We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our visit. It is an old building with beautiful architecture and a quiet surrounding community. The parking was key for us as we were driving throughout the country. The service was friendly, honest and funny. We had read about the slanted floors but it really isn't something that we found concerning. The "room" was exceptionally large with a beautiful bathroom, bedroom with lots of closets and a living room that was cozy. The technology was a little outdated but again not why we were staying. They do offer wifi but ours wouldn't always connect. We were at the end of the building so it's possible that we were far away from the router. It was a beautiful area and we had a wonderful time exploring the town of Huntly that was short walk away. The biggest con for us was the dinner menu. The food was not fresh and a lot seemed frozen. However, the whisky list is large and impressive. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    65
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
104
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After driving down the original long drive to the hotel...we were met by barrier stopping us going further.We eventually found our way via back entrance..B & B only.No lift to upper levels.Room had no electric iron and ironing board.Hair dryer (also had broken switch) for my wife must have came from the 1950s and the television was not much better.
There was a computer in the room along with a drawer off floppy discs.Again way out of date..I tried to get on to the hotels own website but gave up as a popup kept telling me I needed a new driver to view the website.I did however manage to check my emails..
Breakfast was pretty standard.Toast was soft and coffee was like instant.Staff were excellent and very polite.
I do realise the hotel has had some pretty good reviews but my wife and I would not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKENEBEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A lot of the issues in reviews from 12-18 months ago seem to have been sorted out. Service was impeccable, warm and friendly - food was excellent, room clean and comfy. Breakfast coffee is still turgid get a new machine! - but eggs benedict were great. Decent value for peak season. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Meal only. Fantastic relaxed meal with friends in front of the open fire in the bar. Interesting menu (if a little limited) and when the food arrived it was perfect. Service very good and we stayed on well after we finished eating. I live locally so I wasn't staying but would certainly recommend as no 1 in the area to anyone who wants a real feel of Scotland old style luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairilogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel was absolutely the best I stayed in during my trip in Scotland.

The room was really spacious and warm, the bed comfortable and there was a very good selection of teas. The view from the room was just amazing
Staff was really kind and attentive.

Breakfast is served in a room overlooking the garden which is lovely. Everything I had for breakfast was really delicious, both the buffet and the cooked meal.

Overall a great place that I would definitely recommend. I was only sorry we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galmpton, DEVON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel was part of our honeymoon to Scotland and was a wonderful friendly family run venture. They made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We are not whiskey drinkers but if you 'like a wee dram' then this will certainly fit the bill as their whiskey list was extensive! Food and service was second to none and the extra touches such as a hand printed map for our onward journey (thanks Andrew) was very much appreciated! We will definitely be back and would recommend a stay there anytime - thank you x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamGreasyHotlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I booked to have a night away at the Castle Hotel we were celebrating his birthday and our aniversary. What a hidden gem of a hotel. We booked a suite which was fantastic, lovely views overlooking the garden, huge bed, lounge area and large bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing, even though the hotel was catering for a big birthday party we still felt as thought they took the time to look after us too. Thanks to Stuart in the bar who made our evening very entertaining. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a suite - very good value for money and a little bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bognie Arms Hotel
Bognie Arms Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntly
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Property: Castle Hotel Huntly
Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing