We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Wedding Venue - offering a romantic setting.”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We were there for a wedding service. Excellent service - you get the feeling that they may have done this wedding day stuff before! I go along with all the other reviews - you cannot knock the service or location etc. The rooms in the castle are of a high standard, however the room we were in, you were unable to open the any of the windows and were provided with an eletric fan. It was warm enough in April, I wouldn't be looking forward to a summer night in July or August. Also, is it us or is a 12.30 bar closure a bit early for a wedding? It is a shame that on a nice spring evening which we were lucky enough to have, that outside was where you went to smoke. Some patio heaters and ambient lighting would turn outside from a smokers venue to somewhere to sit with friends etc.
As you can see, if I'm having to mention the patio and lighting then they have already set the bar very high.
One other thing to mention is that we stayed one night at 'The Barnes' which is next door - a location I couldn't find on the site already. I don't know if this is associated to the Rowton Castle or not. However, you would probably only be staying here if you're are staying at the Castle either before or after a wedding, so it's fair to mention if you are, to pack some ear plugs as the walls are wafer thin and don't sit in your room and talk about the future in-laws because if they're in a next door room, they'll hear every word you say about them! Plus don't forget to Sky+ your favourite TV shows as you won't be watching them in the room as there was no TV.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Is_once_enough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Rowton Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our wedding at Rowton Castle truely was a magical day.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the next day the whole staff team ensured we wanted for nothing! In particular when one of the bridesmaid's fake eyelash fell off a female member of staff went above and beyond her duty to phone a friend and ask her to drive over with some glue, She did!!!! It was trivial..yet they wanted to ensure everything ran smoothly for us.

Our master of ceremonies Gareth Winebloom was exceptional. He kept us informed throughout the day of what was happening and when, ensuring it was how we requested for everything to be i.e. from the table decor to when we cut the cake and had our first dance. He certainly is a credit to Rowton and many of our guests remarked how attentive he was, not only to our needs but to all of our family and friends!

The food was delicious. Our starter was a Warm Crispy Pastry Tartlet filled with Mixed Wild Mushrooms topped with a Soft Poached Egg spun with a duo of Tomato and Basil Dressings. Not the safest choice for a wedding but indeed a good one. It was hot and 'went down a treat.' The service throughout the wedding breakfast was excellent. The staff made sure our food was hot and the nine tables all ate at the same time. In the evening we chose the Hog Roast, again a good choice. The presentation of a full pig on display was certainly a talking point.

Credit must go to all the staff behind the scenes who made our wedding a day to remember! We would recommend Rowton to anyone who is looking for a beautiful venue!!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victorialilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We held our wedding at Rowton Castle in February, and we had a perfect day witch was largely due to the staff of this Hotel. From the Duty Manager to the glass collector, they literally could not do enough for us. The Function Suite was flexible for good or bad weather (luckily we were blessed with good weather), the staff were very attentive and helpful, the food was high quality and we loved our room, by the way they just spent a fortune on the first floor bedrooms, FANTASTIC!!!!! .

We booked out the hotel exclusive, and our friends (both those who stayed there and those who didn't) are still talking about what a great wedding it was.

The food was cooked to perfection and served with finesse (we were trying to suit 90 people), and the kitchen were very flexible and helpful in accommodating vegetarians, nut and lactose allergies and a handful of small children. We had bacon baps and chips later in the evening. What a treat!!!
The Hotel inside looks stunning very well kept, we loved the look and the feel of the place very classy. The honeymoon suite is stunning, with a Jacuzzi bath and plasma screen television???

The grounds are also lovely for photographs, especially the tree – cedar of Lebanon-(they told me the name).
I would say overall this place is a gem. Even if you do not stay here book a meal you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neneSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We attended a cousins wedding at Rowton Castle last week, and it was wonderful. Food and service were first class, the staff were very welcoming and attentive and we wanted for nothing. The whole day went without a hitch.

The function suite was lovely, there was about 80 of us and we were all in the one room. The gardens were beautiful; even our pictures came out great!

The disco in the evening was brilliant; what a great finish to their wedding day.

We were fortunate enough to stay over in a delightfully furnished Four Poster Room, and breakfast - both Full English and Continental was the perfect way to set ourselves up for the journey home.

We couldn't fault a thing and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

We were invited to a wedding at the Castle and were looking forward to it and the atmosphere we were expecting.
Sadly it did not come up to the standard I was expecting.
Lets look at the reasons.
Reception... I felt we were imposing on the staff's time and certainly one staff member was quite abrupt. There is no reason for this as there had been good , and plenty, of money paid.
Wedding... The room was fine and the wedding went off very well.
The time between wedding and reception was for Piccy's and what a lovely garden. Canapes , they were left on the side to grab as you wish, not delivered on a regular basis to the guests. Drinks were fine and not too expensive.
Reception.... The main room was fine, however some guests had to use a room with a double door into the main room and so when the speeches were on had to leave their tables and cram into the other room?m Not the best of situations.
Meal. Of course it was a set meal and the Main course ( lamb ) and dessert were fine . However the starter of Mushrooms and poached egg was cold? it seems to be a course that needs to be fine tuned to make it hot on arrival.
During the meal staff were being trained on how to move the cutlery etc. I do not expect to have staff training at my table.
Then the rooms were used by various people of the party. I think that is fine but there was not enough room for all the guests to be in one area and so this fragmentised the wedding.
I did not stay overnight and only have hearsay about the services and breakfast. Suffice it to say the general standard was still disappointing.
It is only once when they get wed and it does seem a pity that Rowton did not live up to expectations. The bride and groom enjoyed the day and so that is the main point.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

stayed here for a friends wedding and it was absolutely amazing!!! we stayed in a superior room, four poster bed, lush bathroom, really lovely. the wedding and reception were superb, really helpful staff, gorgeous food and a fantastic setting. if you have your wedding here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Just returned from my sister's wedding at Rowton Castle and it was a fantastic venue. The entire place was booked for the day and night and everthing went perfectly. The place looks stunning inside and out and the staff were very helpful and professional. They have a wedding here most days so they are very experienced and it showed. The food was very good and we really enjoyed the hog roast later in the evening. We were lucky enough to be staying in one of the 4 poster bed rooms and it was lovely. The decor was nice, a contrast of antique solid wood furniture and modern abstract artwork. The bathroom was very clean and modern and the shower was powerful. There was a great view of the countryside from the window. There are some further bedrooms in a seperate barn building but If there aren't enough for all of the guests I would recommend the Purple Hotel (previously called Sleep Inn) that is only 10 minutes drive away and good value. Our experience of Rowton Castle was trouble free and faultless, it really is an ideal venue for weddings.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TruerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
633 reviews
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
358 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range: £116 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing