We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Venue”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning Venue”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We recently attended a beautiful wedding at Rowton Castle as guests. The venue is superb and full of character, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was excellent and a rip-roaring good time was had by all. We stayed overnight and our room was gorgeous and well appointed, the bed was extremely comfortable and my only criticism would be having to drag myself out of it in time to reach breakfast which finishes at 9.30 am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarefootAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear The Barefoot Angel
Thank you for your review, it was great to read a rip roaring good time was had by all.
Apologies the mattress was so comfortable that you were struggling to make breakfast!
I will of course pass on your comments regarding the service and food to the team.
Thank you once again.
With very best wishes for the future
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
168
144
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked out wedding at Rowton castle only two months before the big day and managed to book the last available day of 2013. The castle itself is a beautiful back drop for a special day and the newly decorated main room looked utterly gorgeous. It helped that as it was December we could capitalise on the fact that there were wreaths and fairy lights everywhere not to mention the stunning Christmas tree in the main longe area. The venue was simply stunning and every single guest commented on how beautiful the venuw was asking how we had come to find such an exclusive place.The magical surroundings are however not the main attraction to having your wedding at Rowton Castle.
The Wedding events team take care of every deatil from music to menu, from providing you with a florist, photographer and DJ, with hairdresser available upon request. Every little detail was handled with the utmost care and they really do make you feel as though you are thr most valued customer in the world!!! I cannot recommend Rowton enough for your wedding as they made our day the most smoothly run and spectacular event. Great *oints to note: Fabulous service and Fabulous food!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all unique and utterly stunning with fabulous period features including a resident ghost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear NinaPugh
Thank you for your kind words regarding your Christmas Winter Wedding with us here at Rowton Castle in December 2013.
We are so pleased that you admired and enjoyed the backdrop of our beautiful christmas decorations. Each year we look to enhance and improve them, and it is so nice to see that they do not go unnoticed.
Due to our setting, the winter months are extremely popular for us, with the fires lit and cosy rooms, and the option of winter pimms and mince pies - who wouldn't be tempted. However, not necessarily our most popular months for weddings in the picturesque gardens in the Linden Belvedere - maybe a little to cool for that!
It is also lovely to read that you were so delighted with the fabulous food and service, I will pass on your comments to all of the team.
Thank you once again, and we wish you both all the very best for the future.
With very best regards
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Where to start?? We got married on the 27th January 2014 at Rowton Castle and it was more perfect than we could have ever imagined!!! From start to finish I was made to feel like the princess I felt in this beautiful setting!! Every member of staff went out of their way to ensure we all had a fabulous day!! We felt as though ours was the only wedding day ever to be held there as everything was so perfect!! The duty manager was at our beckon call and nothing was too much trouble, the housekeepers took time out to chat to us and compliment me on my "princess" dress, the waitresses were wonderful serving the most amazing food and the bar staff, whatever me and my groom wanted we got they were so attentive!! All in all a perfect day from start to finish!!! We are so glad we chose this wonderful setting for our wedding day and can't wait to return, thanks again to all the staff

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Charlotte S
Thank you so very much for your such kind praise regarding your wedding here at Rowton Castle in January.
As one of the most popular Exclusive Use wedding venues in the UK we host a wedding most days of the week for couples from all over the world. Our biggest challenge whilst being "wedding experts" is for you to have the feeling that we have been preparing for weeks solely for your arrival, with everything perfect, nothing out of place; I am delighted that we achieved this!
Once the castle is set, it is all about our team, and the service we provide. As one big family at Rowton, our whole team enjoy what they do, and this is reflected with the interaction from the housekeeping and bar staff, complimented by the quality of food provided.
It was a privilege to take care of you and your family and friends on such an important day, and we thank you for the opportunity!
With very best wishes to you for the future
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My daughter was married here on 27th January 2014. It was an absolutely perfect day, perfect setting, she felt like a princess in her castle! Excellent service, food and ALL staff, without exception, are absolutely fantastic. Very caring and made sure the whole day ran smoothly for us. Perfectly timed to the second! Guest rooms were ready by 11.00 O'clock which meant they were able to relax before changing for the wedding! I cannot recommend this venue highly enough! Thank you so much, I can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Margaret S
Thank you for your kind words, and I am delighted your daughter felt like a princess!
I will of course pass on your comments to the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews?!! My husband and I got married at Rowton Castle on the 31st January 2014 and it was perfect in every way. As my husband is an Executive Chef for 2 restaurants in Essex where we live, we were keen to ensure that we picked a venue that only provided us with the perfect setting but that the food was also of a high standard. We were not disappointed, in fact the food was exceptional! All the staff were excellent, in particular Caroline, Karen and Lewis. Wendy Shaw (florist) and DJ Will Tudor were also fantastic. We would also like to thank Jack de Souza who was so friendly during visits to Rowton Castle and on the day after the wedding. This venue, in our opinion, cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Olivia G
Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review regarding your recent wedding here at Rowton Castle.
As fellow "industry professionals" we are delighted that we did not let you down, and we are honoured you and your husband felt the food was "exceptional"; the kitchen brigade will be very happy to receive your praise.
We very much pride ourselves on the level of service we offer, and Caroline, Karen, Lewis and Jack will be pleased to have warranted a special mention, as will Wendy & DJ Will who's services compliment Rowton Castle with the same high standards.
We are appreciative of the opportunity to contribute so positively to your wedding day, and we wish you both all the very best for the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We got married on Saturday here and I feel it nearly brings me to tears because of how perfect our day was! We really couldn't have asked for a better day. The whole day was so well organised and everything was made so special by the helpful staff that couldn't do enough for us and our guests. Myself and my husband would like to give a special thanks to Alex Sheppard, who organised our wedding that day, without him I don't know what we would have done. He was very professional and prompt with everything he did and made sure that everything was spot on to the last detail, as well as being a genuinely lovely man. Alex you deserve an award for all your hard work, we thank you so much!! Our food and drinks were to die for and the whole castle was spotless. All our guests said they had never been to such a wonderful wedding and no one had any complaint the next day other than sore feet from dancing to great music all night provided by our brilliant DJ Will Tudor who also did our fabulous lighting throughout the day (Little Gem FX) which was amazing as can been seen by our pictures. I can honestly say that we feel like our wedding was a dream, as it was that perfect and we will have beautiful memories of our special day forever, all thanks to Rowton Castle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sarah J
Thank you so much for your kind words; we are so delighted that your memories are ones of a perfect day that nearly bring you to tears!!
Alex I know will be so very pleased that he was able to contribute so much to the success of the day, as will our kitchen brigade for the "food to die for", and our housekeeping and property management teams for the castle being "spotless". It really is a team effort here that makes all the difference.
It was great to read that DJ Will Tudor once again did a great job with the evening's entertainment, and I am sure the lighting effects from LittleGemFX were the perfect finishing touch.
Thank you once again, it was our privilege to take care of your wedding day, and we wish you both well for the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We've just returned from our daughter's wedding at the Castle and felt we had to comment on how well they organise the whole day in such a relaxed yet formal way. We had a fantastic day aided considerably by how professional yet unobtrusive all the staff were. Our MC for the day was Alex, who deserves a special mention for the seamless way in which very detail was adhered to.
The food was really good too so if you are looking for a hassle free lovely castle venue, look no further!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitch452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Hitch452
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your daughters recent wedding at Rowton Castle.
We were delighted you had such an enjoyable day, and we will of course pass on your kind words to Alex and the rest of the team.
Thank you once again, and very best wishes for the future.
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing