We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to control their guests”
Review of Old Trafford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Trafford Lodge
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Need to control their guests”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Ive stayed here many,many times and love the place, but on this last occasion having to put up with children running around at 1:00 playing touch, it was more like a youth hostel!! In fact the person responsible for the group also decided to start shouting and pulling kids at of one room into another!! Phoned down to reception, but nothing was done...

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hadital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Manager at Old Trafford Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We would like to apologise for the trouble some other guests caused you during your stay, our night staff did call the rooms on the occasions where he received a complaint and we were under the impression this had resolved the situation. We do regularly patrol the corridors through the night to try and ensure we capture any disruption as quickly as possible. We can only apologise for the disturbance and assure you that we did everything we could to settle the group down.

Kind regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    195
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
57
187
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Up North, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

What better way to watch international cricket? On your own balcony, immediately outside the bedroom. With ready access to wine, food, and without much in the way of Mexican waves or even drunks.
The staff are fine.
Restaurant service is rather spartan; we suppose that guests are not really there for the food.

Room Tip: The higher levels, and not too close to the cricket pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Me and my fiancée stayed here the night before the greater Manchester Marathon. From the off, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and even printed out directions to the start line and Marathon village. The room was clean and good value for money, and the view across Old Trafford cricket pitch, whilst still a building site, was great! But, most especially, I want to thank the staff the next day - the weather had been atrocious and both myself and my partner suffered terribly with the cold during the marathon. We'd checked out long before and had been allowed to keep our car in the car park, but we were both clearly unable to drive straight away - Never mind said the staff, and then let us warm up inside and filled us both with coffee next to the radiators! Above and beyond the call of duty, and very much appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SdemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed for one night after supporting our son in the 2012 Manchester marathon. We had a double room on the first floor and it was clean and comfortable. Best night's sleep for some time (even at home!)
Free wi-fi, flat screen tv (with sky sports, much to my husband's delight!) and being able to adjust the room temperature was good.
The staff were so helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble, and a recommendation about where to eat at night was absolutely spot on!
Loved our stay and if we ever go back to Manchester we'd stay at the Old Trafford Lodge again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for Manchester Marathon, along with a great many others it seems, which may have helped make it nice & quiet as everyone went for early nights! Breakfast started at 7am, not bad for a Sunday and early enough for us marathoners. Found it more than adequate, billed as "continental" but much more than croissant & cup of tea.

Found first lady at check-in (American?) polite but not uber-helpful; we wanted to leave car beyond 11am check-out (just till 1pm) but she suggested we talk to bloke in booth & pay £3. Asked for a quiet room but she said it was fully-booked so had no choice. Lady the next day was brilliant, letting marathoners change in the office and couldn't be more helpful.

Rooms were fine - TVs a bit confusing, would have liked some biscuits on the tea/coffee tray but then I'm a greedy runner. Picked one of the "exec" balcony rooms & quite some panaroma onto Old Trafford cricket pitch.

If you're staying here for the marathon, it's very near the Expo, very near the start, but a fair walk (a mile?) from the finish, so if you were going to drop your bag at the baggage area, you'd have done 2 miles before you started. Then again - the baggage collection was beyond fiasco so by chance, leaving bag in car was the right option this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here to watch Lancashire play cricket, and booked a room overlooking the pitch, which is basically like having your own executive box!
The room was comfortable, clean and reasonably modern. The view for the cricket is amazing, though you also get the wristband to allow you to go into the stands if you so wish.
Breakfast is good, a choice of cereals, breads, croissants, etc etc. Basically good standard continental.
Parking is free and secure. There is no restaurant for an evening meal, but the reception have a pile of take away menus if you want to order in, which is great after a day sat in the sun and a few beers, you don't have to go looking for a restaurant. We ordered Indian, which was there in a flash and great value. I can't think of the name of the place though... If i remember i'll add it later.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this as a last minute deal and paid £39 for a Friday night. We paid a little extra to stay in the executive room as this has a small balcony which overlooks the cricket ground.The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.The wardrobes were very narrow and didn't have a lot of hanging space which didn't matter to us as we were only staying overnight.
We didn't have any tea/coffee making facilities which we didn't question as we didn't know if these should have been available.
We had free wifi , a wall mounted flat screen TV with freeview channels and also some sky channels.
The bed was very comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the corridors or adjoining rooms.
The car park was secure as it has a manned barrier.
Continental breakfast was included and is buffet style and consisted of a wide choice of cereals, croissants, toast, cheese, ham, tomatoes, fruit juices , tea/coffee, jams/marmalade.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant so we chose to eat at TGI Fridays in nearby Sale approx 5-10 mins drive.Very nice!!!
The staff that we met at the hotel were all very pleasant, courteous and helpful.
We will definitely be planning another overnight stay.
The only negative is the close proximity to Manchester Uniteds football ground but thats only because we are Man City fans!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to stay in an executive room with views over the cricket ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diddlyd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.3 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trafford Hall Hotel
Trafford Hall Hotel
#15 of 16 in Trafford
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Trafford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trafford Lodge

Property: Old Trafford Lodge
Address: LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Trafford
#5 Family Hotel in Trafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Trafford Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trafford Lodge in ideally located in the Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the Metro link providing easy access to the City centre and the Salford Quays. With 36 Executive bedrooms overlooking the famous Old Trafford pitch, where else can you relax on your own balcony at the end of your working day and enjoy the unique experience of watching County Cricket from your bedroom window? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Trafford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Old Hotel Trafford
Old Trafford Lodge Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing