We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese Vacation: An Unforgettable Stay at Jinya”
Review of Jinya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jinya
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels / Ryokan in Hadano
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Best Japanese Vacation: An Unforgettable Stay at Jinya”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My finance' and I stayed at Jinya Aug 22-25, 2013. We are from Seatle, WA and we wanted to visit Kamakua for a few days before heading to Tokyo. Researching the internet, we found Jinya, an upscale high-end ryokan outside a big city, which catered to our preference. We didn't know how the stay would pan out, but judging from the picture gallery and reviews, Jinya possessed the quality that we prefer.

The 3 nights stay at Jinya was "unforgettable". The most vivid memories were several. First, Jinya had great friendly staff who provided services from the heart. From the Executive Manager (Mr. Takumi Igarashi) down to the bell boy and driver, they were courteous, polite, unassuming, and always had smiles on their faces. They went out of their ways to help us as we checked in at 10:30pm, and when we departed for Tokyo they also relentlessly helped us.

Second, great high-quality ryokan food. BF and Dinner were plentiful and "Oishi" (delicious), and the menu changed daily, which made our 3 days very enjoyable. Home-cooked would be a fitting description.

Third, Jinya is clean and spacious, and very fitting to our liking.

Fourth, the hot spring and spa was equally enjoyable for us as we love onsen public bath.

Jinya would be a great place to stay in all seasons. We look forward to returning next time in Japan.

Room Tip: For those who like privacy, you can request "private bathroom" annex and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanatat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinya_ryokan1021285, 支配人 at Jinya, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you very much for visiting our Jinya Ryokan. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Japan. We hope to see you again in the near future in Japan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Bottom line - expensive - not great value but a moderate end bona fide ryokan experience. Caters mainly to Japanese groups - especially weddings. No English speaking staff (at least on our visit). Billed as being a good option for an onsen experience relatively close to Tokyo. It is, indeed, easily accessible by JR on the Odakyu line. The inn is literally a 10 minute walk from the station, nestled amongst small apartment buildings. The site itself has a classic garden and enough paths to take a leisurely 15 to 20 minute walk around the hotel. The pond was pretty murky, filled with carp. The long low building itself has a bit of a musty smell. The rooms are very spacious, even by western standards, and everything was clean. We stayed in the unit called "Suzumushi": an indoor sitting room whose view was marred by the fact that the adjacent apartment building has a direct line of site into the room, a large tatami main room which can easily sleep three, a side room that can host another adult or two children, an entry room, and then a separate very large shower and cedar soaking tub. Everything in the room was in good shape and self-explanatory. There are no toilets in the unit. The women's is about 25 feet down the hall; the mens' upstairs - a bit of a walk in the middle of the night. Of note, the room charge is per person - not per room. The restaurant is very good for dinner - solid on presentation (8/10) and quality (7/10), but not spectacular - you could do better many places for 12000 yen per person. Breakfast is also multi-course, but served almost cafeteria style in a large open room which marred the experience somewhat. We used the car service to go from the Inn to Narita - supposed to be a 30 minute ride. We initially made the reservation for 12:30 PM, but then realized we really didn't have to leave the hotel until 2:30 PM, so the evening before requested that we be able to depart at 2:30 PM. That seemed to be accepted by the front desk. However, the next day, wedding guests began to arrive and it became clear that they wanted to focus on the event. We were bustled into the car promptly at 12:30 PM, but since I mentioned again that we didn't need to be at the airport until 2:30 PM, the driver literally drove us the very long route through Tokyo to Narita - arriving at 2:30 PM - just over 2 hours in the car! A very Japanese solution to a problem, but not particularly appreciated by us. PS - there is not much to see or do within easy walking distance of the hotel.

In short, if you can't find other options in the heart of onsen country, don't want to stay at a western style hotel, and don't mind spending over $1000.00 USD for an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast - it is a reasonable one time ryokan experience. Was looking for a lovely place that we'd come back to again and again - we didn't find that. Would recommend traveling further and either spending less for an equally authentic local experience or going more high end and aiming for the best.

Room Tip: To avoid the apartment buildings - would ask to be closer to the main front desk instead of at the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventuresinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was a wonderful anniversary night away. June 23, 2012
Let's start with Location: a short 70minute ride down the Odakyu line from Yoyogi-uehara. From there it is literally a 5 minute walk from the station which my wife and i did with our wheeled suitcases. we were also able to scout a few little shops and restuarants in town while we did so. Finally, there is a lot to do within 20 minutes of the Inn, starting with Mt Oyama hike and sightseeing. it is a must.

Setting: while on the outskirts of town, the setting for the Jinya is quite peaceful and quiet. surrounded by trees and nature, there is no doubt you are set for relaxation.

Service: Definitely pampered. i have stayed Four seasons, Ritz and other high end hotels and i felt the staff here understood the meaning of service without being in your face. Like most places in Japan, Service is truely an art and Jinya did not let down. From arrival through deprature, they made us feel welcome, pampered and at ease. They even gave us a ride to the train station in their hotel car without us asking. it was just waiting for us as we checked out.

Food: We ate lunch at a little place in town called "Cafe Colorado". it was between the station and the inn. Absolutely quaint and strongly suggest you try it out. definitely a mom and pop ownership which is quite appealing to us. At the Onsen, the food was fantastic. we had checked the various menu items (both set and ala carte) and had picked a Shabu Shabu set menu. it was delicious. as usual, small tasty portions which fill you up and put you over the top by the time you are finished. large portion of veggies, meat and pork for the Main. Great bottle of wine and not too expensive considering we are a captured audience.

Accomodations: here in lies the "Rustic Charm". The room we selected had a private Onsen off the balcony. it was wonderful, peaceful, clean and roomy. My wife was a bit surprised, however that the shower was placed outside. it was hidden, however she called it "primative". to me it is rustic and feeds into the atmosphere of calm and peace. The room we had wad two indoor half baths and two rooms. it was Japanese Style which we liked adding Futons to the floor when we left the room for Dinner. there is a TV, which we didn't turn on. the Public Onsen was also nice with both an indoor and outdoor onsen separated for Men and Women.

Generally speaking, i think the price was accurate and reasonable. Nothing in Japan is inexpensive and my wife did quite a bit of shopping around at other onsens. We really wanted a private one as this was my first experience at an onsen. Jinya was in the middle to high (so she told me) price range but the experience was fantastic.

Room Tip: We went off season, so not too crowded or noisy. Check if the other rooms have showers inside or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japan4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadano
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Kanachu Hadano
5.4 mi away
The Hours Shonan Hiratsuka
The Hours Shonan Hiratsuka
#3 of 10 in Hiratsuka
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Route-Inn Isehara
#1 of 12 in Isehara
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Isehara Green Palace Hotel
Isehara Green Palace Hotel
#10 of 12 in Isehara
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hadano Manyo Club
Hadano Manyo Club
#2 of 5 in Hadano
24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sanso Nagisa
Sanso Nagisa
#2 of 12 in Isehara
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinya

Property: Jinya
Address: 2-8-24 Tsurumakikita, Hadano 257-0001, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Hadano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels / Ryokan in Hadano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jinya 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ikyu Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Jinya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing