We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful grounds and facilities, uncomfotable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautful grounds and facilities, uncomfotable bed”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a large group stay here after our wedding in Shizuoka. Check in took a long time and it was very confusing due to 14 people booked under my name as I had organised our entire stay in Japan myself. I was surprised at how much time it took but we finally got there and the kind gentleman at the front desk upgraded my husband and I to a king suit on the top floor as it was our honeymoon, after I asked if it was possible.
All formalities out of the way this hotel is as all Hilton Hotels tend to be, large, with beautiful surrounds. This particular hotel has amazing gardens and our stay was during Autumn so the leaves were particularly beautiful.

Our upgraded room was huge, and we had a sitting area with a sofa and chairs, and floor to ceiling windows with sea views which were quite spectacular. The bathroom was spacious and clean.

I was extremely disappointed at the comfort of the bed - it was 2 twins zipped together, and as my husband is 195cm, his feet were hanging off the bed significantly. In a proper king sized bed this is not usually a problem. If I had of paid for this king room in full rather than it being an upgrade I would have complained. It was not a comfortable bed and I woke up every morning stiff due to the crevice in the middle of the bed. Being our honeymoon it was a little upsetting that we had to sleep on separate sides of the bed to be comfortable.

Breakfast was incredible. Huge western and Japanese selections, everything was delicious.

The pool and onsen were beautiful. Lovely complimentary facilities and the staff were so nice!

The games room and bowling alley were good fun, I admit I was surprised at the cost to play bowling was the same as your standard bowling alley out side the hotel. I imagined it would be a complimentary facility when I read the website. Perhaps I didn't read closely enough.
Also some facilities were not available sue to renovations, it would have been nice to be notified via email prior to arriving to avoid disappointment as some of my guests were looking forward to using some of the things unavailable.

The free shuttle was very useful, take note that there are two shuttles, one from the hotel, and one from the bottom of the hill - if you're really needing an extra shuttle or want to get back to the hotel later, the shuttle that stops at the bottom of the long drive way may be helpful.

Overall the Hilton was beautiful as usual, amazing grounds, breakfast, service, facilities...
but the beds were very disappointing. It was nice as a once off visit. I value my sleep too much.

Room Tip: If you are tall, ask about the bed before booking. The king bed is twins zipped together. You cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twisty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I would like to express my sincere appreciation that you stayed at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa and took time to send us a warm comment through Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to hear that you, your husband & your family were satisfied with your overall stay for your honeymoon. I will certainly share your warm comments with our team members. Moreover all our team members promise that we continue making the best efforts to provide the Hilton hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    470
    165
    61
    56
See reviews for
582
219
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

From the moment I check in until the moment I check out, it is smiles all round by the exeptional Hilton Odawara staff. It really is a pleasure to stay at this resort - each and every guest is made to feel so special.

As I get off the complimentary shuttle bus from JR Odawara station to the resort, I am greeted by a porter who asks me, "Are you Mr. XXX" - to which I reply, "...Yes! How did you know?". I suppose it could be because I am the only non-Japanese staying here tonight. But it was a thrill to be 'recognised' nonetheless.

At check-in at the Hhonors desk I am immediately upgraded to the 'Japanese Western Jnr Suite' which is a harmonious mix of East Vs. West with the choice of either Western beds on one side, or traditional Japanese Futons on Tatami mats on the other side. I go all out and ask them to make up my Futon whilst I am out enjoying the hot spring.

Ah, the hot spring. So relaxing and empty on this Thursday night! I feel like it is a private spa all to myself. Both indoor and outdoor tubs are spacious and filled with hot spring water which flows freely in this Volcanic area nearby Mt Fuji.

Being a 'spa' resort, there is a whole section dedicated to water therapy - a 25 metre swimming pool, a variety of whirlpools and jets, steam room and sauna. Bliss!

Being a Diamond HHonors member I am given entry to the 'Ocean Lounge' - kind of like Hilton's Executive Lounge you would find at most other hotels but this is more casual/contemporary in style. It is actually really cool - with free flowing bottle Asahi beer, Australian (!?) wines, tea/coffee, canapes, etc. It is cozy, warm, and a again, empty on this Thursday night and Friday afternoon (where I come back for afternoon tea!).

Breakfast is also a delight - mainly due to the staff that just blow me away with their amazingly friendly service and attention to detail. In fact out of all the Hilton family of hotels I have stayed at around the world, this hotel would have to have the highest level of guest service I have ever seen. They genuinely LOVE their job. Kudos to the hotel manager!

A fabulous stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
What great feedback we have received here – thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa.
Great to hear that you liked our spacious guest room and the Executive Lounge facilities as well as other facilities and service we have to offer.
Thank you so much for your comments on our service, which will be shared with the team.
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Everything was perfect. Nice location and beautiful view, well maintained, clean facilities. Beautiful Christmas ambiance (nice Xmas deco at the lobby, a warm welcome for repeated customer like us including personal letter, cake and chocolate welcoming at room. Very nice spa pool. The only draw back is the front desk doesn't speak English, which is too bad for a 5 star HILTON international hotel. Earlier this year when I stayed here, that was not the case. This time, 2 front desk person attended me, both speak very little to no English.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Your comment on our knowledge of front desk team’s English has been noted and ongoing training is being conducted.
Taking your comments very seriously, I will review and improve our service level.
Since your satisfaction is important to us, we are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton Hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Almost Services are very nice. Recommend couples, families, friends but not for alones :-) If you wish semi-long stay, silence, nice ocean view, variety attractions and 1.5 hours to Tokyo, here is it. Only handicap is location. If you have a car w/navigator, there is no problem. If you have only public transportation, you have to care timetables for shuttle between hotel and stations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank shamusys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
I will personally pass on your compliment to our service staff. Since your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton Hospitality.
We all certainly look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Odawara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Of course the financial means are not the same for all the travellers. What we should consider first, in my modest view, is having enough for our money.

This hotel has all qualities: spacious, with a lot of activities, beautiful gardens, good restaurants. You cannot expect a best place to stay in the area of Hakone. This is american standard at its best. Access to tennis, ping pong, poolside, bowling, fitness center, spa detente, and even a chapel for wedding are incredible. The staff is very welcoming but they do not all speak english and a few only can understand and speak an acceptable english. Forget the japanese style, this is not the place at all. the hotel is well located with marvelous views on the bay and the sea but this is 30 minutes far away from Odowara station. There is a free shuttle bus every hour from the station and from the hotel to the station, from Monday to Friday, but no shuttle on the week end :(

Be ready to pay for 3500JPY (more than $35US for a taxi between station and hotel).

If you really want to stay there, this is preferable to reserve in advance to get an interesting rate, otherwise you will have to pay big bucks for your standrad room (at least $350US a night). It really depends on what you are looking for: for comfort and activities this is the best; for Japanese style, definitely not; for distance to the station, this is far if you have to take a taxi.

Rating the hotel just for the quality of the hotel I would have given a 5 but overall I cannot give more than a 3. This was my second stay at this hotel in 8 years. I appreciate the hotel because he his totally accessible for persons using a wheelchair.. what it is difficult to find in this area. A last word: the shuttle bus is not accessible for a person using a wheelchair. But the hotel provide once with a coupon giving me access to a free regular cab to go back to the station.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the bay and floors 4 and higher. Then you will have beautiful views. Accessible wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Please accept my apology for having failed to deliver the level of service which you had expected from the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa.
We have taken the necessary actions to avoid future repetition.
As your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service and products along with the Hilton Hospitality.
Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a large hotel with large spa facilities. All rooms face a stunning water view. We paid $30 per night to upgrade to a deluxe twin, which is 58 sq m. The rooms are old. The bathroom has very little amenities. In fact, they did not even have body lotion! There is only one English channel. They do have a DIY washer and dryer for Yen 100 each. Also there are massage chairs for Yen 200 for 10 min. All fun. The hotel has a shuttle bus to and from Odawara station but it only runs once an hour but another shuttle take guests to the Nebukawa station (much closer to the hotel) where we can take many JR trains to Odawara station. In any case, once we were at the hotel, we were captive audiences as far as meals are concerned. Our package covered breakfast, which was good, standard American and Japanese offerings. However, there is only one restaurant for dinner. It is a giant buffet spread for Yen 6000 per person. It is worth it if you are very hungry. There is also a la carte menu but very very limited.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Higher floors have a broader view. Lower floors have a better view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
First, we would like to express my sincere appreciation that you stayed at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa.
I was glad to read you found the rooms, stunning views and location very enjoyable.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way.
So should there be anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you once again, and we hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Japan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is a little bit far from Odawara Station, however, the hotel provides free shuttle bus service from both Odawara Station and Nebukawa Station. Great view of Sagami Bay! Hotel staffs are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Meng Xian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odawara
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#11 of 243 in Hakone-machi
472 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#5 of 243 in Hakone-machi
947 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#9 of 243 in Hakone-machi
390 reviews
Atami Onsen
Hotel Micuras
Hotel Micuras
#3 of 108 in Atami
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Address: 583-1 Nebukawa, Odawara 250-0024, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Odawara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, just 60 miles west of Tokyo, in the Hakone mountain's foothills. It's just 30 minutes by train to Tokyo's business district and 90 minutes by car to Haneda Tokyo airport. Courtesy transport runs weekdays to Odawara train station and shops, 2.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Odawara Hotel Odawara
Hilton Odawara Resort And Spa
Odawara Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing