We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A truly wonderful location. We celebrated our daughters wedding on 9th August 2013. Everything was planned and executed in fantastic detail. The wedding breakfast was scrumptious and everyone is still talking about the fayre.
We chose to use Wendy Shaw, florist, D J Will Tudor and Stuart Hay, photographer and may we say we were not disappointed.
Our M C Keith was a joy and an integral part of the day.
The rooms were perfect and the staff were attentive to every detail.
Our breakfast next day was also superb.
We cannot give sufficient praise to this wonderful venue and its vibrant and knowledgeable family of staff.
We look forward to staying again in the future, bookings allowing.

We chose 2xl limo's Telford for the wedding car hire and their care and expertise was wonderful.

Sue & Bill Simcox

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your kind words regarding your daughters wedding with us here at Rowton Castle in August. I am delighted that you refer to us a "vibrant and knowledgeable family of staff", as our team have worked with us for a number of years, and work very much as a family!
Your compliments of the service providers you used are appreciated and useful for other couples considering us as a wedding venue, so thank you for those.
You compliment all aspects of the day so highly, for which I can only say "you are welcome", it was our pleasure to be part of the team that made the wedding day successful and memorable for all the right reasons!
Thank you and very best wishes to all your family
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    36
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
163
142
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I got married here on the 25th of January 2013, we had an amazing day nothing was too much trouble, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at ease the staff were so professional and friendly, all our guests had a fabulous time and it's been the talking point of every conversation. Having the venue to ourselves made it extra special!! Would definitely recommend! The wedding breakfast was out of this world so professionally served and all meals where hot and of restaurant quality! Thank you Rowton castle for a memory that will last forever in our hearts!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Shelly S
Thank you for feeling compelled to leave a review regarding your wedding at Rowton Castle in January 2013.
Taking advantage of our Exclusive Use package, as you did, is the "icing on the cake' for a perfect day, it obviously ensured you and your guests could relax in the knowledge that you were the only guests in the hotel.
I will of course pass on your comments to the team regarding the professional, friendly service and the restaurant quality food.
It was our pleasure to host and contribute towards your wedding day, and we wish you both well for the future.
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with our daughter and son in law who had booked the hotel for our Ruby wedding present. Had a wonderful stay - faultless. We stayed in the Baldwin room and room 20 which were both lovely and beautifully decorated. We ate in the dining room on the two evenings and had the three course meal which was delicious, as were the breakfasts.The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The hotel is immaculately decorated and furnished and is in a lovely location. A wonderful experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear RichardMartyn
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Rowton Castle - I am delighted we didn't let your daughter and son-in-law down!!
Due to our popularity as a wedding venue, leisure visitors for one or two night stays can find availability challenging, however I am delighted this was not an issue for yourselves, and your comments regarding the hotel being immaculately decorated and furnished are greatly appreciated.
Hopefully we we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Myself and my fiancé visited here for a day trip all the way from Bolton near Manchester - it had always been my dream wedding venue & my partner reluctantly agreed to travel down to view it with me on a day off work we had together. We had already booked our wedding venue for Aug 2014 up here in Bolton but it is a place I had always wanted to visit as it looked so special on photos & a friend had married here in 2012. Anyway off we travelled at 8am on A Monday morning to have a 'nosey.'
We were met at the Reception when we arrived by Karen who was extremely welcoming & helpful - and offered the two of us complementary drinks & home made biscuits (to die for!!)
A newly wed couple were looking through their photos of the previous day where they had their wedding at the castle & they couldn't recommend us enough from their experience & went into detail how helpful the staff were and their every wish came true on their special day.
We were showed around all 19 of the bedroom at Rowton and each one unique in the decor and setting & all beautiful. We were then showed the ceremony room & I burst into tears as it was so grand and just perfect! Then we were shown outside.. The grounds, rural countryside setting & general feeling is overwhelming & a feeling of peace and romance.
Karen and each if the staff are very professional and not 'pushy' in any way like some venues can be when your viewing for your special day.
Long story short-me & my fiancé were both in love as soon as we walked in & impressed with the venue & most of all the attentive staff we booked there & then on the day!!!!
We lost £600 in deposits from cancelling the venue we had in Bolton but it didn't matter - I can't imagine anyone who goes to view the castle with the intention to book would walk away and chose another venue! In my opinion you cannot find better.
We are both counting down the days to next Aug so we can go back to this gem & be looked after like we were on our first visit. My parents travelled down for a weekend break last Monday & decided to pop in & have a look. My Mum commented on how the staff can't do enough to welcome you & did everything they could to show them around and make sure they were looked after, even for the flying 20 minute visit!
Highly recommended to anybody :-)
See you next August - 341 days and counting!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Natalie B
I am not sure what to say, other than thank you for the amazing review, and thank you for entrusting us with your wedding day.
As an exclusive wedding venue, having the privilege of hosting over 270 weddings a year, it is so important that everyone who walks through our doors feels welcome and individual, something we work extremely hard to achieve; It is very apparent that we are succeeding with this!
I will of course pass on your kind words to Karen and the rest of our team. They will feel proud to read that you sacrificed a £600 deposit elsewhere due to their professional and attentive nature.
We thank you once again, and look forward to planning your wedding day with you.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Attended a friends wedding September 12th.

Never been to the area or the venue before and was pleasantly surprised when we got there. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff.

Cannot praise the Accommodation, food, staff, area and ambience enough. The wedding was the best ever, the meal was plentiful with fresh produce and so tasty!

The surroundings were breathtaking and our bedroom ( Room 2) was so comfortable. Our breakfast was fantastic and the staff brilliant. You really will not be disappointed if you're staying at Rowton.. We were not!

Room Tip: We were Room 2 but from those who were there, all rooms were of equal 5 Star quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear DonnaandCliff
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rowton Castle.
It was lovely to read that you had such a fantastic time, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a beautiful wedding venue. The bedroom we had was on the first floor and was lovely. The bed was a four poster and very comfortable. The wedding meal was delicious as was the breakfast. Sadly it rained so we were unable to explore the large garden as much as we would have liked. The staff were wonderful. Thank you Rowton Castle for making my daughter's wedding extra special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Ann C
Thank you for your kind words regarding the daughters wedding here at Rowton Castle. May I offer my sincere apologies for the bad weather! However, it appears it did not affect your enjoyment of the day in any way.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Castle in years to come.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

What a truelly special venue for a wedding. Very intimate and personal but of the highest quality. The whole day was perfect and the hotel rooms and breakfasts good too. For those looking for a special day go and visit to see how ideal it is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qualitygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear QualityGirls
"A special venue - Intimate, Personal, Of the highest quality" - I am delighted we achieve what we set out too - I couldn't have put it better myself!
Thank you for your recommendation.
Best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing