We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
281
82
31
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
82
31
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of skye beautiful location guest house loch alsh french toast breakfast was delicious breakfast room amazing views kyle of lochalsh room was large personal touch short drive maple syrup porridge stayed here for one night smoked salmon the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We stayed 2 nights in room 3..a nice large room on the first floor with a sun porch that faces the loch. The room is located under one of the 2nd floor rooms and every step can be heard..take note if you are a light sleeper and the room is occupied. The host and staff were gracious and the breakfast was very good. There is a trail behind the house which also brings you down to the little beach...a very enjoyable morning or evening walk. The rooms on the second floor are accessed by outside stairs and are also very nice per our travel companions. We would enjoy a return stay!

Room Tip: WiFi was hit and miss in entire facility.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVPnSVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen_Balmacara, Manager at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would consider coming back. You are very welcome. Thank you also for feeding back to us about hearing movement upstairs. We have recently had new soundproofing underlay and carpeting laid in the upstairs rooms which greatly helps with sound insulation. I hope we see you back for visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The location of Balmacara Mains Guesthouse can't be beat. It's right on Loch Alsh. Just up the road/driveway are the Lochalsh Woodland Gardens. Breakfast was delicious - some of the best smoked salmon I can ever remember having. Lovely views over the water. Our room faced the Loch and was on the ground floor. We could hear people walking and talking in the room above us. Although the bathroom looked lovely - beautiful stone tiles and walk in shower - there were cobwebs in the corner above the toilet and dust was hanging off the trim above the bathroom door. The shower handle was wrapped in black electrical tape - though it seemed to worked just fine. The bedroom was a little dingy - hard to explain but it wasn't a place I wanted to walk around barefoot.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HikingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen_Balmacara, Manager at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments our guests make very seriously. The room you were in has recently been recarpeted and decorated. As the new Manager here, one of my main priorities is paying attention to the fine detail and I would like to assure you that the issues you had have been addressed thoroughly by our housekeeping team. New soundproofing underlay and carpets have been fitted upstairs which considerably helps with sound insulation. I am glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay - the location, food, views and hope that you will consider visiting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in May 2017 and the whole experience was absolutely fantastic.

The room was really clean, tidy and well presented with a cosy, cared for feel. The views from the room and the breakfast area are simply breathtaking.

The staff were really friendly and the food is to die for with a great selection to choose from.

We couldn't access the free WiFi during our stay which was disappointing, but to be honest, WiFi would just distract from the fantastic views so, despite being a social media hog, it did not lessen the experience one little bit and I cannot wait to stay here again.

At £80 per night for a double room, I think the price is very reasonable too.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen_Balmacara, Manager at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your comments. Our aim is to give our guests a lovely experience at Balmacara Mains. Glad you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Check-in worked perfectly, we dropped by during the afternoon, got welcomed (I liked the host sense of humor) and got our room keys, then continued our trip direction Sky for a small round trip (if you drive north direction Uig, the road after that village becomes narrow with traffic in both direction for quite a while, be careful). The room (n°2) was comfortable (mattress a little to soft for my standard), TV, hairdryer, towels + soap and shampoo, water boiler + teas + soluble chocolate. The breakfast was really good (different menus choices) and the view really relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen_Balmacara, Manager at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Really happy to read of your enjoyable time at Balmacara Mains and in the surrounding area. Thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The location of the B&B was great. Right on the water. It was too cold for us to do much more than look at it, but I bet it is great in the summer. The room we had was a water view, but the window was pretty high and had to stand on tip toes to see anything other than the sky which was a little disappointing. Clean and plenty of hot water. Room could use a fresh paint job. Breakfast was good and made fresh.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Staci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews