We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Basse Cour B&B
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Alencon(Alencon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Hussard(Alencon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
96
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle mansguest loungewelcoming hostslocal amenitiesjudemotogpeuros
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Dear Phil and Jude

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Looking at the photos of 2004-09 you have clearly put in a lot of hard work to create a really splendid B&B from the relative ruins of an old farmhouse, and are to be congratulated on doing it so well. You know how to make guests welcome and provide such an array of material to make it so easy for guests to find their way around the area, including the forest trails. The breakfasts were always so nicely presented and the food so very fresh - the rooms were very comfortable and in excellent decorative order. Your garden is stunning.

We had a really good time and would not hesitate in recommending friends and colleagues to stay.

We wish you all the best for the rest of 2012 and beyond.

Many thanks again.

Best wishes

Trevor and Di

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR-DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Just to say thank you for your review - the work continues as we develop the house and gardens day by day, season by season, and we doubt it'll ever finish, as our purpose and our passion is to keep improving what we took on at La Basse Cour and to share it with appreciative guests like yourselves.

If you visit between May and September then we'll be able to recommend many other delightful gardens to visit in the area - some were still open and the autumn Le Mans Garden festival 'Entre Cours et Jardins' coincided with your stay in October, which was a happy coincidence. :)

Hoping to see you again and show you what has changed next time you visit,

Phil & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This beautiful B & B was just so perfect. We spent three nights with our friends in both the red room and the cream room. We were both very comfortable in our very clean and spacious rooms. We apprecialed all the hard work Phil & Jude have put in having brochures and pamphlets on area attractions and the huge map pin pointing where they were. We did day trips from La Basse Cour and had lots of fun exploring the area and I know we only scratched the surface. We also ate in the local restaurant and agree that the food and experience were great and it has given us a great story to share with others. Thanks Jude for the help in getting some laundry done ;), it was so appreciated. The gardens here are amazing. Phil and Jude have done a fantastic job in transforming this property. A peaceful oasis. The breakfasts were delicious and we will never be able to get the same kind of baguettes and croissants and yummy jam here at home. We also enjoyed visiting with the other guests. Thanks Jude for your attentiveness and always willing to accommodate our needs. We had a wonderful time having our picnic in the lounge upstairs and celebrating our friends' 40th wedding anniversary with Champagne on the back patio, just a couple of great memories of our stay. This place was above and beyond what we expected. We would love to come back some day and will tell those we know who are heading your way to stay at this wonderful B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy100722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you all for your review, but most of all we want to say we're happy that you had a good time and enjoyed your visit - it's what we always hope for our guests and we do our best to make it happen. Those who put enthusiasm into their holidays get the most out of them :)

Good to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts - Jude's home-made jam is very popular, the perfect accompaniment to a "baguette de tradition" and freshly baked croissants and pastries from the local baker.

Speaking of which, here's a tip for getting a good baguette for your picnics in France - always ask the baker for a "baguette de tradition" otherwise you'll get the common cheap, white, tasteless stick. It is worth paying the extra for a proper "baguette de tradition" with its crisp crust and moist interior, made from quality flour and yeast and made with care, the way bread used to be before price became the ruling factor.

All the best

Jude & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Wow! what a place, just how you imagine a typical well cared for french house to be. Phil & Jude are great hosts and looked after us very well ( Phil even found some nearby golf courses for next years visit!). We had the Red room which was roomy, clean and comfortable.

The only restaurant in the village is an 'experience' to say the least as long as you keep your eyes closed, the food was good (apart from the sea snails which i flushed down the loo!!!!). The decor is appaling but the lady that owns it does try hard.

Breakfast was good but could have done with maybe some meats and cheese (sorry Phil & Jude we should have asked!), we met nice people at breakfast and had some nice chats.

Phil's garden is fantastic and you can walk all the way round it so you can appreciate his hard work, if you do visit mention how nice the duck house is Phil spent a lot of time restoring it and it looks great!

We loved our stay and are looking forward to returning next year with our friends and our golf clubs.

Thanks Phil & Jude our long weekend was perfect.

Colin & Kym

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petercolin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Hello Colin & Kym

Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to have you to stay and we would love to meet you and your friends again next year, whether for a golfing holiday - or just a holiday! Your question about golf prompted Phil to put together the list of courses and a Google Map with their locations, and this now features on our website page for activities in the area.

Your stay coincided with the village baker being on holiday, so although breakfast still included baguette, croissants and pains au chocolat, home-made jams, a variety of fruit yoghurts and "pot au lait", orange and apple juice, tea, coffee and a selection of fresh fruit, we didn't have the usual choice of viennoiseries to "ring the changes" on the pain-au-chocolat and we didn't have our usual baker's "baguette de tradition", only white baguette. We hear what you say about cheese and meats, and if people tell us far enough in advance (i.e. not after they get here!) then we do try to adapt the breakfast for people with allergies or on restricted diets, but we waste an awful lot of food already and more choice will inevitably lead to more waste and an increase in room prices.

We're glad you liked the duck house: you would not believe what a job it was getting that thing on to the shore, as the old "buoyancy" had soaked up so much water that it weighed a ton - it took a lot of work and a near hernia just to get it out! Hopefully the new floats won't have the same problem :)

“L'Auberge de la Boule d'Or” in Ancinnes is a bar-restaurant in walking distance and offers a choice of starters and main courses plus cheese, pudding, coffee and a carafe of wine for 13.50 euros. The décor is very ‘rough and rustic’ but as you say, it is fine for a hearty meal without having to drive, as long as you’re not looking for fancy surroundings. If it doesn't suit there are dozens of places to eat with more ambience and yes, proper decoration! a short drive away in Alençon (5 miles) or the bistrot-pizzeria in Bourg-le-Roi at weekends (2.5 miles).

Hoping to see you soon

Phil & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Jude and Phil certainly have a pretty place here. The house is lovely and the grounds are delightful to sit in and wander round on a sunny day. Phil must have spent hours, to his credit on creating such a lovely outdoor space.
The room was pretty and the modern bathroom had a super shower. There is a guest lounge with plenty of reading material, information on the area and tea and coffee-making facilities (although real milk rather than powdered would have been better, and maybe a little fridge to keep it in, also to keep our soft drinks cool.)
The breakfast is continental with fruit, yoghurt, French bread and pastries. Very nice, but when staying several days becomes a little monotonous with little variety. We had some good 'breakfast conversations' with other guests especially a super couple from Australia, which got the days off to a good start.
Jude and Phil were helpful in recommending places to visit and giving directions to eating places etc.
The village itself has little to offer and we did quite a lot of driving to explore the region and further afield. Le Mans is about 45 mins away, the Loire valley you can reach in a couple of hours, also the coast.
Only eat in the local 'inn/ restaurant' if you're really starving - the food is ok but the decor (mouldy and mildewed wallpaper hanging off the walls!) will put you off your food!
All in all we had a lovely holiday and would genuinely recommend Le Basse Cour. If you go, take Jude a bunch of flowers, she's worth it and Phil a box of smiles and a packet of seeds, bless ;)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank karenraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hi Karen

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, that you loved the room and the super shower, and you appreciated all the work that goes into the garden - that's why Phil is so knackered come the day's end! All the brochures, tourist info etc. take a lot of organising so we're pleased you used them, in addition to the individual information we both gave to Peter each day, even to researching on the Internet the mystery plant that he was trying to identify.

Sorry the breakfasts weren't exactly what you wanted - when you arrived Peter told us you were both on the Dukan diet so Jude provided eggs, cheese and maize bread in addition to the usual croissants and viennoiseries fresh from the baker. A couple of days in Jude did ask if you were happy with the breakfast and you both did say everything was fine.

Don't forget, there are loads of gardens, châteaux, museums, pretty villages etc. to visit in this region, so there is no need to travel as far afield as the D-Day Beaches or the Loire Valley châteaux if people don't want to - but Peter was particularly determined that these were the places he wanted to go despite the distances!

Best wishes

Phil & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Jude and Phil Graham have obviously spent countless hours in crafting a beautiful garden oasis. Verbena, roses and geraniums count for the ones I knew and the other 100 or more types will go unnamed by me and left at "very beautiful". A crafted hedge reminds me of a beautiful dragon partitioning the rose archway from the remainder of the back garden.

Inside is an immaculate but still cozy home... A home in which my fiancé and I were warmly welcomed like expected family and then gently left happily to our own devices. Jude is charming and especially accomidating.

We regret we had but one day to stay in this lovely area. There was entirely more to see and explore and we left many stones unturned as we moved on too quickly for our tastes. Schedule schedule...

There is an upstairs sitting area between the guest rooms but we never felt relegated to enjoying just that area but rather when not out touring enjoyed the fruits of their garden labor. I mention this sitting area as it was so completely stocked with everything one might desire. I briefly took notice of: 1) a birders manual and binoculars 2) a dozen or so additional bird books. 3) numerous garden manuals, wildflower manuals etc... 4) a large map posted on the wall flagged with sights of interest and cross referenced to a bound book of brochures many of which were also available to borrow in the original form (This project must have taken days to put together after years of experience in the region) 5) a book case full of novels 5) set up for making tea as needed. 6). My God, you get the idea? - Phil and Jude KNOW what their customers/friends are looking for and they deliver it in spades.

They speak English quite well for English folks :)... and seemed to be quite comfortable in French with the pleasant couple who also stayed that night. My ego couldn't take testing them for German but given their proclivity for fine hospitality I would not at all be surprised should Phil easily meander through that as well.

I failed to mention that they are GIVING this all away for what amounts to a song. So hurry, visit this B&B now before they raise their prices to where they should be and are booked solid despite it!! I promise you'll not regret it. I've left some stones unturned for you here, you'll just have to find those delights for yourself.

Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pusher19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

"No dirt" is great - we try to keep this place immaculately clean, but few actually mention it :)

I know you two were only here one night but it was great to meet you and we hope the rest of you lightning-speed trip through France went equally well. How you arrived here with all that energy after a non-stop trip from the USA baffles us!

Plan for a longer stay next time, now you know how much there is to see in Alençon, Le Mans and all points in between.

Hoping to see you again before too long

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews