We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice find in the Highlands!”
Review of Kintail Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kintail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a nice find in the Highlands!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed on Skye several times but decide to try something new. Kintail Lodge was such a nice surprise! From the booking to the 2 nights we were there to the check-out process, everything was really easy and friendly. I was travelling with 2 other women, so we booked 2 rooms with an adjoining bathroom. The rooms were perfect...tastefully done with everything you might need. The views were amazing, and the location was ideal for touring Skye. We had dinner in the bar both nights, and the food was great. The bar can be busy (in a good way), and the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. There is a lovely sitting room with games and DVDs, as well.

All in all, a great place. If it's good enough for Brad Pitt (he stayed while filming in Scotland a few years ago), it's good enough for us! Highly recommended for an authentic Highlands experience!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the water...ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    105
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
135
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of North Uist
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Usually whizz past this hotel on our way to and from Skye, but we stayed for one night last week; a warm welcome on arrival. Very relaxing place. Sun was shining when we arrived and the next morning when we left. Room very comfy and clean..Bar meal very tasty with good service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersons010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in this excellent hotel about 100 times now and have NEVER been disappointed with service, welcome, quality rooms or standard of food. Michelle, Marie-Anne and all the girls make you very welcome and provide the highest standard service. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again next week.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne W, Owner at Kintail Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you , what a lovely thing to say, Michele and I are so grateful to you and everyone else for all their lovely remarks. Occasionally we get it wrong but hopefully not too often. Hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent meal here along with a couple of pints of real ale
Ordered the steak pie, when I saw the size of haddock I thought I'd made the wrong choice, but both were absolutely excellent
Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent a week in the highlands and we're recommended to eat at the kintail lodge by the owners of our holiday cottage.
We were very happy with the food,served quickly and beautifully presented. Michelle took great care of us and although we weren't staying at the hotel were treated like we were.
Would strongly recommend the venison.
Very reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabscot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have stayed before & eaten too but sdaly did not this time due to only passing. The main bar is still as I recall & the service, atmosphere and range of beers is great as previously. The location on the shore of Loch Duich is magnificent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst on a trip with work. Felt quite guilty as Michele had opened the hotel just for me as I had to change my booking at the last minute to mid-week.

Service was great, my room was a good size with en-suite and I could see the loch from my window. Plenty parking and just 10 minutes down the road from Kyle of Lochalsh and Isle of Skye bridge and about 25 minutes from Plockton. Also free broadband wifi in the whole hotel with a very strong signal throughout.

I ate in the hotel for dinner and breakfast and all meals were excellent. I especially thought my starter of stornaway blackpudding with goats cheese and red onion chutney was amazing.

If I ever make my way north again, would definitely stop in at the Kintail Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiel Bridge
15.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
21.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintail Lodge

Property: Kintail Lodge
Address: Shiel Bridge, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kintail Hotel Shiel Bridge
Kintail Lodge Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing