We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dornie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dornie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good tasty food”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This was a Return visit for us. We were here in Dornie last year and enjoyed a meal at the Dornie Hotel. the food remains a good quality and staff were friendly and helpful. My fish was as fresh as if it had just been pulled from the Sea and the chips were large and crispy. We left before the local characters arrived which is always entertaining. Thank you again for a economic and great meal.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    28
    22
    9
See reviews for
31
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charwelton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Hotel is in a great position on the West Coast five minutes from the famous Eilean Donan Castle. We had a side view, the room was small and clean but cold when we first arrived, it got warmer after we turned up the heating. The Bar is basic but friendly and the food was very good.
We had the Cullen Skink (Hadock & Potato soup) the best we've ever tasted, then a home made Steak & Guinness pie which was delicious.
Breakfast was just as good, the Full Scottish included Haggis, Porridge with Cream was great.
Very reasonable rates, but this is not luxury hotel, its in a great setting but unless you walk, mountain bike one or two days is enough,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Was passing en route from business meeting and stopped at the Hotel for a bar lunch. Had stayed here many years ago and was wondering if the place was as good as I remembered. Only stayed for lunch so can't comment on the rest of the hotel. Had a brilliant Moroccan Lamb Stew from a menu board that is changed daily and offered lots of choices given the early time of year.
Food prices were reasonable and my colleagues also enjoyed their meals also. Given we were in the public bar the place was spotless as were the loos!
Will return hopefully for a few days in the not too distant future - surrounded by superb scenery!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Hotel a little basic but clean and food was good!! Absolutely fantastic views out onto the West Coast!!! Eilean Donan a stones throw to your left!! Its all about location with this hotel!!! Perfect Setting!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We just got back yesterday from a 3 day break in Dornie hotel and we all loved it. It's a shame about the earlier bad reviews of this hotel which might put some people off giving it a try. The accomodation is definately not fancy but it is very clean and comfortable. We had rooms 1 and 2 and everything was perfectly adequate for our needs. Yes you could get picky and criticise but to be honest we have stayed in many a 5 star hotel that we could get more picky about. The staff and locals were friendly and a mine of information about the area. The whole area is beautiful and it's a great starting point for all places of interest. The public bar is a cosy, friendly place and Eilean Donan castle right on the doorstep is a beautiful historical building . We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Only saw inside our two rooms but they were very comfortable -1 and 2 with en suite showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrae_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Ok, not memorable . We didn't try the food - had an excellent meal at the pub down the road. Try the pubs lamb shank. Breakfast was good. Staff seem like everything is an effort. They don't have cakes of soap, so take your own :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashpren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dornie hotels

Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Only stayed 2 nights but friendly helpful and great location for Eeleen Dolan Castle.
We had a meal which was very nice, breakfast was served fast and The Full Scotish Breakfast was really great and well needed for a day out walking.
The Beds could have been more comfy felt a few springs. But other than that everything was fine clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
326 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
541 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
240 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornie Hotel

Property: Dornie Hotel
Address: | Dornie, Dornie IV40 8DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Dornie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing