We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Trafford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Trafford Lodge
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Stay with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 2nights as I was attending a Charity Ball next door at The Point. The check-in was quick wit a very cheerful girl, who phoned and got a price for me for a taxi from the airport for friends of mine who were arriving from Germany the next morning. I was in room 26 which over-looked the cricket ground with a balcony, not much good on a Dark Thursday night though but I wasn't too bothered! The room itself was large and very clean. The bathroom too was clean too and the addition of shampoo ad shower gel was a bonus. The bed is a firm mattress, not what I'm used to, but I still found it comfy and had a good nights to sleep. breakfast on the Friday morning was fine, I'm not a big eater of breakfast so had a croissant, which was fine. With the Tram stop just behind the hotel, its handy for quick access to the city centre, and you can be there in 15min.
On the Friday nigh after leaving the ball next door, many of us moved to the hotel bar for a few drinks, the bar was mobbed as I think every one who was at the ball and staying at hotel wanted a drink. Full marks to the night porter Malcolm who was great with us, and had a good old banter with us too.
The next morning myself and my German friend went down for breakfast at about 9am only to find the breakfast area packed with no free tables. We had to grab or breakfast and sit on sofa like seats at the other end of reception. This is the only reason I haven't given this hotel 5stars as I think this was unacceptable, ok the hotel couldn't do anything about the breakfast area being busy and everyone wanting breakfast at the same time, but be warned, if staying at a busy time, breakfast area is tiny so you may need to either sit where we had to sit or take your breakfast back to your room!

Room Tip: if you can afford to, book an executive room with balcony as they are worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xscotslassx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    195
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
57
187
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed one night in executive room 29. Had a balcony room overlooking the cricket ground. This room has a restricted view of the cricket from the balcony, missing about 10% of the field, so if going especially to watch the cricket make sure where your room is situated to be able to view the whole ground.

Friendly staff, clean room with comfy bed, tea making facilities, TV , ironing board etc.

Good bathroom with an excellent Gainsborough shower and with shower gel provided.

Breakfast was more continental with ham,cheese etc but no hot cooked breakfast. Was adequate though and what I had was very nice.

Bar area where we enjoyed a few drinks.

Easy parking when I went , but wouldn't be on match days.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have balconies and overlook cricket ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night, room was tired but had a big balcony overlooking the cricket ground, which is a great area if your a smoker. It was a very comfortable stay.
Breakfast is only continental but that's fine for me.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Memma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Clean modern room with balcony overlooking cricket pitch. Ideal short stay budget hotel. The £44 inc breakfast for two was excellent value. No safe in room was disappointing. Only a couple of minutes walk to metro station for travel into Manchester. Would recommend for a one or two night stay.

Room Tip: pitch view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed one night in October 2013. Reception was efficient on arrival.
Room was 'executive' looking into the cricket ground. On first appearance room was OK but on further inspection the bed cover had blood spots although the duvet cover and sheets were clean. Shower doors were in poor repair - needed new rubber seals, ceiling tile in bathroom was cracked. Towels were old and not very white or fluffy. Bed proved to be very hard - so not a good nights sleep.
On the positive the TV and channels were good and the free internet access a bonus. Continental breakfast served in the bar area was satisfactory. Self service toast, tea/coffee but kept clean and topped up. Location good and free car parking.
Overall the £ 70 was a high price to pay for an OK room. Had hoped for better.

Room Tip: Not sure the extra £ 10 was worth it for a room with the cricket pitch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U K
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

was working in the Manchester area looked at its past reviews and thought give it a go. Well very happy with the staff room view over the pitch. it must cost more to stay when a match is on cricket/football as united's ground is less than 1 mile away. But all in all for an over night stay for the price we payed with breakfast included you cant go wrong. sure saved driving all the way home on a sunday night to drive back up early monday morning to work in Liverpool. If my jobs work out like that again i would be happy to stay at the old trafford lodge. Also a nice touch in reception to have take out menus for local restaurants to deliver in

Room Tip: go for a balcony room overlooking the pitch great idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpunkradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Old Trafford Lodge overlooks the cricket pitch which would be a cool place to watch a match. Very well located (short walk) to catch a Manchester United game as well! Our room was small but clean. You'll need to enjoy a firm bed to sleep well. Breakfast is included, which is always a nice touch. Plenty of choice on cereal but limited otherwise. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Trafford Hall Hotel
Trafford Hall Hotel
#14 of 16 in Trafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Trafford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trafford Lodge

Property: Old Trafford Lodge
Address: LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Trafford
#5 Family Hotel in Trafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Trafford Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trafford Lodge in ideally located in the Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the Metro link providing easy access to the City centre and the Salford Quays. With 36 Executive bedrooms overlooking the famous Old Trafford pitch, where else can you relax on your own balcony at the end of your working day and enjoy the unique experience of watching County Cricket from your bedroom window? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Trafford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Old Hotel Trafford
Old Trafford Lodge Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing