Rowton barns as surplus to the guests staying in the castle. They have all said they liked their stay here and how nice the place was. Im glad it was so close it literally means that they can walk the very short distance from the Castle unlike my other guests who had to get taxis further afield.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystalmaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed there for a wedding at nearby rowton castle. The people there were very friendly & you felt at home as soon as walked in. The room was spotless, with the only downside being that the twin beds were more like cabin beds so difficult to turn over. Breakfast service was fast & food was hot and tasty. Would definitely recommend staying there but maybe not in the twin rooms.

we also had dinner at nearby windmill pub, a lovely quaint local pub with fresh and tasty food, fantastic atmosphere & locals that made u feel welcome.

all in all a fantastic experience at both locations.

Room Tip: If they had a pool im sure it would be lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam1562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we stayed at this hotel on 13-02-2014, as our daughter was getting married on valentines day
at rowton castle, lorraine and keith, made us feel very comfortable, we had a large party,
so most of the rooms were taken up, we were all highly delighted with rooms, the hotel
was set in a quite location, with good sized car parking, the breakfast we all received was cooked perfectly, and most welcome after a very comfortable nights sleep, nice sofa's to lounge
on, log burner, and the best bit, the honesty bar, thankyou, lorraine and keith for making our party
very welcome.

Room Tip: all rooms are pleasantly laid out, some have bathrooms, and some have wet rooms, all have a tv, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding at the nearby Castle. Rooms were nicely done out though we did miss a shower! Breakfast really good with local produce cooked to order. Ideal for a stay for a wedding at Rowton Castle which is within walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What an amazing weekend we had. Nine out of the ten rooms booked. We enjoyed a wonderful meal on the arrival night in the barns, having walked up to the local pub for a couple of beers to get the legs going. A fantastic farmhouse breakfast on both mornings and a lovely packed yummy packed lunch. The walks and views were spectacular. The rooms so clean and comfortable. Keith and Lorraine are so hospitable. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryfdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the barns for two nights when attending a family wedding at the castle. I would give the staff & location (next to the castle) a 5 out of 5 rating. Everyone was friendly & extremely helpful. Calling for extra sheets at 9pm was not a problem. Someone came out to investigate a humming noise in the room at 10pm. Lorraine even gave me Gaviscon for a stomach upset.

We stayed in room 10 the room was clean, nice and light. We would have preferred a double mattress as you could feel the join of the two single mattresses that were put together. The shower ran hot & cold in the morning & at 1am after the wedding. When the fan in the room below was left on there is a constant loud humming in the room. Once the fan was turned off we had a good night sleep but were woken at 7am when the person in the room below showered.

We wouldn't eat at the barns again. We did not enjoy the evening meal or the fried breakfast, which was over cooked; we ate at the castle on the second morning. The 10am checkout was also very early when you have got in late after a wedding reception.

If you are going to a wedding at the castle its a good friendly, clean hotel.

Room Tip: In room 10 you can hear the fan below and people walking on the wooden floors in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayeesha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing ! Beautiful scenery and it felt like I was at home with the self service bar and seating area with a range of dvds to watch. I stayed in the first room on your right and it was cosy the bed was comfy and the bathroom was nicely decorated and very clean ! When we stayed it was for my sisters wedding and it was only myself my sisters and parents in thier so it was very cosy and there arent any staff permanently in thier either as the owner lives across the road it made me feel very much at home. Breakfast was beautiful and ranged from just cereal to a full english served by lovely polite women. Highly recommend for a get away with your partner! Its beautiful x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
0.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
8.2 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.3 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Barns

Property: Rowton Barns
Address: Park Farm | Rowton, Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Halfway House
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Barns bed and breakfast, is an attractive barn conversion set in the beautiful Shropshire countryside. Located 6 miles west of the historic market town of Shrewsbury, and just a 5 minute walk from the prestigious Rowton Castle Hotel. Making us the ideal place to stay, when attending a wedding or other function at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowton Barns Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing