We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I married here on the 3rd August, and what a day it was.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the experience were better than could be expected.
The staff were all super, nothing was a problem or a chore.
Duty manager Chris looked after us for the majority of the wedding day and was a true professional, only handing over to Gareth for the evening festivities.

The team of housekeepers need a special mention for getting the rooms ready for the bridal party and guests to such a high standard day in day out, a true credit to the venue.

All our guests loved the grounds, their rooms, the staff and the food and commented on the desire to return, the only problem is that the venues popularity means a return visit is a little difficult to arrange.

Room Tip: It's a listed building so no lifts so if you have trouble with stairs a 1st floor room is requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Manager at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Pip & Dave,

Thank you first of all for taking the time to review your wedding at Rowton Castle, more importantly, thank you for your kind words! The whole team will be so pleased to read of your amazing day; for you to acknowledge their part in making the day a success will be greatly appreciated by all.

As you mention, due to our popularity as an exclusive wedding venue, the times when we are able to take care of care guests visiting the area is limited; I do however hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming those who wish to return in the near future.

Thank you once again for choosing Rowton Castle for your big day, and we wish you every future happiness.

With very best wishes
Ceri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
165
142
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

WE GOT MARRIED MONDAY 4TH AUGUST 2014,

Castle was breath taking beautiful, castle grounds are well cared for lawns well maintained flowers and all planting are impressive, outside seating area , gazebos etc all make great photos. The staff have been amazing before wedding , during and since, All calls where returned and our questions got answered, wedding department staff where always keen to help, advice , reassure and help from day one.making things a lot less stress full.
on wedding day duty manager Gareth was a total rock supporting us all through the day until he handed over to Chris who was equally as good, all staff in castle where helpful, polite and thoughtful. castle was clean , tidy and comfortable With great views too
. Our guests really enjoyed the day with us. We used some of businesses in the back of the castles brochure We have been more than pleased
,DJ WILL ,amazing DJ made guests feel relaxed and happy as they danced the night away to his music, easy to talk to and arrange friendly,polite ,very pleased.
HARPIST STEPHANIE , beautiful very talented musician a real must have for that extra touch, WENDY FLORIST, very talented good value
STATIONARY, Trish was great value, polite and friendly.
WE HAD A GREAT DAY and my husband and I are very pleased

Room Tip: castle rooms are gorgeous but there is lots of stairs to the top floor rooms bridal suite is on fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavb880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Manager at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lisa & Gavin,

Thank you for your very lovely review regarding your recent wedding with us here at Rowton Castle. I am delighted you found that from the first welcome you were cared for so well, and that this continued throughout the planning process and the day itself.

Your staff feedback makes us very proud indeed; I will of course pass on your kind words to Gareth, Chris and the rest of the team here. Our property managers will be so happy that you viewed the grounds ‘well cared for’ and ‘impressive’ – improving the gardens for photographic opportunities is something they strive for.

We are truly flattered by the praise received, and also for that of the suppliers that work alongside us in Will, Stephanie, Wendy and Trish. It is a privilege for us to be supported by such professionals to make planning your day so easy.

We are appreciative of the opportunity to contribute so positively to your wedding day, and we wish you both all the very best for the future.

Kindest Regards
Ceri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

For those who are looking to have your wedding here I would definitely get it booked! We got married on 28/07 and had the most magical day. From meeting with Jack initially to the day itself the place offers an outstanding service and a setting that is truly stunning! The rooms are beautiful and clean with stunning views to the gardens and countryside and the rooms where the wedding breakfast and evening entertainment takes place are beautifully decorated. The food was beautiful and so many of our guests commented on how slick the service was. We had hog roast which was equally impressive. Thank you to everyone at Rowton, especially to Caroline for her help in the run up to the day along with Alex and Keith who ran the day for us so we could spend time together with our guests! Our wedding will be remembered forever with nothing but happy memories so thank you xxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KSTolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Manager at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kimberley & Steven,

Thank you for your fabulous review of your ‘amazing day’ here at Rowton Castle. There is nothing more satisfying that knowing that we have contributed towards your wedding day in such magical way.

We believe one of the most important roles for us as a wedding venue is to put you both at ease so that you are able to focus on taking in some of the day; it goes so quickly! I am delighted that we were able to achieve this from your very first meeting with Jack, until the day itself. Alex, Keith and the whole team will be thrilled by your comments.
Thank you for your recommendation, and once again for entrusting Rowton Castle with your big day; it was a privilege.

Wishing you and your family the very best for the future.
Ceri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner, have recently been to Rowton Castle to have a look around for our wedding venue. Now I knew Rowton was nice but I was shocked to see how perfect it actually is !! We spoke with a wonderful man Jack who explained everything in great detail. He really does care about you and your day rather than the financial side to it. Needless to say , we ended up booking the venue and we came away thrilled to pieces.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear vicki s
Thank you for feeling compelled to write a review following your recent visit to Rowton Castle, and thank you for booking your wedding day with us!
Jack will be delighted that you were happy with our offerings, and you are right, our primary focus is listening to and fulfilling, where we can, a couples requirements for their big day.
Due to the high standards we maintain at the castle, there are of course days of the week or times of the year where we have to ask couples to choose such packages as "Exclusive Use", but along side this there are times when couples are free to book as much or as little of our packages as they wish. Whichever route they take, they receive the same levels of service we afford to everyone, as each day is of equal importance.
Thank you once again, and we look forward to planning your big day.
Best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed briefly, overnight and for dinner. The setting is magnificent and the rooms are pretty good - ours was furnished with dark wood furniture which was entirely in keeping with the style of the property. Public areas are a bit like stepping back into an Agatha Christie novel, but pretty well done. Staff were really helpful and put themselves out to make us comfortable, meal was very well thought out and cooked.

Room Tip: Standard room was fine, but superior rooms are likely to be worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choppingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear choppingLondon
Thank you for your review regarding your recent overnight stay and dinner here at Rowton Castle.
I was delighted with your heading "Helpful, Friendly, Excellent" - that it was we set out to achieve here at Rowton Castle, and I am delighted we did not disappoint.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rowton Castle in the future.
With very best regards
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had my sons wedding here on the 18th July and it was truly magnificent from start to finish. The venue was spectacular and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The weather was perfect we all sat outside until 1am and there was nothing to fault.
All in all it was the perfect venue & perfect weather, thank you Rowton Castle

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maldeb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Maldeb1962
Thank you for your review regarding your son's recent wedding at Rowton Castle, and it is lovely to read that it was "truly magnificent from start to finish"; We were pleased to arrange the perfect weather for you also!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to Rowton Castle in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

July 2014 was our second stay at Rowton Castle, our first was in 2010, and we can not wait for our third! It certainly will not be in four years time, in fact we are starting to plan our next Shropshire / Wales trip now. The castle is a treasure, the grounds have plenty to see and walk around and the rooms are comfortable and full of character.
The staff are just great, including the two gardeners and Alfie who were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Special thanks to Abbey and her reception colleagues and a big thanks to the restaurant staff, not forgetting the chef who must surly qualify for "Master Chef"
It was nice to see a privately run hotel show a steady development, but it will be now difficult to improve on near perfection. Our friends felt the same and thought the dining area one of the nicest he had ever eaten in. We would now like to bring our family up next time as the grand children would love it all. Thanks again to Rowton Castle!

Room Tip: Have a look at the photos, but also ask the staff as they will be honest in describing the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Don694
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent return visit and overnight stay to Rowton Castle. I will of course pass on your comments to the team, particularly Alfie (Dave our property managers dog!) who will be delighted he warranted a special mention!
I was particularly pleased to read that you noticed our "steady development" of the castle, its interior and grounds on an ongoing basis, looking to "improve on near perfection". We strive to keep improving our offerings, and maintain the property to a very high standard, hopefully we are achieving this!
Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit!
With very best wishes
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing