We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location for Match Day!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trafford Hall Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Location for Match Day!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in this Hotel as we were watching a MAN U match in Old Trafford and its the closest. They are particular about the check in time but we could keep our luggage at the reception area.

The Hotel is Old but the rooms are big, comfortable and clean. Tea/Coffee facility is also there. At night you need to enter through the Bar of the Hotel as the reception closes.

Big Downside was no Wifi in room. Its only in the reception area. But still a good Hotel to stay for Match Days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamalpreet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    100
    83
    51
    81
See reviews for
52
113
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Cometely horrific,
Imagine the worst hotel in the world you have ever been in and you are halfway there. I arrived after a long day at work and a 2hr journey to find the reception closed and a bar full of degenerate men! The hotel is like something out of the psycho movie, no hair dryer (my partner had specifically asked about this) as it was in a locked cupboard along with the iron and ironing board! I advised the hotel staff member I needed to freshen up but there was nothing he could do as he didn't have a key to the said cupboard? The hotel smell of foist - the room we got was not the advertised room and you could not lock the door from the outside- you only got 4 milk jiggers towels were rubbish thin and there was a sign asking for us to re-use to save on water and laundry!!! Holes in the sofa shower hanging off the wall and to be honest it was a waste of time trying to shower as it went from burning hot to freezing cold with no water force at all. My partner had no sleep as the bed was so cheap and nasty that it have bad backache so it was more comfortable sitting on the loo!!! We left at 08.15 and couldn't wait to get out! What a nightmare experience one we will never repeat !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here with my little boy we visited legoland Trafford And on to Old Traffords Tour ideal location.. Staff lovely and very friendly hotel tired but painting in progress signs showed hope! Clearly in need of a facelift! Sheets clean bath and toilet clean..taps,plug holes,skirting boards, kettle,plug sockets (all the things lads on a futty trip wouldn't notice!) grubby i felt it was 'surface clean' however my little boy loved the treat in a hotel and that's all i wanted..overall not a bad hotel, needs a bit of money spent on it and possibly a better cleaner! Or she/he needs more time to pay attention to detail!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadecant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

One Word: DUMP!!!! Do not stay at this hotel, it is a cold, dirty, ran down hotel. Double room very very tiny, hadn't room to move the bed or anything. Nothing like it in the pictures. Please don't be fooled by the pics. Will defintely not be returning to this hotel ever again

Room Tip: None of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were looking to stay one night in Manchester at short notice as cheaply as possible. I guess we succeeded but what an awful place. The two lads running it were really friendly and helpful and breakfast was good but the hotel itself is a dump. I guess I was taken in by the number of people saying they would stay again on the laterooms site.
Cold, shabby and dirty. If you're a group of lads up for the football, I'm sure it would be ideal, otherwise don't be tempted by the price and please don't bother.

Room Tip: If you're daft enough to stay here, avoid room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbmrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have used this hotel 3 times. It's an isolated building in the middle of an industrial area, not great if you need to go on public transport, but ok if you have a car. The typical run down place where you may sleep for £30 in the outskirts of Manchester.

The first night, mid November, it was freezing cold, no bother to switch on the heating, the second unremarkable but the third...

Room 21,upstairs on the right hand side. Heating was on for once, this is January and has been snowing tonight. At 7 am a terrible noise wakes me up, something like a wind turbine. The room feels like the an air plane by the engine of a jumbo jet. I call reception and I am told it is the wind. I look through the window and there is a calm narrow interior patio. There is no wind here, it sounds like an engine, and he says errr, it must be the extractor of the kitchen. So what time does if finish? At 9 am. No apologies. so I lye there, screwed in the small bed, having to decide if to put up with that horrible noise for an hour more or face the snow and wait one hour in the car until I can go and meet the people I came to meet.

On the check out, a very rude individual picks the key. I ask for the complaints book, and he says they have never had a complaint, and that THERE IS NO COMPLAINTS BOOK!!

This is not a case of an accident, an unexpected noisy stag party or similar, it is a daily preventable situation in which they rip off clients by exposing them to unacceptable levels of noise.

Unless you are deaf, stay away.

Room Tip: Do not ever book rooms 21 or 22. It is quieter in the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here with two grown up sons. It was a last minute booking influenced chiefly by proximity to where we needed to be.
We had two rooms, my single and their double.The hotel is described by a previous reviewer as "tired". Mine was exhausted. and seriously needing refurbishment. I would not stay in it again. The other room, however, had been freshened up and was really quite nice. I used the shower in it as I simply could not adjust the aged, poorly repaired version in my room.
We were advised on arrival that there would be a party downstairs until 5.00 am and that we had been moved to the front of the build away from the noise. Unfortunately that placed me directly above the outside entrance to the bar where the smokers came out throughout the night to converse in ever louder voices.
The hotel advertises 24 hour Reception. It doesn't add that Reception is nomadic and is most often to be found behind the bar downstairs. Meaning, among other things, that the Main Entrance is locked for long periods and you have to progress to your room via the bar collecting your key on the way.
Another distinct oddity was the lack of Housekeeping on a Sunday. In years of travelling very extensively throughout Europe and worldwide I have never before encountered arrangements such as these last two.
It would only be fair and correct to acknowledge that the cost of our rooms was very modest and the larger was very decent value for money. However certain minimal expectations remain reasonable in any paid for accommodation viz. an open welcoming Front Door and daily housekeeping.
All the members of staff we met were thoroughly pleasant and I would want to add that painting was going on elsewhere in the hotel. So the Trafford Hall may be on the way to being the kind of hotel it could be.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnydiScozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraffordHallHotel, Front Office Manager at Trafford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback, we are currently in the process of re decoration throughout the hotel, we are sorry you were unable to use the shower in your room, should you have identified this to a member of our team, we would have been happy to help. As we are only a small privately owned hotel, it is more practical to run reception from the bar area in the evening, but we are open to feedback and if this is inconvenient for our guests, we would of course review this matter.
unfortunately we were unaware of your disappointment with regard to noise from the function downstairs, again if you had advised a member of our staff, it may have been possible for us to move you to another room.

We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and we hope your experience did reflect this. we have noted your comments and strive to ensure feedback from our guests is acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Hall Hotel

Property: Trafford Hall Hotel
Address: 23 Talbot Road | Old Trafford, Trafford M16 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trafford Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*******PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING EXTENSIVE IMPROVEMENTS/RENOVATIONS WITHIN THE HOTEL, SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY QUERIES REGARDING THIS, PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT THE HOTEL DIRECT - *** WE OFFER A MATCH DAY THEMED ROOM INCLUDING 2 MATCH TICKETS- ASK FOR AVAILABILITY*** Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can count on us to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy the comfort of one of our 30 En-suite Bedrooms each equipped with remote control TV. We are ideally located for all sporting events just minutes walk from both Old Trafford Stadium and Lancashire County Cricket Club. Local attractions include Manchester United Football Stadium, Lancashire County Cricket Club, Manchester International Airport, The Trafford Centre, Salford Quays, The Lowry Centre and Artworks, The Imperial War Museum, MOSI (museum of science and industry), GMex Exhibition Centre, MEN Apollo theatres, Daytona Go-Karting and Sale Water Park. Trafford Bar Metrolink Station located approx. 50 Yards from the hotel provides an excellent transport link to explore the city centre and Manchester train stations. For breakfast, we offer either Continental or Full English which can be booked online with your room. Please note: Any bookings over 5 rooms requires full prepayment at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trafford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Hall Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing