We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meeting location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I organized a 3-day meeting here. Everything went off without a hitch, and the hotel staff were incredibly accommodating. The feedback we received from all the meeting participants on the venue was extremely positive--location good, great views from the meeting rooms, good food, courteous staff, great amenities, etc. Hope we can do the same meeting here next year. Everyone loved the spa facilities.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies facing the ocean. I suggest renting a mobile wifi hotspot or a mini-rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLGunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    440
    153
    60
    53
See reviews for
536
203
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I arrived with great expectations, having just left The Conrad Tokyo this morning, where we were treated like royalty. What a disappointment this place is, especially for a Hilton, and I have stayed at quite a few Hiltons.
My complaints
1. Old tired rooms with a very low level of fittings, 70's throwback style. The Shining revisited....
2. No WIFI, are you kidding!!!! lucky I remember how to plug in the old cable but my kids are fuming in the corner at the lack of internet for their devices.
3. A shabby buffet dinner, nearly $200 AUD for 2 adults and 2 children and it was a DISGRACE, the poor selection was Spartan and we only got water to drink or pay another $9 AUD for a small softdrink....what???
4. No return shuttle bus from town after 6.00pm, no doubt to trap us for in house dining.
5. No children in the executive club?? My children are travelled, educated and have been in many an executive club or similar and know exactly how to behave, and if I am paying for the use of the facility then I am offended that my family is not invited. This made me want to jump on the Shinkarsen and head back to the Conrad, where the WHOLE family were treated as executives.

I cannot blame the staff, who are perfectly mannered.

Just do not waste your money coming here, it's a failure, and I am putting in a formal complaint to Hilton, I have been ripped off considering the big $ Hilton Odowara costs

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa experience, we always appreciate hearing back from our guests.
Please be assured that we continue to work to deliver the warm hospitality and good service that reflects the Hilton brand. We value your feedback about the amenities available during your recent stay and you will be glad to know that throughout this coming year we are carrying out upgrading works to various premises within the hotel, including the planned installation of a wireless internet service.
We sincerely hope that there will be another opportunity to deliver a better and more refreshed experience to you in the future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel is actually some distance from Odawara but is in a wonderful location overlooking the ocean. The breakfast and dinner buffets are expensive but very high quality. The pools are amazing! Can easily do a day trip to Hakone region, using hotel shuttle and trains. Japanese-Western room was excellent compromise: children slept on tatami mats and adults enjoyed a bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
I was glad to read you found breakfast, pool and location very enjoyable.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Guests can relax, Hotel mountain and sea, surrounded by Odawara Castle Atami Castle, I have views from all rooms historical Sagami Bay of black ships landed, Hospitality of the Samurai, After returning home, you will not talk to friends, because it's hotel you want to secret, fujio ono

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Fujio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We appreciate your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Delighted to read your fabulous comments.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent view overlooking the Sagami Bay, our guest room, as well as other facilities and service we have to offer.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
587 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We pulled up on bicycles after an arduous ride up the hill from the coastline (650 feet above MSL) and were warmly greeted. (People arriving by train can get a free shuttle ride to the hotel.) Although we were soaked with perspiration, having biked from Mishima on the other side of the hills, we were treated like VIPs. The staff did not blink.
We got room 1013, which had a western sleeping room, a Japanese Tatami-mat room, a bathroom / sink separate from a large sink plus shower- tub room, and three balconies. It was worth the price to upgrade: spacious, well- appointed and very comfortable.
The view from the balconies was fantastic – we could see south to the Amatsuru peninsula, and north up the coastline almost to Kamakura. The hills are full of Sakura, which were in full bloom. The grounds of the hotel are nicely landscaped, including an 800m winding drive up to the hotel.
The hotel shuttle can get you down the hill and back for dinner, but there is not a lot of choice in the small town below. We opted for the buffet dinner, and it was very good – huge variety and high- quality. Likewise, the breakfast buffet was excellent.
Behind the hotel and way up the hill is a golf course (Odawarayumoto Country Club) with amazing views of the surrounding hills – best accessed by car, and by driving north to Odawara and around the other side of the hill towards Hakone. There are several courses in the area.
All in all, an excellent, relaxing place.

Room Tip: The entire location is very quiet, so you cannot go wrong in that regard. But a view to the ocean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We appreciate your comments on the Trip Advisor.
I will personally pass on your compliment to our service staff.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

A wonderful experience for any foreign travelers to Tokyo. This is a very Japanese style Hilton with western influence, accommodations and food. But what it really offers is a comfortable way to explore Japanese culture outside the big city but still within the comfort of a beautiful Hilton property with natural, healthful hot spring baths and spa, Japanese (and western) cuisine, Internet, recreational sports including golf, tennis, bowling and pool. Every room has a view of the Pacific Ocean. Reserve a Tatami Room for the true Japanese sleeping experience. The short train ride from Tokyo Station is comfortable and easy riding through the countryside, residential areas and rice paddies so you can spend a night and then head back or onward to Kyoto, Osaka or another city. The free Hotel Shuttle Van makes frequent trips from Odawara Station. An excellent addition to any trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrflTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We appreciate your comments on the Trip Advisor.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Our hotel has received the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award.
This honor is awarded to establishments that achieve outstanding traveler reviews on TripAdvisor, the world's largest travel site. Our staff takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again
in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped off for one full day here between fairly hectic sightseeing schedules in Tokyo and Kyoto. It was a great place to slow down the pace and enjoy the mountains and onsen.

Getting there from Tokyo is relatively easy on the Tokaido Shinkansen. Odawara is 4 stops from Tokyo station which takes just over 30 min. There is supposed to be a free shuttle from Odawara station but for some reason it was not running on the day we got there. Taxi ride is about 3500 yen.

The hotel is up in the mountains with a lovely view over the ocean from both our rooms. Every staff member we encountered were friendly (including one very helpful fluent English speaker from New Hampshire). The pool, onsen and day spa were all great and we found it the perfect place to relax after long days of walking.

As noted by previous reviewers the main limitation is the choice of restaurants - there is only one restaurant and it serves breakfast in the morning and a buffet dinner in the evening for about 6000 yen. Dinner is actually very good but there really was nowhere else to eat in the hotel itself.

It would be great to stay a couple of days as it would provide the opportunity to explore Odawara town a bit more. There is also a day trip that runs out of the the tourist office in Odawara station which takes you around the Hakone areas including a cable car and boat ride.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the ocean. Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay inclusive of your experience in our restaurant, onsen & swimming pool.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way.
So should there be anything else that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odawara
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#29 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Address: 583-1 Nebukawa, Odawara 250-0024, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Odawara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, just 60 miles west of Tokyo, in the Hakone mountain's foothills. It's just 30 minutes by train to Tokyo's business district and 90 minutes by car to Haneda Tokyo airport. Courtesy transport runs weekdays to Odawara train station and shops, 2.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Odawara Resort And Spa
Hilton Odawara Hotel Odawara
Odawara Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing