We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems a bit tired”
Review of Old Trafford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Trafford Lodge
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seems a bit tired”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

on arrival parking and entrance is quite impressive. Reception is small and wasnt the most helpful when we arrived which was around 8pm, no real restaurant just a bar offering snacks or pizza, we did have a room facing the cricket ground with a balcony which was impressive, however the room itself was quite dated, the wifi didnt work very well. The shower in my room didnt work at all not hot water what so ever, when I spoke to the receptionist in the morning they did offer to let me try another room to shower, however had already had a cold on and was ready for work. No offer of a refund or discount. Breakfast was also very limited and there isnt much space. I wouldnt recommend this hotel if planning on spending any time in the room or hotel, for us like I said we turned up after 8pm and was out again by 8am so ideal for just sleeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cricket pitch, the car park and main road at the front are not the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotrowski1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    195
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
57
187
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Negative Points
Debit card left in suitcase - details stolen and used! Manager unconcerned and unapologetic.
Cricket ground being updated so lots of noise/dust from the work under taken
Make sure you ask for a view of the cricket ground not the car park
Rooms need updating and deep cleaning.
TV remote controls did not work
Some Plus points
Comfortable & Spacious rooms
Nice breakfast laid on
Secured car park
Handy location for metro link tram to take you into the centre

Room Tip: Get a room with view of cricket ground not facing the car park and noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboyslimfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The handle for the balcony was loose, the glass for the shower was loose and coming away from the seal in addition to the shower popping open. I reported this to a member of staff when I arrived who said OK. The next morning I was asked "how was my stay" I informed them that my sleep was disturbed by others in the corridor and also due to hard pillows and bed, the state of the room and the issues I previously reported and the reply was "OK" there was no apology. I paid for the executive suite but it was basic and not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayneb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Quite possibly the best continental breakfast buffet out there and the staff did everything to make sure you enjoy it .the sliced ham and cheese were excellent along with fresh basket of breads and real ground coffee Good hotel no complaints at all. Quality towels and toiletries comfy deep mattresses flat screen TV and hospitality tray

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here last year in April or May for a football match at Old Trafford and the location is perfect. Not a far walk at all. Hotel room was clean and comfortable. We had a view of the cricket ground which was lovely. Bar is great and you can order a takeaway and eat it in the seating area. Breakfast was ok, just what you needed really. Would stay here again when visiting Manchester.

Room Tip: as for a room with a view of the cricket ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great Value budget hotel situated within the Old Trafford Cricket Stadium, and only 10 minutes walk to Old Trafford Football Ground.

Stayed here for an event at the Point within the Cricket Ground, so very handy. 2 Minutes walk from Old Trafford Tram stop, which alights at the other side of the Ground. 15 minutes by Tram from the City Centre (Altincham Trams).

£59 for the night including a buffet breakfast - Breakfast OK, a little more range would not have hurt!

You can pay a little extra and get an executive room with a balcony overlooking the pitch.

Rooms supposed to be non smoking but a strong smell of stake cigarette smoke in the corridors!

Rooms clean and fresh. Shower good , but restrictor placed on the height which made it a little awkward for those of us 6ft and more!

Overall a great budget hotel, and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get a room with a view of the pitch and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albaman1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We always used to stay at this Hotel when United were playing at home, sadly now they never seem to be available. The executive rooms are really nice and worth the extra £5. Free continental breakfast in the morning with an option of cereal too. However NEVER EVER buy their beer from the shutters outside. £15 for 4 pints of what was supposed to be Fosters (more like dettol or something & they never offered a refund even though we complained)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.3 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trafford Hall Hotel
Trafford Hall Hotel
#15 of 16 in Trafford
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Trafford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trafford Lodge

Property: Old Trafford Lodge
Address: LCCC Talbot Road | (at Lancashire County Cricket Club), Trafford M16 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Trafford
#5 Family Hotel in Trafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Trafford Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trafford Lodge in ideally located in the Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the Metro link providing easy access to the City centre and the Salford Quays. With 36 Executive bedrooms overlooking the famous Old Trafford pitch, where else can you relax on your own balcony at the end of your working day and enjoy the unique experience of watching County Cricket from your bedroom window? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Trafford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Old Hotel Trafford
Old Trafford Lodge Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing