We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardelve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caberfeidh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
Ash Vale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for two nights on our way to and from the Isle of Harris. Great location with views of the castle which looked beautiful lit up at night. Paul and Sheena very welcoming especially to our 7 year old son. Room very quiet but the downside was we were not very warm as the beds only had a sheet and blanket on them. Didn't want to turn the radiator up as our sons bed was put directly in front of it. Breakfast was OK but I would have liked some fresh fruit as an option as I'm not really a fan of the 'full English'. Would go back again but with warm pyjamas!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 both have great views over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    11
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Bed- cold, hard, can feel every spring, has a plastic wee sheet that kids have on double and single bed! No duvet, just a blanket (not washed between guests!)

Breakfast- cheap ingredients, no real service (definitely lacking a smile) strict times... Basil faulty would be proud!

Manners- lady showed us to our room, told my son 'if you make a noise I will be up as our room is below you' scared the life out of him. As owners very noisy and not welcoming. Decoration is very care home/ cheap restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kitti_kat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Paul and Sheena came through for us when our reserved B&B had given our room away. Much to our delight our large en suite room looked out on Eilean Donan Castle. Amenities included in-room wifi, and Paul was able to lend us extra plug converters so we could recharge camera batteries and cell phones. Our room was plenty warm on our coldest night in Scotland. Our freshly cooked full Scottish breakfast was plentiful and tasty and included porridge on that cold morning. We were ideally located to get to the castle early and before several tour buses. Should we have the pleasure of returning to this beautiful corner of the world, we would gladly stay at Caberfeidh Guest-house again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria_and_Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remscheid
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed one night with my family in Caberfeidh B&B. Compared to the other B&Bs we had until now I can't give an excellent voting as the rooms would need some kind of overhaul. All in all I would vote as average. The breakfast was OK, the toast a little too dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the second time that we stayed at The Caberfeidh Guest House. The guest house is very clean and the breakfast offers you a lot of variety. Breakfast was served between 8am and 8.45am. As we were on holidays I would have preferred a later breakfast. From our room we had a nice view on Eilan Donan Castle. Our host Paul was very friendly and helpful. The guest house is only a few minutes walk from Dornie and the Castle away. We had dinner in Dornie hotel that night which was lovely. From the bridge you have to cross on your way to Dornie you have a fantastic view on the castle. The next time we will pass Dornie we definetely stay overnight in the Caberfeidh again.

Room Tip: We had room number one with a great view on the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A really good B&B with the best host ever. The location was ideal to visit Skye and Eilean Donan Castle. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend their B&B for anyone wishing to stay in this part of Scotland. We'll be staying there again and loved the full Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Booking was relatively straightforward although the landlady could hardly be described as overly friendly.

Check in was kind of strange given that we had to not only complete the registration cards but also a card for each one of us for our breakfast choice. Not sure what would have happened if we had wanted the cereal rather than the cooked breakfast chosen the night earlier. We had to choose the time we wanted the breakfast.

Waking up to the landlady knocking on the door saying breakfast was ready was kind of strange. We were 3 minutes late to breakfast and the already cooked choices then presented to us by the landlord. The food was acceptable.

We found out at 4 minutes past 10am that checkout was at 10. That was a surprise, so too was having someone bang on our door for the 2nd time shouting at us through the door. I said no problem we would pack.

We didn't pack fast enough as 15 minutes later we had the landlord banging on the door again. I opened it, he could see we were less than a minute away from leaving but he insisted that I come down and settle my bill. I said that I'd rather help my 2 children zip their bags and carry their bags downstairs and then I'd be down. He stormed off and waited downstairs with a pretty furious look on his face.

We paid our bill but not before being reminded one more time off checkout. I explained that I didn't see a time anywhere. He needed to have the last word so I let him and we just left.

To be fair and balanced I did see a lot of positive comments in their guest book so as owners they must be fine for some people.

In closing, I would never recommend this guest house to a friend that was used to the standard of service found in any reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
3.8 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
354 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
283 reviews
14.5 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
570 reviews
7.7 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caberfeidh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caberfeidh Guest House

Property: Caberfeidh Guest House
Address: Ardelve IV40 8DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Caberfeidh Guest House Ardelve, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing