We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Schoolhouse Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Schoolhouse Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 Dornie B&B and Inns
usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Room with a view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

and a good sized communal kitchen for cooking any of your own meals. Clean, comfortable and uniquely charming, this b and b is connected with a wonderful little art gallery and coffee house. A perfect jumping off point for day trips to the Isle of Skye or other nearby towns. Mary was a perfect hostess providing us the some kitchen basics and wonderful home made cakes and pastries made my a German baker. I literally could spend a week in this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capel, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Schoolhouse is in a lovely location and well placed as a base for a few days. The well- patronised local pubs were good places to enjoy an evening meal and a chat with locals. The room was neat and clean. We enjoyed delicious muffins with our breakfast provisions, but eggs were not provided. We had thought we had booked an upstairs room for the view, but were placed downstairs, which mean that our sleep was disturbed by noise of other guests upstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandBPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good location to visit Eilean Donan (only 3 minutes). We thinked to have booked a double room but we found a twin for a misunderstanding with the owner; Breakfast choice is too simple, you have to cook, very different from the other B&B/guest house where we stayed during our holiday (see our reviews). However room was clean, confortable but very simple (seem to be in IKEA solution); WI-FI didn't work in our room and also the lamp on the table . That B&B has been the only that wanted a deposit when we booked

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea e patriz... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This converted school house is located on a sea loch. There is a cool garden area right on the loch.
If you stay have a few beers there. You will not forget the time.

It seems like a 5 minute walk to the castle. Go over there after hours when the crowds are gone in the evening.
The isle of Skye is a short drive away.

Our room was clean and quiet and we liked it. the window of the room opened to a view of the loch. pretty cool it was.
Eggs, breads, coffee supplied for us to cook at breakfast. Bring some bacon.
It was all good.

We will stay here if we pass this way again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night in June, in one of the ground floor rooms. The room was bright, fresh, clean and a good size with a nice powerful shower . The modern (shared) dining kitchen was a great alternative to a traditional B&B - you make your own breakfast and there was fresh bread, eggs, jam and homemade muffins. Outdoor eating area available as well but the weather unfortunately didn't allow us to use it!

Room Tip: We were ground floor and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0taway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a relaxed and comfortable stay at the Schoolhouse. The rooms are very clean and Mary, the host was warm and welcoming. The use of kitchen facilities is a real plus, especially when you want a break from eating out. The garden, by the water's edge is beautiful.

Room Tip: The top room has lovely views and is quieter than the ground floor rooms. The blackout blind is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stopped over just for one night but were very pleased with the accomodation. The interior is modern but fits to the location. For welcome we got some scones and homemade backery.
The breakfast is not served but one can use the kitchen and the food (eggs, cereals, bread, butter etc.)is provided for free! Only the cooking and the dishes have to be done.
The kitchen is used by all guests together.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schoolhouse Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse Rooms

Property: The Schoolhouse Rooms
Address: Schoolhouse Caroline Street, Dornie IV40 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dornie
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Schoolhouse At Dornie Hotel Dornie
The Schoolhouse Rooms Dornie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing