We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend escape”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were gifted vouchers for this hotel as a wedding gift. We stayed in 4 poster room (no.18) - and we were very impressed with the room. Huge room, massive bed, fantastic views of the grounds. The staff were all so friendly. I especially liked that the owner came to greet everybody at dinner. Don't expect modern facilities - no hair dryer or iron in the room but I'm sure we could have got these from reception. The wifi wasn't great, but I was pleasantly surprised they had it at all. Food is good. A lovely little weekend escape.

Room Tip: Room 18 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    63
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
103
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel feels more like a large, well appointed, comfortable country house.The furnishings are beautiful as are the grounds. The service was first class and mine hosts were friendly and eager to please. We were made to feel very welcome and our custom valued. It was a miserable day outdoors but a roaring fire in the hall was most enticing.After a very tasty and well presented lunch we relaxed in comfort and decided that we would most certainly return asap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochaber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A wonderful hotel with spacious well-appointed rooms........and fantastic food in the restaurant. We were here for my father's funeral and the "Wake" was held in a private function room in the hotel with its own access to the gardens.
Just a shame about the reasons for our stay, but we would definately stay here again when we're next in the area.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, but it was a lovely 2-bedroomed suite. The hotel is in a very peaceful locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful unique old hotel in very well maintained building and grounds. Hosts were exceptionally friendly and helpful, both during arrival and at meals. Family room was very well designed. Excellent all around.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had not booked but when I arrived to enquire if there was a room available, I was given a warm welcome and a room was found. Delightful old house,excellent family management, good meals and lovely garden and views made it a memorable stay. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area; the remains of a historic castle, the town of Huntly, seat of the Gordon clan; fine rivers to fish, and beautiful countryside to walk in and just enjoy

Room Tip: Because of the situation, the rooms all have interesting country views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301LizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited again last night for Father's Day and were not disappointed. We chose to have steak with sauces and all the usual trimmings and each and everyone one of us thought our food delicious. For desert we all opted to have the sticky toffee pudding and again really enjoyed it. Lovely place and friendly staff. Will be returning soon to try their "last Sunday of the month buffet" - seemingly you have to book for this - always a good sign.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My partner and I have just came back from staying at Castle Huntly, we have stayed many times before and always find the staff, accommodation and food great. I decided to write a review this time as I have read previous reviews recently and thought they were not appropriate or accurate. We have found the Castle to be a wonderful hotel with fantastic surroundings, we always stay in the ground floor suite, which we highly recommend it is like having your very own house, it is a bit more expensive but definately worth it with a four poster bed and lovely flame fire and comfy couches. The food is seasonal and very good, my favourite is the venison which is superb, steaks are always cooked to your liking and piping hot plenty on the plate for an A La Carte menu.

The area is great as there is so much to do if you are interested in Castles, Whisky, fantastic coastal and forest walks etc.

We had a great weekend, thanks to Stuart and Lucy who are lovely and always look after us so well.

See you all again soon.

Room Tip: Any of the 2 Suites, the one upstairs has a bigger bathroom, the one downstairs you have your own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyCrookston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Property: Castle Hotel Huntly
Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing