We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class venue for a wedding”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
chirk
2 reviews
“First class venue for a wedding”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We have just had our daughter's wedding reception (exclusively) at Rowton Castle and
we can only praise the staff for a first class service. The food was exceptionally good. The setting was marvellous for photographs and the guests were able to relax in the gardens whilst waiting for the reception to begin and also during the evening. The rooms were very comfortable with all amenities. Last but not least the resident DJ Will Tudor was fantastic. Certainly knew how to get a party going. A definate must for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEPChirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    36
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
181
147
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We had our wedding at Rowton Castle in July this year. It was the best day of our lives. The staff, the location, food - everything was second to none. We had the best value for money and had exclusive use of the place for 24 hours. It was fabulous and all our guests could not praise it enough. If anyone is looking for the ideal location for a wedding then this is it. We travelled from Lancashire and it was well worth it. Everyone loved the whole day. The day was so special, thanks to all the staff. The made everyone feel really welcome and we felt that we could not have experienced anything like this anywhere else. We had 48 adults and 19 children with us. The children we aged between 2 and 12. They all had a brilliant time exploring the grounds. They had the freedom to run around all they wanted and we were able to take as many outdoor toys as we wanted. There were no limits which enabled everyone to have the time of their lives. Cant praise the place enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Rowton Castle Hotel following the wedding of our niece at this Hotel. Certainly as a wedding venue the hotel ticks most of the boxes. However the poor quality of food presented @ the wedding breakfast reduced the overall rating of the venue. The presence of dust and dirt in the bathroom of £120 + overnight stay attic bedroom and the provision of UHT milk as part of the refreshments also proved a disappointment. However the quality of inclusive breakfast was high and counterbalanced the disappointments stated above.

Helpful?
Thank Olivertwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed at Rowton for a friends wedding. Castle itself very cosy and seemed like we'd taken over someone's house for the weekend. Our room (20) was in dire need of redecoration - carpet and walls very stained/tired looking and bathroom even worse. However..... comfortable bed, good shower and very clean. Couldn't complain either, when the price was only £45 for the room (including a great full English breakfast) for two people!
As a wedding venue it was great, small enough to be intimate but large enough that you weren't tripping over people. Garden at back was lovely, and the staff were very good.
Wedding food again was very good - all in all, a great place to stay for this sort of occasion.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Director at Rowton Castle, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to place a constructive review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Rowton Castle.

I am delighted to be able to confirm that following on from our 1st Floor bedroom refurbishment of 2009, the 2nd floor bedroom refurbishment (which includes Room 20) was completed this January 2010. The bedrooms can be viewed via our website.

The entire castle has now been refurbished to an extremely high standard, and should you be able to visit us in the future you can rest assured you will not be disappointed.

I will pass on your very positive comments regarding the grounds, food and staff to our team here at Rowton Castle.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Bryan Cherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

A very impressive building set in beautiful grounds that are the perfect backdrop to a summer wedding. Rowton Castle can be described as the dream location for your special day, with rolling hills in the distance, you are spoilt for choice for picture opportunities.

The staff were very attentive, smart and helpful.

The banquet rooms were tastefully decorated however if you are having a wedding with over 60 guests you'll be split across two rooms, with large double doors that extend the space, not an issue but something to consider. The food was heavenly and served at the tables.

We checked into our room after canapes staying at the very top of the hotel in the turets, room 20. The room was adequete in size with a huge bed that dominated the room. However it was very hot in the room and the windows only opened partially. Also another niggle was the bathroom extractor fan - so noisy - and stayed on for a good 15 minutes after it was turned off. There are all the amenities you'd expect in a hotel of this standard in the room inc, tea coffee, tv, bottled water and toilettries. The bedrooms could do with a lick of paint and a bit of money spent on them.

Breakfast was very nice the following morning.

For £129 B&B for two people we thought it was overpriced if you were to stay for a short break however if staying for an occasion like a wedding then it was worth paying the extra to have a room to freshen up and save on a taxi at the end of the night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDangerMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We were there for a wedding service. Excellent service - you get the feeling that they may have done this wedding day stuff before! I go along with all the other reviews - you cannot knock the service or location etc. The rooms in the castle are of a high standard, however the room we were in, you were unable to open the any of the windows and were provided with an eletric fan. It was warm enough in April, I wouldn't be looking forward to a summer night in July or August. Also, is it us or is a 12.30 bar closure a bit early for a wedding? It is a shame that on a nice spring evening which we were lucky enough to have, that outside was where you went to smoke. Some patio heaters and ambient lighting would turn outside from a smokers venue to somewhere to sit with friends etc.
As you can see, if I'm having to mention the patio and lighting then they have already set the bar very high.
One other thing to mention is that we stayed one night at 'The Barnes' which is next door - a location I couldn't find on the site already. I don't know if this is associated to the Rowton Castle or not. However, you would probably only be staying here if you're are staying at the Castle either before or after a wedding, so it's fair to mention if you are, to pack some ear plugs as the walls are wafer thin and don't sit in your room and talk about the future in-laws because if they're in a next door room, they'll hear every word you say about them! Plus don't forget to Sky+ your favourite TV shows as you won't be watching them in the room as there was no TV.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Is_once_enough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our wedding at Rowton Castle truely was a magical day.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the next day the whole staff team ensured we wanted for nothing! In particular when one of the bridesmaid's fake eyelash fell off a female member of staff went above and beyond her duty to phone a friend and ask her to drive over with some glue, She did!!!! It was trivial..yet they wanted to ensure everything ran smoothly for us.

Our master of ceremonies Gareth Winebloom was exceptional. He kept us informed throughout the day of what was happening and when, ensuring it was how we requested for everything to be i.e. from the table decor to when we cut the cake and had our first dance. He certainly is a credit to Rowton and many of our guests remarked how attentive he was, not only to our needs but to all of our family and friends!

The food was delicious. Our starter was a Warm Crispy Pastry Tartlet filled with Mixed Wild Mushrooms topped with a Soft Poached Egg spun with a duo of Tomato and Basil Dressings. Not the safest choice for a wedding but indeed a good one. It was hot and 'went down a treat.' The service throughout the wedding breakfast was excellent. The staff made sure our food was hot and the nine tables all ate at the same time. In the evening we chose the Hog Roast, again a good choice. The presentation of a full pig on display was certainly a talking point.

Credit must go to all the staff behind the scenes who made our wedding a day to remember! We would recommend Rowton to anyone who is looking for a beautiful venue!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorialilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, UK - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing