We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”
Review of Loch Duich Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardelve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Duich Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

When we arrived in the car park they were no other vehicles and from the outside we thought the jolted had been closed for a fair time. On entering the vestibule you get a feeling that this is going to be a bad experience. We were greeted by a friendly young lady and given our room. Bearing in mind that a double room incl breakfast was only £90 you can't expect 5 Starr quality. The room was quite small and very basic but had tv and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was extremely small and shower was small and basic. This is an old building which is really needing a lot of money spent on it but it was clean. The bar was fine and had a nice feel about it although the drink was really expensive. The cooked breakfast was excellent and well served. Overall it was fine but not worth any more.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a 4 poster bed room which was really basic so not worth paying extra for this. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    16
    17
    29
See reviews for
28
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a lovely 3 nights stay at the hotel. The young couple who were running the hotel were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. Jennifer was always smiling and very friendly. The cooked breakfast was a great way to start the day (and included in the price of the room), there was also a selection of branded cereal, fruit and yogurts. Our room was a standard double, was very clean, tidy and comfortable and yes the toilet was small, but in an old building that is to be expected. There was no television in the room, however, we were on holiday and weren't there to sit and watch TV all day. We dined at the hotel on our first night, the food was good and reasonably priced for a hotel, as we called in advance we knew the card machine wasn't working so we made sure we had cash for our room/food etc. Very good locations for the castle with stunning views. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My Husband and I have just driven over 500 miles returning FROM this Hotel.The Hotels web site is totally misleading with facitities, discriptions and images extremly out of date. This is most obviously the hotel's original discription and images from quite a number of years ago.
The hotel is completely run down and it took my husband and I quite some time to even contemplate leaving the car and entering but we felt as we had driven for 5 and a half hours to get there and the web site had looked so lovely with its discriptions of real fires and a Fish Restaurant etc that we should go and check in.
The Hotel's front door alone should warn you of whats to come.
Apart from the very nice, only, staff member we saw, the hotel was terrible. Nothing as per the web site at all.We left and drove 5 and a half hours home. A totally ruined birthday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I had booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriend over the easter period. I had looked through trip advisor to make an informed judgement on the hotels available at this picturesque location and noticed this hotel had a room with a balcony that over looked the Castle.

The reviews I had read were somewhat negative and very "nit picky". It seemed that the reviewers were expecting 5 star luxury and were very negative on most of the decor and the food and gave mixed reviews of the hotel.

This review is not to say the hotel is a 5 star grand hotel.

This review is to say how wonderful our stay in the hotel was and how the staff were a total credit to the hotel owners.

I initially booked over the phone and enquired if they did discount for HM Forces and was pleasantly surprised to be told "Yes we do".

The Hotel staff could not do enough for us during our stay.

We checked out the few hotels in the area that provided "non guest meals". The menu selection was on par with our hotel but I felt that the other hotels were charging extortionate prices on the off chance of a quick profit from passing tourists. I cant comment on how good the other meals may have been.

Our 3 course evening meal including a bottle of wine in the hotel was exellently priced and cooked to perfection.

We stayed in Room 5 which has the 4 poster bed and a balcony and the view over to the Castle is one both of us will never forget.

The negative comments from previous reviewers slating every tiny detail of the hotel room is very unfair and "just looking for things to complain about".

The room was spotlessly clean. The shower provided all the hot water you could ever need and I dont know what the problem is with previous guests complaining about the shelf in the bath room? It has a digital tv and a four poster bed that was fantastic and again..the balcony where you can sit outside and look over to the castle is so romantic and there is no other hotel in the town that has that view.

Sitting on the balcony that evening with a glass of champagne, a clear night sky with the stars overlooking the floodlight Castle with my girlfriend........Priceless.

What more could you possibly ask for???

Our breakfast in the morning was a full cooked breakfast included in the price unlike some reviewers stating they had to pay extra (maybe the old owners?)

They dont have a credit card swipe machine in the hotel but the nearest cash machine is only 15 mins up the road.


Would we go back???

Definitely.

Room Tip: Room 5 with the balcony over looking the Caslte is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derek g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was a great find on Laterooms.com - personal welcome on arrival and shown to a very comfortable double room one. After a grand night at the Celtic Connections Big top music festival it was back for a dram in the friendly bar and a chat. Top class comfy bed and a great sleep put me ready for the breakfast.
Mine hostess Annie served the full Scottish including the legendary Stornoway black pudding and haggis along with bacon, eggs and all the trimmings .She had even made time to set the fire so we had a cosy time with ooodles of toast and coffee.

This is a superb spot - Eilean Donan Castle creates the amazing backdrop with the hills beyond. This is the business for your wedding as they even have a helicopter landing area for the dramatic departure and Annie says the honeymoon suite is super too!
I see that backed up by other reviews.

So all in all a great stopover in the way to or the way back from Skye - actually it would be a fine base for touring the West highlands too!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view of the Castle - its a great way to wake and know you are in the Highland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benderloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoogeveen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked 2 nights at this hotel via booking.com, we booked one single and a double room. We had booked it early January.

When we arrived late Saturday afternoon (5 pm-ish), nobody knew we were coming. The owners were enjoying a few days off and left their chef and head of housekeeping in charge. Only the chef was there when we arrived, and because he had no idea of the layout of the hotel (which rooms are singles and which are doubles) he had to call Phyllis (housekeeping) to come over. It took almost an hour for her to arrive, and we were slightly in a hurry, because we had to be somewhere at 7, and still had to freshen up and change clothes. Eventually we were assigned one room to freshen up, and during this time Phyllis handed us the key to the other room. Crisis diverted.

When we came back a few hours later, we noticed that it was very cold in the rooms. The heating didn't work, but I had an extra electric heater in my room. My parents didn't. The hot water wouldn't heat up either.
On Sunday morning we told Phyllis about the cold, she would try and do something about it.
The breakfast was quite nice, toast and orange juice, and option to order full English and tea or coffee.

On Sunday we went out for the day, but when we came back, there still was no heating. It was even warmer outside then it was in...
We had dinner in the bar that night (there seemed to be no such thing as a 'seafood restaurant' as mentioned on the website; the menu consisted of two types of chicken, one dish with salmon, although they were out of salmon, and a beefburger). We opted for the beefburger, which was quite good.

Because the website tells us there is free wifi in the public areas, we took our laptop, and we wanted to look at the directions for our drive back on Monday. But apparently there isn't any wifi, the hotel doesn't even have a computer, and the website which is still online and first in Google search results, is from the last owners, not from the new. And those old owners apparently took all internet-related things with them... Such a shame the old site is still up while all the information on it is wrong, it is very misleading for future guests.

The next morning we had to check out very early because we had a long drive ahead of us. This was no problem, Phyllis was there with breakfast at 6.30 in the morning.
When we had to pay for our stay, we mentioned that we'd rather not pay full price, because there was no heating or possibility to take a shower. Phyllis gave us a discount on our stay, no trouble at all.

Negative points:
- no knowledge of our booking.
- no heating or warm water.
- no owner in sight.
- no free wifi as advertised on the website
- no credit card machine

Positive points:
+ good service from the little staff that was there.
+ good solution to our complaints
+ good size rooms.
+ neat bathroom.
+ new tv with enough channels.
+ good location.
+ great views.

If I were the new owners, first things I would do is make sure the heating works and the website is changed. It felt like they weren't really open for business yet and were just winging it for the 4 couples that were staying there that weekend.
I might come back if mentioned issues are solved, because the location is great and it does have a lot of potential. But for now, I am reluctant to give it good marks yet, and if it weren't for Phyllis I'd probably only give it two...

Room Tip: Room 5 has views over to Eilean Donan Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The new owners are very welcoming. Was a brilliant stay, will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ja123de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
7.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
213 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
232 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Duich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Duich Hotel

Property: Loch Duich Hotel
Address: Ardelve | Dornie, Ardelve IV40 8DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Loch Duich Hotel Ardelve, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing