We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Venue”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Attended a friends wedding, and from checking in at reception to checking out everything was perfect. The rooms, attentive service and fantastic food I could not find fault with anything. What made the day extra special not just for me but for the other guests attending the wedding was every thing was perfect and also the exclusive use of the Castle itself meaning only the wedding party in the hotel at the time. I would recommend this place to anyone thinking of getting married and you never know we get round to setting a date ........ watch this space.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borolass65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear borolass65
Thank you for "glowing" review of your friends wedding at Rowton Castle.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed having Exclusivity of the Castle for the wedding, and that everything was perfect, you couldn't fault a thing; I will of course pass on your praise to all of the team.
Finally, thank you for the recommendation, and you know where we are when you set a date for your own big day - we would be absolutely delighted to assist!
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    36
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
181
147
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were married at Rowton Castle on 2nd August 2013. It was the only venue that I called and viewed, it just felt right. On the day, as most brides perhaps are, I was very nervous but the one thing that worried me about Rowton (the number of weddings they do per year), turned out to be a godsend. They're experienced and it shows. I truly can't fault out day, it was absolutely perfect and I cannot thank Rowton & the staff enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enslow-Officegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Enslow-OfficeGirl
Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding with us in August 2013. It was lovely to read that we were the only venue you visited because "it just felt right" - I believe that gut instinct is the best guide for anyone.
As you commented, we are phenomenally popular as a wedding venue, having the privilege of hosting over 250 weddings a year, most of which are on an Exclusive basis. This in itself leads to a highly tuned level of service and welcome on offer - I am so glad we did not disappoint, and more importantly I am so happy our popularity did not compromise your day in any way, as it was absolutely perfect. Our greatest challenge is to ensure each wedding feels, special, unique, individual and as though it is the only wedding we have done that week - hopefully we succeeded!
Thank you once again, and very best wishes to you both
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just attended a friends wedding here and found it to be perfect. Lovely comfortable rooms. Delicious food and fantastic staff that do everything to make your big day a great success. Rowton Castle is a place that gives Exclusive service to your wedding party meaning there is only your party in the hotel at the time. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Charles J
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your friends "perfect wedding" here at Rowton Castle.
I am delighted you enjoyed the Exclusive Use of the Castle; being able to relax in the lounges and gardens knowing the only guests at the Castle are those celebrating your friends wedding is truly special indeed.
Your recommendation from a friends perspective is greatly appreciated.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Would just like to say if your thinking of booking your wedding here then do it & don't think anymore!

We had our wedding at Rowton Castle Sunday 16th March 2014, The place & grounds are beautiful.

Food: served very quickly and tasted amazing.

We would like to say a BIG thank you to Karen who helped organise our day nothing was to much trouble and a BIG thank you to Keith who again was amazing and totally de stressed me the morning of our wedding.

The day went so quick that's the only thing we can complain about!

Thank you Rowton Castle for making our Wedding Day so special.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry38wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Kerry38wolverhampton
Thank you for your kind words regarding your wedding here at Rowton Castle on Sunday 16th March, I am delighted your wedding day was so special, and apologies for how quickly the day passed!!
I will of course pass on your comments to Karen, Keith and the rest of the team, and thank you for entrusting us with your big day.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Food was good as was the service. Drinks weren't cheap but this was to be expected in this type of place. We have room 6 which was above the DJ so our sleep was rather disturbed. Everything else was great though. Beautiful venue! Would recommend to friends and family!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear mjdy2k5
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your friends wedding here at Rowton Castle; I was delighted to read that everything was great, a beautiful venue!
With regard to Room 6 and noise from the DJ, please accept our apologies for this. Our Exclusive Use package which most couples book includes Exclusivity of the castle. The advantage of this is that you are the only party at the castle, not interrupted or disturbed by anyone else's wedding, enjoying all areas of the hotel and grounds with just your own family and friends. The Exclusive Use package also includes all 19 bedrooms, and to ensure all rooms are occupied to their capacity, we ask the bride and groom to allocate the rooms to their guests. To help with this we provide a bedroom allocation sheet that describes all the room types, a floor plan to show locations of rooms, and we outline such detail as to the few rooms that may be affected by noise from the DJ; I am sorry that you were allocated one of these rooms and chose to retire before the couples entertainment had finished.
Please accept our apologies once again for the initial noise from the DJ upon you retiring to your room, however I am delighted everything else was to your liking, and very much appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having just returned from Rowton Castle the only complaint i have is, that it isn't in Yorkshire. My daughter was married there yesterday, the staff from Alex down were more than happy to help with ANY issues, and very attentive to detail. The wedding function, lunch, evening entertainment, evening meal were all flawless! If i could mark the Castle more than 5 star i would. Ok there are no fridges in the rooms, the disco is LOUD in some of the bedroom (our disco ended at midnight) so what! Other Hotels etc do NOT have wedding functions, nor do they have the beautiful fixtures, fittings and furniture that Rowton Castle has! If asked, I would wholeheartedlt reccomend Rowton Castle for ANY type of function be it wedding, birthday or maybe even hen party (you may need to enquire with the Castle reception?) Come to Rowton you will love it, the castle and grounds are BEAUTIFUL!!! The staff are FABULOUS. Breakfast the following morning was more than plentiful. Even the castle recommended disco, flowers, hairdresser etc etc are exemplary! Rowton Castle is NOT any "old hotel", come and test it, you will love it.

Room Tip: If you have young children who would like a little independency, or maybe parents who need a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Ken D
Thank you for taking the time to write your very comprehensive review regarding your daughters wedding with us this March.
We are always delighted when we contribute so positively to someones time at Rowton Castle, whether for a wedding, birthday party or overnight stay and dinner. We continue to invest in the quality of our fixtures, fittings and furniture, and for you to observe this and feel compelled to comment is greatly appreciated. In fact, a recent visitor commented that "Rowton Castle was in better condition than a National Trust building where you were not allowed to touch anything!"
It was also lovely to read that we are not any "Old Hotel"; as a Grade II* Listed property, we aim to offer a surrounding and ambience that is sympathetic to our history, but still vibrant and welcoming for people to enjoy - hopefully we are achieving this.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife Bev and I married here on the 20th February this year. We had originally looked at the venue in 2012 and fell in love with the Castle. The staff all seemed so happy and professional. Our wedding day was more emotional than most due to my mother passing away 12 days before the wedding. Rowton castle were made aware of this and were excellent and understanding of oue emotions and needs. Alex was our MC for the day and we could not have wished for better. He was always available to us and ensured that everything we needed was provided. Our wedding breakfast was fantastic and we were so pleased with our choices. Even 1 of our fussy guests told me it was the best wedding meal he'd had. Other guests have told us how fantastic the wedding and venue was and we can only pass that on to the owners and staff at Rowton. You are excellent in all you do. The brochure at Rowton also provides local business for flowers, DJ etc. We'd like to thank Will Tudor for being so good and playing such a good varity of music. Thank you to everyone involved in our special day, you've ensured that all our memories will be good ones. I can only suggest to anyone thinking of this venue for there wedding, do not think twice. You will be as amazed as we were. Chris Hunt-Brown

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Bev & Chris
Thank you for your kind words, and can I say we are delighted if our understanding for you and your family during a difficult time was a help in any way at all.
It is a pleasure to read of your fantastic wedding breakfast, your kind words for Alex and the team, and the high praise from your "discerning" guest!
Finally your ringing endorsement says it all, and we thank you for that!
With very best wishes to you both for the future.
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
633 reviews
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
768 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing