We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of Dornie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dornie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We are staying in Sallachy over xmas and decided to eat out on xmas eve. We looked on trip advisor and there were lots of reviews about this hotel and its home made food! The weather was very windy and pouring down with rain so we decided to stay local.We went to the Dornie hotel and the food was AMAZING! True to the reviews this place is a must to eat if you are visting this particular area of Scotland!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinHop1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    30
    26
    10
See reviews for
34
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Force 10 gale horizontal rain so we decided to have a coffee in this hotel--- great cafetiere for 2 in front of a roaring fire + soup and bagels superbly done, cheerily served.
Great find --papers to read and locals who had deserted the midlands to live in the village and had found a great watering hole

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankHarris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from South Uist. The room was basic, but clean and did have a small en suite. We ate in the hotel and the food was very good, well cooked and well presented. We had a lovely breakfast , service was good and the small staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night, the room was clean but very dated. The bed was lumpy and not very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent and staff are very friendly. Very close to Eilean Donan Castle. Dornie is a very small village so you are limited. The convenience shop nearby is pricey. There is no wifi in or around the hotel. The views from the hotel is pretty.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here the night before we drove over to Skye and happened upon the Eilean Donan castle. There wasn't anything else in Dornie so we didn't have much choice but to stay there.

The room was ok - clean enough, though looked as though it had been furnished by Argos. The bathroom wasn't great, no shower - the first time I have come across this so was a surprise. We were lucky the hotel wasn't any fuller, as we'd have had to share the bathroom with the adjoining room.

My boyfriend went out in the evening to take some pictures of the castle and returned to find he was locked out! Fortunately I had decided to take refuge indoors so could let him in (when my phone finally found some reception!) but not sure what we'd have done if both if us had gone out as he tried to get someone from the hotel to le him in before getting through to me.

On the whole it was fine for a night if you're passing through.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumquats2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Visiting Eilean Donan castle with friends in June this small hotel is ideal . Comfortable rooms clean and tidy some rooms like mine had en suite facilities . Good food served in restaurant and friendly helpful staff. Small village so alternatives may be hard to find . Recommended

Room Tip: Book early limited accommodation of this standard in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for one night only to catch the sunrise and sunset over Eilean Donan which is very close by. As visitors from Australia we found the Dornie to be like a homely friendly little country pub as we might find at home. The staff were helpful and the food very good. We also appreciated, as travellers who had been living out of suitcases for some time, that the Dornie had an attached commercial spec laundry where we could catch up on our washing and ironing. This hotel does not claim to be a five star facility so the rooms are dated, but quite cosy and good value for money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
4.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
211 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
267 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornie Hotel

Property: Dornie Hotel
Address: | Dornie, Dornie IV40 8DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Dornie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing