We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with everything that has been said”
Review of Creag Dubh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creag Dubh
Ranked #1 of 1 Erbusaig B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Agree with everything that has been said”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent 2 nights at Creag Dubh and really enjoyed it. Erbusaig is a lovely quiet little village and both rooms have wonderful views over the water to Skye and the islands (plus occasional glimpses of the Royal Caledonian (?) train!). The double room and en-suite were small, but functional, light, nicely decorated and spotless. The hosts Roy and Kate are friendly and helpful and we found surprisingly good eating places both in Erbusaig (the Tingle Creek Hotel, where Kate is chef) and in Plockton - a scenic 10 minute drive up the road. The Skye bridge is 5 minutes away and Skye itself is a fabulous day's outing. The only thing that would make this B&B better would be to have somewhere to sit and read or just chat, as the bedroom was really a bit small to do this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We didn't have the chance to spend the night at Creag Dubh because we send a request for vacancy and the owner responded he had a room for us and that we have to make a 10 GBP deposit by paypal to save the reservation. The reservation was supposed to be hold for 24h. I sent the payment 18h later, but the owner has already given the room to someone else. in the meantime, we cancelled all the enquiries we have made because according to the owner, we were sure to have the room. He refunded us the deposit, but we still have to pay the fees for paypal. And we have to look for another room for a stay. We are of course very dissapointed because the owner didn't kept his word.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Slayne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymelville, Owner at Creag Dubh, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
On checking our records, we do apologise for the error that we made with your reservation enquiry. We receive a vast amount of enquiries and bookings and respond to all of them, even the phishing E mails that are sent by some people.
Although this is not an excuse for our mistake this one did get away from us. For this we do apologise again.
As for being labelled as “Untrustworthy” we feel very hurt and disappointed that we now have to carry this derogatory comment on our trip advisor page.
Your £10 deposit was refunded as soon as we received your E mail and you have also stated that you incurred pay pal charges of which, we were unaware. To compensate, we have sent you an additional £1.00 to reimburse your charges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Creag Dubh hosts Roy and Kate were lovely, accomodating and provide a delicious breakfast!

We stayed in the double room which was a bit small but very comfortable. The bathroom was also small but very modern and clean! Plus, the views from the room were stunning! There is no TV in the room but they do provide a dvd player with some dvds.

The B&B itself is in an excellent location! It is a very short drive away from Kyle of Lochalsh (which has restaurants, shops, boat trips, etc.), Eilean Donan Castle and the Isle of Skye. As well the B&B is just a few doors down from a larger hotel called Tingle Creek Hotel which has a dining room and pub (serving tasty food) open to non-residents. The pub was cozy with a wood fire and games room and was handy to have so close by.

We felt that Creag Dubh was great value for money and hope to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acanuckandageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Roy and Kate brilliant hosts,very welcoming.Accommodation very clean and comfortable.Views from room towards Skye amazing.Breakfasts excellent.

Room Tip: Eat at Tingle Creek Hotel,Kate is chef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonkiddgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We spent almost two months backpacking around Europe, and Creag Dubh was the BEST place we stayed at. The owners are two of the most friendly people you will ever meet, and their B&B is warm, cozy and has a great view of the Isle of Skye. The Full Scottish Breakfast has to be seen to be believed - absolutely delicious! The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot, and we enjoyed complimentary tea, biscuits and DVDs. The owners are very helpful, have excellent local knowledge and go out of their way to ensure you have a great time in Skye. We cannot recommend this B&B enough!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph_and_Jox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was our first trip to Scotland - and our choice of accomodation could not have been better. Our hosts Roy and Kate were welcoming and friendly, the cottage immaculate, and our room although not large was more than adequate and spotless, with the most stunning view across to the Isle of Skye. The full Scottish breakfast was huge very well cooked and presented, there were other options too, including scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - yummy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilarityj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We traveled up to Kyle on the train and were met at the station by Roy. He delivered us to the Guest house and then later dropped us off at the Waverly restaurant. His partner Kate asked us what time we would like breakfast, no set time, complete choice. It was dark when we arrived and when we awoke the view for the window was stunning over the blue sea to Skye with the snow capped mountains in the distance. As we had some time before the train home Roy give us a guided tour of Skye and the surounding area!! Excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd-sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erbusaig
0.1 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
574 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tigh a Cladach
Tigh a Cladach
#1 of 2 in Badicaul
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creag Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creag Dubh

Property: Creag Dubh
Address: 5 An T-Sraid, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Erbusaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Erbusaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Creag Dubh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creag Dubh Erbusaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing