We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value right next to Eileen Donan Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dornie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dornie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value right next to Eileen Donan Castle”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Dornie Hotel with 3 other friends on a tour of Scotland. The hotel boasts great value, a full restaurant on site with tasty meals, and a full Scottish breakfast served a la carte. (a nice treat after breakfast buffets for the previous 10 days). The hotel is very basic, no frills, no lift, but spotlessly clean. Both of our rooms had a twin and double bed, 3 piece bath with a shower, and flat-screen t.v. Paul, the owner, was very helpful and we all enjoyed his dry humour.

The hotel is literally steps from the Eileen Donan Castle, making it fun to trek over there after dark when the castle was lit. It is also a good spot from which a day trip can be made to the Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fetafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    28
    22
    9
See reviews for
31
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I and a couple of friends stayed at this hotel for one night and found it very pleasant indeed. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything necessary TV, tea/coffee etc. (we had a twin room, with en-suite). The food was fabulous! Have definitely bookmarked this hotel and will be staying there again hopefully ASAP

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 811Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It's not the Ritz but then you don't pay Ritz prices either. My single room was basic, no en-suite just a washbasin, but spotlessly clean and comfortable and great value for money. The food though is in a league of its own - nothing too fancy, just superb home cooking with good portions well presented.

Add the cheery staff led by owner Paul into the mix and you've got a right wee gem of a place for your stopover or short break in this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Found lodging at the Dornie when we discovered the Loch Duich where we had reservations had gone out of business. Warm welcoming staff put up our party of 6 in very clean, comfortable rooms. Dinner in their dining room was excellent with tasty food, delightfully presented. Breakfast included in the tariff was also very good. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms of our group were fine. Some were en suite and others shared a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had an evening meal at the hotel as I was passing through and was pleased with the service and quality of the food.

I started with the mussels and had venison sausages and mash. I believe the sausages were from a local butcher and the dish was well put together. Very pleased with my choice! Good food and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This was a Return visit for us. We were here in Dornie last year and enjoyed a meal at the Dornie Hotel. the food remains a good quality and staff were friendly and helpful. My fish was as fresh as if it had just been pulled from the Sea and the chips were large and crispy. We left before the local characters arrived which is always entertaining. Thank you again for a economic and great meal.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charwelton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Hotel is in a great position on the West Coast five minutes from the famous Eilean Donan Castle. We had a side view, the room was small and clean but cold when we first arrived, it got warmer after we turned up the heating. The Bar is basic but friendly and the food was very good.
We had the Cullen Skink (Hadock & Potato soup) the best we've ever tasted, then a home made Steak & Guinness pie which was delicious.
Breakfast was just as good, the Full Scottish included Haggis, Porridge with Cream was great.
Very reasonable rates, but this is not luxury hotel, its in a great setting but unless you walk, mountain bike one or two days is enough,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
326 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
541 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
240 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornie Hotel

Property: Dornie Hotel
Address: | Dornie, Dornie IV40 8DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Dornie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing