We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for before or after Alpine route”
Review of Kurobe Kanko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kurobe Kanko Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Omachi
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good for before or after Alpine route”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here the night before doing the Alpine route. Caught the bus from Shinano-omachi station. Took about 10 minutes to reach. Bus stop and a cuple of shops right next to the hotel but not much else. Staff didnt speak much English but tried to help as best they could. Room was clean, food was large buffet with plenty of choice for dinner and breakfast. Next morning we caught the bus to the start of the Alpine route. Used the forwarding service at the hotel to transfer our bags to the end of the Alpine route with no problems at all. Great for pre- or post- alpine route stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    82
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
81
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is less than 5 min walk from the Omachi Onsenkyo bus-stop, easy to navigate and set upon natural forest and mountain scenery. I was suitably impressed that they had placed my luggage nearly in my room by the time I got there. Staff were very hospitable and kind. I stayed over a night after going on the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route, and used both baths in the hotel/ryokan. Great experience and not too crowded. Do consider taking the direct bus to Nagano if you're going in the direction of Tokyo after that. Most visitors board the bus that stops at Shinano-Omachi, but I took the Nagano one on a whim and was treated to a very peaceful (I was the only one in the 815am bus) and breathtaking, scenic ride.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank TheCallaLily82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel at sunset after completing the fabulous Alpine Route. Unlike other major "onsen" towns in Japan, Omachi is a small and quiet one, making it a perfect place to relax and rest. The exterior of the hotel is Western-styled, but the guest rooms are in traditional Japanese style, an interesting contrast indeed. We really enjoyed the view from the window of our room. The green and the creek just made the stay even more enjoyable. Don't miss the hot spring, which is the best way to recover from your trip in the day.

The only thing I would complain about this place is the lighting in the restaurant for Kaiseki Ryori. The multi-course Japanese dinner was enjoyed in a restaurant with individual rooms for each group of guests. For such fine dining, it's just not right to use fluorescent lighting in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSY0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We used this as a stop over ,after completing the alpine route
Great traditional hotel,wonderful onsen room was clean and roomy, breakfast and dinner was included great experience and great value for money.
Would have liked to stay longer and explore the area if we ad known it was so nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australiadelegation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I happily discovered a vast room (uncommon in Japan) with refined Japanese furniture, decoration and amenities. We then thought we would rather have bedding ready, which was not the case.
We went for diner, since accommodation goes with breakfast and diner. The diner buffet was a wonderful surprise: exquisite local food. We tried plenty of new food. The beef was a major surprise: tender, cooked perfectly (rare) and tasteful. Better than in the US and Australia. We were surrounded by customers wearing the hotel's bathrobe and that added up to create a warm and cosy atmosphere.
Back from diner, the Japanese bedding was all set in our room: one more pleasant surprise!
Despite the fact that English was barely spoken, I felt a great sense of comfort and easiness.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omachi
Omachi Onsen
Kuroyon Royal Hotel
Kuroyon Royal Hotel
#1 of 24 in Omachi
117 reviews
Hotel Tateyama
#1 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
169 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Hotel Keisui
Hotel Keisui
#3 of 24 in Omachi
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omachi Onsen
Ryokan Kanouya
Ryokan Kanouya
#18 of 24 in Omachi
18 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Kurobe View Hotel
Kurobe View Hotel
#7 of 31 in Omachi
59 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Hotel Karamatsuso
Hotel Karamatsuso
#11 of 31 in Omachi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurobe Kanko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurobe Kanko Hotel

Property: Kurobe Kanko Hotel
Address: 2822 Taira, Omachi 398-0001, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Omachi > Omachi Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Omachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kurobe Kanko Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kurobe Kanko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing