We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in a small Swabian town”
Review of Roter Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roter Ochsen
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellwangen
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ellwangen is slightly off the main tourist trail (thank God) but very close to the A7 Autobahn. I discovered it and the Roter Ochsen many years ago on the way from Italy to Northern Germany. On my most recent visit, I noticed many changes, including a pedestrianised town centre which makes for a very pleasant and relaxing environment.
Ellwangen was and is a major episcopal seat; the prince bishops were very powerful in Swabia and the town retains many splendid ecclesiastical buildings.
The family-owned Roter Ochsen Hotel is central, its front door leading right to the pedestrianised town centre. The main building is hundreds of years old but a new modern extension has been built at the rear, with an underground car park. Our room was in the new building, spacious and well-appointed and spotlessly clean. An ample breakfast was served in the main building, with hot and cold choices. Some patrons were clearly businessmen but there were also private (mostly) German guests, for the weekend.
I can recommend both Ellwangen and the Roter Ochsen. We had our bicycles with us and there is plenty of choice for good cycling routes in the area, often with challenging hills. In May, the area was fairly quiet. Ellwangen is also a good base for other regional sights, such as the Porsche and Mercedes museums in Stuttgart, the medieval town of Dinkelsbuhl and the Swabian Alps.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found this hotel thru the Flair Hotel book which is an association of hotel/breweries. The hotel itself is average and a bit tattered at the edges. The evening we stayed the temperatures have been in the 90s and the hotel lacks air conditioning. This was a bit uncomfortable from my American perspective. We sated on a Monday and the restaurant was closed. Apparently the brewery is in another location. The breakfast was included in the reasonable room price. The hotel lacked the wow factor, but the location is great. It sits at the end of the a 4-5 block pedestrian only shopping/restaurant city center area. The buildings are well-maintained and in use with some dating back to 1300. The area seemed as if it was used more by the locals as opposed to a tourist destination. The area had many walking trails which highlighted a number of beautiful homes. Adjacent to the city is a castle and a monastery both worth a visit. Ellwangen was a pleasant surprise. If I traveled to Ellwangen again, I'd try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our second visit to this place didn´t disappoint us.
In the middle of town with a private garage has a
feeling of welcome all over it.
It is the kind of hotel where you can easily stay for
a few nights while exploring Ellwangen and the area around.
The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and pleasant
and there is very little outside noice.
Also, the restaurant serves good mainly traditional food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I spent here 4 nights for business in June, 2012.
I had a double room which was very big, clean and comfortable. It did not have brand new furniture nor fridge or kettle, but there was a big wardrobe, a roomy bathroom and a "living-space corner".
The entrance to the rooms is through a very pleasant sort of living room with glazed ceiling, where an internet hot spot could be used. It was a very nice place for waiting for other people in the morning.
Breakfast was very good: not too much choice, but good quality.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the city centre so all the rooms are quiet. I think all the rooms are almost the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of town, with its own garage.
The lady who owns the hotel is very present and pleasant.
The room, actually a suite, on the top floor was spacious and well kept,
with a huge magnificent bathroom.
The interior of the hotel is very original and nice.
If you use the hotel for your dinner - which you should - avoid the formal dining room
and choose the more pub-like room instead.
Full of character and characters....
In all Roter Ochsen is a place where you could easily enjoy more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Roter Ochsen, the historic gasthof associated with Roter Ochsen Brewery in the small south German town of Ellwangen, is a truly charming place to make your base on a visit to many historic and picturesque places, including Nordlingen, Dinkelsbuhl, Rothenburg and Ulm. A family-run gasthof, we received a warm welcome. It is beautifully decorated in traditional South German style, yet still manages to maintain an overall air of elegance rather than some of the more twee touches you'll find in other places. The rooms, including the bathrooms, are spacious and well-designed. Beds are comfortable and large - German-style, so there's a division in the middle of double beds and an individual quilt for each person sleeping there. The restaurant serves excellent, hearty, South German fare including local specialities such as wild boar & venison, all served with the Schwabisch noodle called spaetzle. My husband really enjoyed a Christmas specialty of lebkuchen (gingerbread) ice-cream and cherries marinated in gluhwein. It looked amazing. Lots of townspeople were eating there on the night we ate in, and the cosy room had a great buzz. Under-cover parking is available and it's a short and scenic drive to many of the Romantischestrasse towns such as Rothenburg and Dinkelsbuhl. It's a nice alternative to stay here - quieter - and the town itself is very pretty with a castle on one hill and a pilgrimage church on another. Definitely recommend this hotel as worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCN_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Familie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ellwangen hotels
2.2 mi away
Klozbuecher - Das Landhotel
2 mi away
Montana Hotel Ellwangen
Montana Hotel Ellwangen
#1 of 6 in Ellwangen
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konigin Olga
Hotel Konigin Olga
#2 of 6 in Ellwangen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
No photo provided
Haus Schoenenberg
#6 of 6 in Ellwangen
4 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landgasthof Hirsch
Landgasthof Hirsch
#1 of 5 in Ellwangen
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Stadthotel Germania
#5 of 6 in Ellwangen
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roter Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roter Ochsen

Address: Schmiedstr. 16, 73479 Ellwangen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ellwangen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellwangen
Price Range: £85 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roter Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Roter Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing