We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beyond five star b&b !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denhead Steading B&B
Ranked #4 of 9 Huntly B&B and Inns
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A beyond five star b&b !”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked two rooms at Denhead Steading, and we not disappointed !! Quite possibly the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in !! When we arrived in the evening we were kindly given fresh pots of tea and coffee with lovely shortbread served in the relaxing lounge in front of a gorgeous fire and accompanied with some great Scottish music on the cd player - a fabulous all round welcome.
Our bedrooms were extremely well appointed, very comfortable beds, ensuite bathrooms with a very powerful and hot shower.
In the morning we were treated to a superb breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, and then a cooked breakfast with each of us able to choose what we wanted. Sue, the owner, really did everything possible to make us welcome. The only sad part was being able to stay for a single night only on this occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redimp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We had a room reserved and confirmed for one night but when we arrived at 8pm to the guest house there were no rooms for us because the reserve had been changed for the next day without any mail or phone call in that sense.

We had to look for another place to sleep and it was impossible to enjoy our trip without worries about the rest of reservations that we had made.

We are so sorry but this has been our experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked Denhead Steading very last minute for a three night getaway. We wanted a remote spot and that is definatly what we got! After travelling all evening we struggled to find our way in on the dark roads but several phone calls to Sue helping with directions, coupled with her husband coming to meet us in their car ensured we arrived safely! How lovely! Even though it was nearly 11pm, it wasnt too much trouble for Sue to make us fresh coffee. The room was great, we had booked the family room and we had sole use of the large bathroom next door. Very comfy beds, everything that you could need. Breakfasts were amazing, lots of choice and it was so lovely of Sue to make my 4 year old son his own mini cooked breakfast, already cut up and cooled! It seems from reading previous reviews that it is this attention to indivduals needs that makes the Denhead stand out. Would definatly recommed to family and friends and anyone else wanting a quiet stay with 5* service,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our normal place of residence on trips to this side of Scotland was being refurbished, so I looked around for a reasonable standin. Well what I found was more than reasonable! Everything that is rated about a B+B gets 5/5. Location, comfort, food, host's, value etc. Enjoying the first rate fresh produce in the breakfast room whilst looking out over the lovely views was an excellant start to the day. Then having Sue greet us on our return late at night with a jug of fresh milk and a carafe of iced water was such a lovely thoughtful touch. I cannot recomend Sue and Phil enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

While planning a trip to Northern Scotland husband and I figured we'd treat ourselves to one evening at somewhere other than a cheap hostel... stumbled across this on Private House Stays and booked ourselves a room. We picked the right place to treat ourselves! This place is way off the beaten path but still easy to access as long as you follow the directions. Beautiful surroundings and such a lovely house. The hosts, Sue and Phil, were wonderfully hospitable and it's apparent that they truly enjoy running a bed & breakfast. Once we got comfortably settled in our beautiful room, we went down to a sitting room where there was a fire burning and hot tea and shortbread waiting for us... that plus our books = perfect holiday retreat! No one else was staying there at the time so had the place to ourselves. Slept well and had a fantastic full hot breakfast the next morning, everything tasted phenomenal. Loved our stay here and wished we had booked more than one night. Would definitely recommend to anyone who loves a good B & B experience.

Room Tip: Had the lovely double room at the far end of the house, there's a nice ensuite bathroom in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Denhead Steading is an extraordinary B&B located literally in the middle of nowhere – among the plains of Scottish Highlands where concrete roads are hardly known to the local people ;) The owners really go an extra mile to cater to the needs of their guests – upon arrival we were greeted by Sue, the lady of the house, who welcomed us with tea, coffee and shortbread cookies. It was quite late and we were still before dinner, thus she called a local pub and asked them to stay open late for us. There is a fireplace room for the guests with wide choice of books, games and some good alcohol to have a sip, including Sue’s home made yummy plum wine. When we returned from the dinner we were surprised to find an extra whisky bottle and a bottle of vodka from our country – what a nice touch! The breakfast was served in a lovely dining room with a view to the fields and was absolutely delicious. We felt really special and didn’t feel like leaving and proceeding with our trip at all! We all hope to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I truly stumbled onto B&B searching net. Outstanding quality value, fair rates. Newly built home, very large & lovely; sweeping views of Aberdeenshire countryside. A farm setting, no traffic noise. Well appointed & gracious lounge,dinning room, hardwood floors, beautifuly decorated ground floor, not stuffy or delicate, an ideal home to be snow-bound for days! 2 spacious ensuite guest rooms up wide carpeted stairs another lounge space dividing room. TV, tea making, sparkling clean. I missed having a chair to sit on; lighting is very good day or night. The hosts are gracious & willing to provide, breakfast was excellent. The website offers abundant information on the area.

  • Liked — Surroundings, ideal base to explore region
  • Disliked — I missed having a comfy chair in my room & suffer from hard beds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Huntly
Castle Hotel Huntly
#1 of 3 in Huntly
280 reviews
10.4 mi away
Drumdelgie House
Drumdelgie House
#1 of 9 in Huntly
36 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bognie Arms Hotel
Bognie Arms Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntly
38 reviews
8.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 2 in Aberchirder
52 reviews
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Highlander Bunkhouse
#3 of 3 in Huntly
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denhead Steading B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denhead Steading B&B

Property: Denhead Steading B&B
Address: Ythanwells, Huntly AB54 6BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are just passing through or staying longer we welcome you to Denhead Steading set amidst two acres of garden ground surrounded by Aberdeenshire farmland. We would like to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Denhead Steading has two en-suite bedrooms and a family bedroom with private bathroom. All rooms have a television with DVD, hospitality tray and safe deposit box. There is an iron and ironing board upon request. A guest lounge and open fire and free wi-fi is available throughout the house. There is ample off road parking and lock up facilities for bikes if required. We are situated halfway between the historic towns of Huntly and Inverurie in the Northeast of Scotland. There is easy road access from the A96 for guests who drive. The airports of Aberdeen and Inverness are respectively 45 and 90 minutes away by car. Trains run regularly from Aberdeen to Inverness with stops at Inverurie, Insch and Huntly where local car hire services can be arranged. Ideal for walkers, photographers or just sightseeing . Fancy a spot of fishing, there is the River Deveron or Loch Insch Fishery which has three lochs, providing trout fishing. Or for the more adventurous there is the Nordic Ski Slope in Huntly. Come and explore and follow our beautiful coastline (165 miles of it!!) which boasts spectacular cliffs, pretty coves, empty beaches and old fishing towns. Castle Trail - There are over 300 castles to choose from! Many within an hour's drive from Denhead. From spectacular, fairy-tale, romantic or Royal splendour to ruins. Slains Castle known as Dracula's Castle (at present declared unsafe to go round but can be seen easily from the roadside) is believed to be the author Bram Stoker's inspiration for his famous novel Dracula, it is believed early drafts had Dracula coming ashore at nearby Cruden Bay! Or perhaps the beauty of Fyvie Castle with its 13th century beginnings to the grandeur of its Edwardian interiors, well-manicured gardens and tea room. This is just a few, please feel free to ask for more information on the whereabouts of other castles and I will endeavour to help. Distilleries too numerous to note! Glendronach being the closest to us approximately 10 mins away has superb tours and was one of the first licenced distilleries in Scotland and was one of the last to heat the stills by coal fires. Garioch Distillery half an hour away which is one of the oldest operating distillieries in Scotland and Glenfiddich Distillery about 40 minutes away, a family run distillery for generations. Please feel free to ask for further information. There is a local pub and a restaurant which serves wholesome food 15 mins away, I would be glad to book and make reservations for you. There are numerous eateries in the various towns, again I would be only too happy to advise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denhead Steading B&B Huntly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing