We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we booked ;0)”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

i came to visit rowton castle on 17th aug for a viewing for a possible venue for our wedding.
when we drove into the grounds and we just smiled and we both just knew we wouldnt be looking anywere else for our wedding .we didnt imagine it would be as breathtaking as it was. we had a viewing with lorraine and she was just lovely and explained everything it detail and made us feel so special, we were also welcomed with bacon buttys and j20 which was fab and a great touch.
lorraine showed us all round the castle...bedrooms, breakfast room, lounge, bar and were our wedding would take place. the viewing could not of gone any better and we booked our wedding for june 2015
when we left the castle we walked round the grounds at the back which will make a great place for our wedding photographs (weather permitting!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Katherine
Thank you for your kind words regarding your personalised wedding viewing here at Rowton Castle with Lorraine. It is wonderful that as you approached the castle, you new it was the venue for you, and that Lorraine's hospitality and knowledge confirmed that thought.
Rest assured this level of personal service will continue throughout the planning of your big day, and we thank you for choosing Rowton!
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We attended a wedding on Saturday 17th August which was held at Rowton Castle in Shropshire. We looked at the website beforehand and couldn't wait to get there.

It is a wonderful place and so full of original character and charm, the Staff are more than helpful, knowledgeable and really make each and every guest welcome. Our family room was lovely so nice we would have enjoyed a couple more nights there, other guests had the Suites which were fabulous.

The Wedding ceremony was very simple but none the less very special for the Bride and Groom. The Meal served at the wedding breakfast was excellent and the service was brilliant.

I would definitely recommend couples go and have a look at this place if they are planning a wedding, Im sure you will fall in love with it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Sues946
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding the recent wedding you attended here at Rowton Castle; It is lovely when guests at a wedding feel compelled to comment so positively.
We work very carefully as an independent hotel to ensure that our team of professional and dedicated staff work with us for many years, and I am delighted that this was apparent from the "brilliant service" you received.
With very best wishes to you
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having our wedding at Rowton Castle has made all of our dreams come true. My husband and I got married on Tuesday 6th August and loved every moment of our time at the castle. Since our first visit with the very welcoming bacon sandwiches and tea, to our experience night, to meetings with the charismatic Jack, to our beautiful wedding day, all of the staff went above and beyond our hopes and desires. We fell in love with the castle and the magical setting, as did all of our guests who were blown away by everything, with many commenting that this was the best wedding they had ever been to. Similarly our photographer John Poole was absolutely fantastic, he was really down to earth and a nice guy who felt part of our wedding. John has given us some amazing photographs that will be treasured forever. Our wedding day was perfect with every detail put into place, flowing seamlessly between the ceremony, drinks reception in the grounds, garden games and ice cream, to the wedding breakfast (with gorgeous food), speeches and evening party. The staff here anticipated our every need (at times before we even knew we needed it, especially with the children) and the familiar faces made us feel at home. The bridal suite was amazingly luxurious and the best place to spend our wedding night. The following morning was spent with our nearest and dearest in the gorgeous breakfast room, where again staff were friendly and happy to chat. We were delighted with our wedding day and hand on heart would not have changed anything. We still find ourselves smiling whilst reminiscing of happy memories that will be treasured forever. We could not recommend the castle more highly for a wedding.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing but especially the bridal suite with its huge luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Charlotte
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent wedding here at Rowton Castle.
We are delighted the level of service received upon your first visit was carried through at every turn until your departure the day after the wedding. For your guests to be saying it is the best wedding they have ever been to is praise indeed!
With very best wishes to you both for the future
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Attended a family wedding here last week and thankfully it was a great sunny day so we could make full use of the gardens, had it been raining I think it would have been very tight for space so a winter wedding would need to be careful. A great looking building but when we turned up water was pouring through the ceiling due to a plumbing problem in a room above not such a good start but I guess these things happen!

The wedding breakfast was alright but nothing to write home about, some of this could be down to the couples choices. Our Bedroom although large was very dark but it is a castle, the bathroom was a strange layout and again because of the use of low energy bulbs was very dark and even when they warmed up it was still too dark for make up in the mirror!

The biggest disappointment for me was the breakfast and the room it was in, we felt shoe horned into a very small room and you had to line up outside this room like being back at school for your breakfast which was served to you, they obviously don't want you having too much to eat! We stayed at a local Premier Inn the previous night and the breakfast was far superior to Rowton Castle.

Final moan, drinks are expensive!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Parpot
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to Rowton Castle for a wedding. As a wedding venue that offers Exclusivity, we hope that in adverse weather conditions, you would have enjoyed and explored other areas of the hotel, without fear of bumping in to strangers as the castle was booked exclusively for your wedding party.
We would like to apologise for the plumbing problem you experienced - whilst these things happen, we invest heavily in our hotel to ensure such occurrences are very very rare!
We have also noted your comment regarding the bathroom lighting. Nearly all of our bedrooms enjoy an abundance of natural light flooding through the windows, with dressing tables strategically positioned to ensure a perfect location for applying makeup, that said we will look at the advancements in low energy lighting in due course.
We were surprised to read that you didn't like the breakfast room the following morning. Our restaurant is a 17th Century panelled room, with a beautiful Jacobean carved fireplace which most guests are in awe of. We also ask guests to come to the breakfast buffet for their food to ensure that they have as much or as little to eat as they wish - if it was our intention to reduce peoples portion size this certainly would not be the way to do it!
We constantly strive to meet and exceed guest expectations, and therefore we take all your observations on board in a positive manner to consider if there is anything we can improve.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

All in all an absolutely stunning and fantastic place - we had a simply marvelous wedding here.
From the preparations onwards the Rowton Team were helpful and efficient and made the whole process painless. We purchased a fixed-price wedding on an exclusive basis where the place was ours for literally 24 hours and everything needed was included. It simply worked.
A few things worth mentioning;
Our wedding day MC, Gareth Winebloom, ably assisted by Yvonne, was a real star. Always on hand without being overly fussy - he truly saved the day with his emergency repair of a broken ukulele tuner and then his encouragment to the very nervous performer, my bride! It was a pleasure having him with us all day.
All the staff were excellent, very warm and friendly, couldn't do enough for us and our guests and highly efficient in changing the room from hosting the wedding, to becoming the dining room and then finally to become the chill out area for the evening's festivities.
They really pushed to get rooms ready so that most of our guests could access them to make final changes to outfits before our 2.30pm wedding. The rooms were all exceptional and everyone had nothing but praise.
The grounds are superbly maintained and we were blessed with Summer sunshine which enabled us to make full use of the hired garden games. Well worth it as an optional extra.
Whilst the grounds are superb, it was lovely to be able to retreat from the heat and relax in the lovely drawing room where the tired dancers could collapse and recuperate with a drink or a cup of tea or coffee.
As part of the package the food was magnificent, special mention of the dessert, heaven, and the late night fish and chips although so popular that a number of guests had seconds! The supplied wine was of good quality and plentiful, the champagne the same and presented good value as part of the package.
Must mention Wendy Shaw's floral display, chair covers and sashes - all delightful.
An honourable mention to the ever patient DJ Will Tudor who did a sterling job in keeping everybody on the dance floor, accommodated bravely the chaos of our Ipod Ceildh and managed to satisfy all demands for requests and last songs. Excellent job Will, pleasure to have you as the DJ at our wedding.
Highly professional job on the photographs with Stuart Hay, very patient with us and able to accommodate us as we resisted formal and just wanted to party.
Must say breakfast was lovely, a real delight. Great to be able to share the morning after with those that made it down (which was most!) and the staff again made a real fuss of us.
If you are thinking of having a wedding here we couldn't recommed it highly enough.. simply perfect.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is very dark, we preferred room 4 which overlooked the grounds, was more to our tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We got married here on the 13th June 2013. From the time we booked the venue to the day we got married all the staff were very helpful. Each time we went to the castle prior to the wedding we were met by Bryan Who was very helpful and gave us all the information we needed to make our decisions. On the day of the wedding we had Keith as the duty manager, from the moment we arrived he made us feel welcome, he showed me and my dad the ceremony room, he talked us through the day and then showed us to the room. The room was beautiful and it had fresh fruit, water, orange juice and a bottle of prosecco waiting for the bridal party. The whole day was perfect and couldn't of asked for it to go any better. All of the staff were great. All of the guests commented on how beautiful the castle an the gardens were which was one of the reason we booked it in the first place as we wanted the perfect place for our perfect day and it was just that. Thank you to all the staff for all you did! Hopefully we will be able to stop for our 1st year anniversary!
Thank you again
Mr and Mrs Curtis

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcurtis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married here 7th September 2012 and there is not a single thing I could say bad against the venue or its staff.
We had a list of around 5 venues we wanted to visit before making our decision on where we get married and rowton was the first and only place we visited.
My husband and I went on an open day and was shown around by Keith, he was fantastic and full of information. Keen for my parents opinion we took them back a week later. We were told by Rowton that they did not have any appointments available to give us the full tour but we were welcome to look around ourselves as all rooms were open. This didn't bother us as we had already been once and it gave my parents time to have a good look around. Needless to say they loved it, we instantly paid our deposit and secured our date.
In the run upto the wedding we met with Mr D 2 weeks prior and 2 months prior. There was nothing we asked that was too much. We wanted to change the dessert menu,which after getting options from the chef he was more than happy to do, at no extra cost. We had warm briwnie and ice cream, which was to die for.We had a number of Z beds added to the rooms 2 weeks prior to the big day, again at no extra cost. From arrival the morning of the wedding myself and bridal party were made to feel like the most important people.
Our wedding planned was Lewis and I can never thank him enough for his hard work on the day and making me feel so relaxed. I have OCD and have to be in full control but Lewis did an amazing job and I felt relaxed and at ease. I had a few guests slightly fussy about their meals, I told lewis this on the morning and he made sure the needs of our guests were met. I would give anything to have our day again and would highly recommend this venue to anyone. Breakfast the following morning a few of my guests wanted items that were not at breakfast,again the kitchen staff met their needs.The only negative point was the day went by so so fast we did not get to fully enjoy the bridal suit and grounds the day after. I can only thank from the bottom of my heart all the fantastic at Rowton for helping our day feel so perfect. DJ will us truly amazing and had the dance floor full all evening. Our flowers were from Lavinder Blue and exactly how I imagined them.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mell_Hld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
652 reviews
8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
378 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
725 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range: £101 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing