We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience for wandering Americans”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tingle Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tingle Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience for wandering Americans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My friends and I rented a car in London and drove from Glastonbury around the island. Every stop was magnificent but the most memorable one was the discovery of this beautiful hotel. We found it by accident since we did not have any plan and it was wonderful. We spent 3 nights and 4 days, using it as our homebase while we explored the area. The hotel is family owned and run with lots of care and love.

The food was wonderful, the rooms very comfortable and the service outstanding. I have recommended it to all my friends traveling to Scotland and will stay again on our next trip.

This is truly a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms were outstanding. Some have ocean view, some have tree/garden views depending on what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    100
    36
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
211
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had to change our booking by a day due to our ferry crossing from Orkney being delayed by 5 hours leaving us with too little time to get here for the evening. There was no problem in changing the booking and on arrival the following day we had an extremely friendly welcome.

We arrived on the Wednesday and were advised that evening meals were not served; however we were given the option of the hotel ordering an Indian takeaway for us and setting a place for us in the dining room. As we didn't really want to do any more driving we decided to opt for this and weren't disappointed.

Our room and en-suite were beautifully presented, the standard of which would befit a 5 star hotel. The furniture in the room was of a very good quality and our bed was extremely comfortable.

We couldn't find any faults with this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending Tingle Creek to friends/ family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your comments regarding the standard of your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Unfortunately only a flying trip to Skye/Kyle, but a great find at Tingle Creek. Just a few mins drive out of Kyle, in really quiet wee hamlet. Great craic in the bar as I landed there on quiz night. Rooms are absolutely spotless - nice modern feel although with plenty tartan just to remind you that we're in Highlands. Would never go past this place when staying on this side of the water.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bignessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latheron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just got back from another visit to this great little hotel. Well kept, very friendly staff, good food and we liked the Indian take away idea for tuesday's dinner will be going back.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both room 2 and room 4 excellent view over the sea to Skye
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreewheelerCaithness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Tingle Creek Hotel really is one of the nicest places me & my wife have ever stayed so good we even decided to have our wedding doo there. The location & views from the hotel really are something very special & the rooms are very nice, the meals were out of this world & the prices are good too.
Me & my wife live in south yorkshire & Dennis (hotel owner) & all the staff really did make it so easy for us doing the wedding planning, on the big day the main room looked fantastic & the staff were perfect very helpfull & nothing was too much trouble.
As you can tell from this review we were & are very impressed with this hotel & its staff it really is the perfect place for the perfect highland wedding or a great stay, we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I'm not sure what to write about this place. All seemed well on arrival but at dinner the first night in the restaurant, as we were finishing, a tall lanky figure bounded up to our table and said, "Right, which one of you is in the single room?"

We later found out this was the owner/manager and he wanted the one of us who was in the single room to move because he had sold a sea view to someone else the next night for an extra ten quid.

Our friend, who was in the single room, did not care about the view and would happily have gone to whichever room was allocated but at check-in, several hours earlier, nothing had been said.

Anyway the restaurant food was pretty ropey and the fact that breakfast was being set up around us as we were finishing did not help the atmos'.

Everything else about this hotel was acceptable and it was obvious that the bedrooms had been recently upgraded as all was in order there.

The prices were rather high: £110 per room per night B&B. That worked out at just about £400 for three of us for two nights (dinners not included)!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenTingleCreekhotel, Owner at Tingle Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
These guests were booked in for 2 nights and one of the ladies had been allocated a different room on the second night as the first room was already booked in advance for the second night. This was the only way we could fit them in to the hotel for the 2 nights, as August is an extremely busy month of the year. Unfortunately our receptionist had missed this fact on the booking form at the time of checking her into the hotel. It only came to my attention around 9.30pm in the evening and I therefore spoke to the Lady concerned and apologised for the lateness in respect of informing her regarding the change.

With regard to the tables being made up for breakfast these guests had remained in the restaurant until 10.30pm ( last meal orders were 8.30pm) long after all the other guests had moved into another part of the hotel.

My staff normally finish setting up in the restauarant for breakfast by 10pm as they normally go off duty around this time. In many other hotels I have stayed in staff are constantly re making tables for the next customers particularly if it is a busy restaurant, therefore this procedure should not have been unusual.

What does surprise me is the comment regarding the food as they appeared to enjoy their meals during their stay and certainly never mentioned any problems with the food.

I am also surprised that if this guest was so annoyed with the chaange of room, why it has taken six months from their actual visit to write this review?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

A superbly located hotel for exploring Skye. Well worth the price which includes magnificent sea views. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are most welcoming. The food is a little pricey but very well prepared and cooked.
This hotel is certainly worth considering. Need to book well in advance!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parky15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erbusaig
1.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
19.2 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tingle Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingle Creek Hotel

Property: Tingle Creek Hotel
Address: Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Erbusaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tingle Creek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tingle Creek Hotel is situated between Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, and is only a five minute drive onto the Isle of Skye. It has an excellent restaurant, with spectacular sea views across to the Isle of Skye. As a family run hotel, the family pride themselves in offering their guests the personal touch, providing a friendly, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tingle Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tingle Creek
Tingle Creek Hotel Erbusaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing