We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Schoolhouse Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Balmacara Hotel(Balmacara)
US$156
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kyle Hotel(Kyle of Lochalsh)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$426
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eilean Iarmain(Sleat)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
US$171
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cluanie Inn(Glenmoriston)
US$199
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
64
14
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
14
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmake your ownthe kitchenisle of skyeeilean donan castlethe ground floorsmall art galleryb bson arrivalcomfy bedevery morningwarm welcomeshort walkkevinhostlochhousebridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We found the Schoolhouse on the recommendation of a fellow traveler. This is a quaint Inn with very clean and modern rooms. It is self catering with all equipment needed to make a great breakfast and a picnic lunch, which we did!

Mary the owner was amazingly gracious and even though she did not want us to mention her name, we thought she was a remarkable host.

The Eilean Donan Castle is but a short walk away. Make sure that you catch the castle at sunset it makes for the best pictures.

The Schoolhouse Inn made for great stop along our trip though Scotland and one of the places we talk about often with fond memories, the scones were delish and even our teenage boys ate them.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

What a charming little b&b this is! I loved the self-service breakfast and well-stocked and appointed kitchen- how original to provide that for guests who need a change from eating out and want to make their own meals. There's also no lack of quiet and privacy. I had a beautiful large room that was pleasantly decorated with a comfortable bed, and roomy bathroom. It's also just a short little walk over to Eilean Donan Castle, which I went to in the evening before the sunset, and it was just magical. After my visit to the castle, I sat out in the front garden along the water and just enjoyed the last of the sunset, which was amazing over the water and hills.

This is a great place for those who need a change from "the usual" accommodation, and is a great home base for visiting the Isle of Skye, which is only about a 15 minute drive to the bridge. I only stayed one night, but would love to go back and spend some more time here, it was just wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Schoolhouse is a terrific bed and breakfast. Very clean, newly renovated and comfortable with good beds. The breakfast selections changed each day and were expertly prepared. The kitchen was well appointed and stocked and this allowed us to comfortably prepare our own dinner one night which is not typical for a B & B. The owner, Mary, provided treats for our kids and even shared a dram of Scotland's finest!

The rates were very reasonable and the proximity to Skye was very convenient. Dornie itself is a gem. We would stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank cathy_b_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is a clean, quiet, and comfortable B&B without frills or pretentions. The rooms are well-sized and furnished simply. The beds are comfortable, and there are throw rugs on the floor. The front desk is in a tea room and staffed whenever the ever-friendly and helpful Mary is there. Breakfast is do it yourself with coffee, tea bags, milk, bread, jam, some cold cereals, and really good scones supplied by the B&B. If you want eggs, bacon, or other fixings you bring them or Mary will tell you where they can be bought about a block away. In my ground-floor room people could be heard clearly walking on the floor above, otherwise I would have rated the Schoolhouse higher. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Try a top floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in a cosy room and had known thiswould be the case because of the kids but we were v pleasantly surprised. beds v comfy. and what a great concept with free run of the well stocked kitchen and supplies of choc cake from the adjoining tearoom! Great value compared to other prices we paid in the Highlands!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews