We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night”
Review of Dornie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dornie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here the night before we drove over to Skye and happened upon the Eilean Donan castle. There wasn't anything else in Dornie so we didn't have much choice but to stay there.

The room was ok - clean enough, though looked as though it had been furnished by Argos. The bathroom wasn't great, no shower - the first time I have come across this so was a surprise. We were lucky the hotel wasn't any fuller, as we'd have had to share the bathroom with the adjoining room.

My boyfriend went out in the evening to take some pictures of the castle and returned to find he was locked out! Fortunately I had decided to take refuge indoors so could let him in (when my phone finally found some reception!) but not sure what we'd have done if both if us had gone out as he tried to get someone from the hotel to le him in before getting through to me.

On the whole it was fine for a night if you're passing through.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kumquats2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Visiting Eilean Donan castle with friends in June this small hotel is ideal . Comfortable rooms clean and tidy some rooms like mine had en suite facilities . Good food served in restaurant and friendly helpful staff. Small village so alternatives may be hard to find . Recommended

Room Tip: Book early limited accommodation of this standard in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for one night only to catch the sunrise and sunset over Eilean Donan which is very close by. As visitors from Australia we found the Dornie to be like a homely friendly little country pub as we might find at home. The staff were helpful and the food very good. We also appreciated, as travellers who had been living out of suitcases for some time, that the Dornie had an attached commercial spec laundry where we could catch up on our washing and ironing. This hotel does not claim to be a five star facility so the rooms are dated, but quite cosy and good value for money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we couldn't find anywhere else around the village. The rooms was small and you have to share bathroom and toilet with the next room. You could probably find some B&B with more comfort and value.
Finally, there was no wifi or Internet access at the hotel. I mean, what kind of a place doesn't have wifi?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaybars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Dornie Hotel with 3 other friends on a tour of Scotland. The hotel boasts great value, a full restaurant on site with tasty meals, and a full Scottish breakfast served a la carte. (a nice treat after breakfast buffets for the previous 10 days). The hotel is very basic, no frills, no lift, but spotlessly clean. Both of our rooms had a twin and double bed, 3 piece bath with a shower, and flat-screen t.v. Paul, the owner, was very helpful and we all enjoyed his dry humour.

The hotel is literally steps from the Eileen Donan Castle, making it fun to trek over there after dark when the castle was lit. It is also a good spot from which a day trip can be made to the Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fetafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I and a couple of friends stayed at this hotel for one night and found it very pleasant indeed. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything necessary TV, tea/coffee etc. (we had a twin room, with en-suite). The food was fabulous! Have definitely bookmarked this hotel and will be staying there again hopefully ASAP

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 811Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It's not the Ritz but then you don't pay Ritz prices either. My single room was basic, no en-suite just a washbasin, but spotlessly clean and comfortable and great value for money. The food though is in a league of its own - nothing too fancy, just superb home cooking with good portions well presented.

Add the cheery staff led by owner Paul into the mix and you've got a right wee gem of a place for your stopover or short break in this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
17.3 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
633 reviews
4.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
248 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
258 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
298 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornie Hotel

Address: | Dornie, Dornie IV40 8DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Dornie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing