We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Conchra House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardelve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conchra House
Ranked #2 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Conchra Guest House sits on the banks of the Loch Long and you could not ask for a more peaceful, serene setting. The views out our attic room were just lovely. Attic rooms are comfortable but a bit cramped with the low ceilings. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Sue is so sweet and eager to help and we enjoyed chatting with her each morning. Breakfast was delicious. There is no TV in the rooms, but the lounge offers you a chance to check in with the TV there for weather reports. The location is perfect to tour Isle of Skye and the the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Conchra House, with a serene view overlooking Loch Long, is quite lovely. Our little attic room was nicely decorated, and the beds were comfortable. We really appreciated being able to soak in the huge bathtub after hiking all day in the cold and wet -- with a bonus skylight for looking out at the clouds and stars. Sue was friendly, once we got to talking a bit, and happily told us about some good walks nearby and places to visit. As others mentioned, the scrambled eggs weren't the best -- we ordered fried the next day! But, everything else about our hearty breakfasts was very good. Be sure to hang out at the Clachan Bar in nearby Dornie, where we ate good food and danced with a trio of local lads.

Room Tip: We loved our attic room with sloped ceilings. Remember to mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill_and_Tim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just got back from having a lovely stay, room and bathroom was clean and comfortable. Their wasn't a tv in the bedroom but there was a guest lounge were you could chat to the other guests. Sue certainly made you feel welcome and had lots of travellers information available. She even had wine glasses and a corkscrew available if you wanted to take your own drink. The breakfast was great, with lots of choices. Would certainly go back again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Conchra House is a big old house set above the loch and as noted, in a quiet location only 5 minutes over the bridge from Dornie and Eilean Donan Castle and well signposted from the A87. Sue, the owner was very welcoming in her quiet and sincere way. We felt very relaxed when staying at Conchra house. Single rooms are offered as well as double and twin. We had an attic room with magnificent views in both directions out to Loch Long and the hills behind the house. Everything was very clean. The house was quiet and we slept well. In our room fortunately there is a shower attachment to the bath taps which worked well, but was not wall mounted. The cooked breakfast was excellent, quickly brought out with salmon a treat when added to scrambled eggs. There was also a self service table with cereals, fruit and a variety of teas. The stairways were wide which was a treat after cramped accomodation in London. The big living room with easy chairs and a fireplace was a real plus. There was lots of reading matter for planning trips in the NW and on Skye. Sue was particularly knowledgeable about where to go for walks and other attractions in the area and keen to make you enjoy your stay. We did enjoy the spaciousness of this old house compared to cramped London style accomodation. Note that there are 3 floors accessed by staircases only.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grevillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My trip was planned to get to the North coast of Scotland in search of the Aurora but it's a long way to drive from Essex in 1 hit so I made plans to stop off at Dornie solely to see Eilean Donan Castle.
Conchra house had some good reviews & some not so good reviews but the good outweighed the negative & so i booked the twin room (travelling with a friend). I spent no more than 5 mins looking at google earth to find where Conchra house was situated & familiarising myself with the location after reading how difficult it was supposed to be to find. This probably helped as i was aware of exactly where to go upon my arrival & had no problems finding Conchra house & to make life even easier I made sure my timing allowed me to arrive in daylight, just some common sense stuff really. It's not that hard to find, just have to realise it's off of the main road down a single lane road with plenty of passing places if another car happens to be coming the other way.
The house is a huge old stone built Scottish building with wide doors & full of character. Sue met us at the reception area & gave us a warm welcome & showed us to our room. Top floor up in the attic with a great view out to the Loch one way & up the hill the other way (not so great lol). The room was clean, bed comfortable & en-suite bathroom. The bathroom is the only slightly negative thing i have to say about Conchra house but i was told upon booking that the bathroom only had a bath & no shower. There is free wifi here but it doesn't cover the top of the house where i was staying, maybe a signal booster could be invested in to help. Tea & coffee in the room.
Breakfast was substantial, porridge & cooked to follow. Cereals were available along with some fruit, tea coffee & fruit juice.
I'd happily go back again & would recommend to friends that Conchra house is good value for money & a good nights sleep, i'd also suggest that you take 5 minutes & look at google earth to find exactly where Conchra house is before you set off to make life easier but it's really not that tough to find.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chasethestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B during a few-week trip across the UK. During our travels, we saw it all in hotel stays--the excellent, the "it'll do" and the downright horror show. As we were booking our hotels on the fly since we were not following a planned itinerary, hotel were sometimes a catchers-catch-can.

Conchra was one of the better stays--mostly due to the location (small beautiful town, gorgeous views, close to Ise of Skye and Eileen Donan castle, our targeted destinations) and the opportunity to meet some fellow travelers.

PLUSES:
--Good price
--Breakfast was very good--the warm bright breakfast room was a nice place to meet fellow travelers
--Our host, Sue, was very friendly, welcoming, and able to give good advice about the area
--Large comfortable common room, great place to kick back with a book or travel maps
--Quiet country location (if you're not used to dark back country roads, you may find the trip there not as pleasant as we did!)
--Room was clean, though basic and fairly small
--The view from our room was stunning

DOWNSIDES
--Bathroom was a bit dated and worn. Could use a little refurbishing
--Room was a bit tight if you're traveling with a couple of large suitcases.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A wonderfully quiet spot to spend a few days, Conchra House overlooks Loch Long - don't miss the drive along to the end which promises some fantastic walking. Convenient for Skye, Plockton, Eileen Donan Castle etc Conchra is spacious but cosy, with a huge sitting room for guests and bedrooms with fabulous views. Breakfast is fine and great bar food can be found at nearby Dornie. If you're looking for 5 star, posh Hotel-type accommodation, this probably isn't for you but for value for money and a great B&B with friendly, helpful hosts, this is spot on!

Room Tip: Ask for a front loch-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
4.3 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
245 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
394 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.6 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conchra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conchra House

Address: Sallachy Road, Ardelve IV40 8DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range: £29 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hunting lodge. Views towards Eilean Donan Castle over Loch Long. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conchra House Ardelve, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing